We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!”
Review of Seamill Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seamill Hydro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed here with some friends for a Christmas party night in January! The hotel itself is lovely and our room could not be faulted - it was spacious, warm and well decorated! The meal we had was a standard hotel set menu meal, with not much of a choice - however we weren't there for the food! Great location, staff were professional however could have smiled more, and the hotel was very clean! The breakfast was lovely too - although staff could have been more friendly! The pool and spa facilities were great - however the changing rooms were not in proportion to the size of the pool or hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jade m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,536)
There are newer reviews for Seamill Hydro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

901 - 907 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for a week with our 2 small boys inbetween visiting relatives and to have my wifes birthday. This was our break inbetween and it was brilliant. the boys loved walking, running and playing on the beach. The views were spectacular over to Arran, which we took a day trip to while we were there, along with another to Cumbrae. the staff were great, room was really good, breakfast and dinner were excellent. Even with 2 weddings/receptions being on while we were there, we weren't bothered with any noise or felt it distracted the staff away from regular guests. Will definately be staying there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuckinmuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed in one of the suites with a sea view and I must say it was one of the best nights sleep I have ever had! We first enjoyed a walk along the sand and following that retired to our beautifully decorated, clean and very practical room. Every detail was thought of and we were so surprised to find a rain room like shower that was big enough for 5 people. It was a massive comfy bed, a sofa, countless pillows and all beautifully matching. We had the best night and wish to thank all at Seamill for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - it's just spectacular!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSMacLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night as part of a Facebook deal , bed and breakfast with free bottle of champagne. We had upgraded to a sea view room and could not have been happier with the room. The use of the leisure facilities was great and a welcome treat. We used the residents bar at night,and our server was very friendly and chatty to us. Our only negative would be the service at breakfast the following morning, as there was lack of attention towards possible trip hazards on the floor. Overall a great stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flanagan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel has a truly amazing setting, right on the beach, with spectacular views of the sea, and of Arran on a clear day.

There are two excellent bars, with a terrific selection of whiskeys. One of the bars has some armchairs and sofas facing the sea....and it's really great sipping whiskey and watching the sun set over the sea.

I enjoyed the pool, sauna, and steam room.

Sadly, the bedroom was really awful. Really dirty, with peeling wall paper and mold all over the walls, including in the bathroom. Deeply stained and dirty carpets. Room 47. Really disappointing and the hotel really, really should not be putting guests in it. In this day and age, there's not really an excuse for mold, dirt, and dishevelment. When I phoned the front desk, they said I could move to a renovated room but would have to pay an extra 50 pounds per night for the privilege of being mold-free.

All a shame really, as the hotel itself is lovely.

I've attached 6 pics of the dirt, mold, and stains.

Room Tip: You absolutely have to ask for a renovated room. Do NOT stay in one of the non-renovated rooms, the...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Me and my husband took advantage of a Face Book deal, £68 B&B plus use of the leisure facilities and a bottle of Cava in our room.

We stayed on Monday 27th Jan.

We arrived a bit early for our book in, so we went into the Orangery for a drink, reasonable price considering the Hotel, A pint of lager and a Vodka n Lemonade was £6.75.

We got into our room and to say it was gorgeous was an understatement, it was first class in every way, decor, size everything was perfect.

We took advantage of the lovely pool and Sauna which was very well run and staff very nice indeed.
In the changing rooms you could take a shower, blow dry your hair and also straighten , all hotels own products.

We came out there and decided to have some soup for lunch, Potato & Leek, this was very tastys and very resonably priced too.

We had our dinner in the Auro restaurant, we prefered the menu in here, only because we like more traditional food. We both had chicken fillet kiev and chips which I thought was a bit over priced ( £12) but this was very nice, we also had Cookie n Ice cream and sticky toffee pudding again very nice.

We had our breakfast in the morning wich was a continental buffet style with everything possible and then the waitress took our order for a full breakfast, again food very nice.

Overall we had a very nice stay at this wonderful hotel and would love to come back in the summer months to take advantage of the fabulous location, right on the sea front.

All staff were extremley helpfull and we would reccommend this hotel to everyone.

Wendy

Room Tip: We never had a sea view but I would imagine this would be a lovely bonus.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendylennon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Super service
Good priced meal
Good portions
Good menu and surroundings, wrap up warm for outside
It's in a Beautiful location and a large hotel/restaurant
It is Well presented
It has Friendly staff and
Will go again soon. Definitely worth a visit and would dress nicely to go there

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
0.8 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
281 reviews
13.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,194 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
9.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
8.3 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seamill Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamill Hydro

Address: 39 Ardrossan Road, West Kilbride KA23 9ND, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Price Range: £84 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seamill Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seamill Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seamill Hydro West Kilbride, Ayrshire, UK
Hydro Seamill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing