We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff”
Review of Seamill Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seamill Hydro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We got a great deal through Facebook. £68 for bed and breakfast and a bottle of procesco in the room.
We stayed in Room 27, no view to speak of but the room was lovely, recently refurbished, very clean and one of the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept in. The only problem was it was adjecent to the cleaners cupboard so a bit noisy in the morning.
All the staff were fantastic from the reception, bar staff, cleaners and even the workmen carrying out the refurbishment gave us a cheery hello.
We had drinks and dinner in the Aura bar and it was very swish with a good choice of main meals or bar snacks. Breakfast was served here in the morning and there was a good choice of made to order cooked items or buffet continential. Loved the breakfast apart from the dreaded toast maked. Why do so many hotels insist on this awful contraption? The toast is always to pale or burnt and people barging in...
We also used the spa facilities which again was very clean and looked recently refurbished. On check out we took a brisk walk along the private beach and marvelled at the views, of snow capped hills over in Arran.
Overall a very enjoyable overnight stay.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thechezzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    386
    180
    85
    66
See reviews for
409
546
19
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We visited Seamill Hydro yesterday for lunch. We ate in the Orangery restaurant, everything from the quality of the food to the friendliness of the staff was outstanding. The choice on the menu was excellent offering a wide variety of dishes to suit any taste and the restaurant itself had a very relaxed atmosphere adding to the enjoyment of our experience further. Definitely one of the very best places I have been out to eat in Ayrshire and when the bill arrived I found it exceptionally good value for money too... I will definitely return!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Just back from a stay here, me, that is granny, and 3 granddaughters, 4-9 years. Our room was big, with a king size and a double sofa bed. The bathroom was good, with a wonderful shower, huge head. The room was more than hot enough, and if I had one complaint, it would be that it was too hot at night. Sadly we had no view.
Breakfast was good, and the only other meal we had was lunch in the Orangery. It was ok, enough choice for the kids, who like many children, can be fussy.
The pool area is good, although not shallow enough for small unsure swimmers. Other family hotels have baby pools which ours prefer. One complaint is the high levels of chlorine which lead to my kids having to leave the pool as they were coughing in the fumes. That was the first day, and it lessened over the stay.
The outside space looks as if it needs a bit of a revamp but as it is February, I assume that will happen before the summer.
A good family hotel, quire expensive at £124 per night, and not that good value, but handy for central Scotland and Arran easily achievable as a day trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just back from Seamill Hydro today, stayed in the Cumbria suite with my husband and two kids 10 & 8 yrs old. Room was lovely and a really good size.
Dinner in the Orangery restaurant was absolutely delicious . Will be back soon .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed here with some friends for a Christmas party night in January! The hotel itself is lovely and our room could not be faulted - it was spacious, warm and well decorated! The meal we had was a standard hotel set menu meal, with not much of a choice - however we weren't there for the food! Great location, staff were professional however could have smiled more, and the hotel was very clean! The breakfast was lovely too - although staff could have been more friendly! The pool and spa facilities were great - however the changing rooms were not in proportion to the size of the pool or hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jade m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for a week with our 2 small boys inbetween visiting relatives and to have my wifes birthday. This was our break inbetween and it was brilliant. the boys loved walking, running and playing on the beach. The views were spectacular over to Arran, which we took a day trip to while we were there, along with another to Cumbrae. the staff were great, room was really good, breakfast and dinner were excellent. Even with 2 weddings/receptions being on while we were there, we weren't bothered with any noise or felt it distracted the staff away from regular guests. Will definately be staying there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuckinmuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed in one of the suites with a sea view and I must say it was one of the best nights sleep I have ever had! We first enjoyed a walk along the sand and following that retired to our beautifully decorated, clean and very practical room. Every detail was thought of and we were so surprised to find a rain room like shower that was big enough for 5 people. It was a massive comfy bed, a sofa, countless pillows and all beautifully matching. We had the best night and wish to thank all at Seamill for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - it's just spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSMacLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
13.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,058 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
262 reviews
13.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
9.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
8.3 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seamill Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamill Hydro

Property: Seamill Hydro
Address: 39 Ardrossan Road, West Kilbride KA23 9ND, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seamill Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seamill Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seamill Hydro West Kilbride, Ayrshire, UK
Hydro Seamill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing