We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food ... but rooms in need of a wee facelift!”
Review of Seamill Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seamill Hydro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Greenock, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great food ... but rooms in need of a wee facelift!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I had a two day break here last week. Check in was friendly and efficient; room was clean, well furnished but not exciting; spa was well maintained and obviously popular; views out towards Arran were (as always) magnificent; highlight was the Orangery Restaurant - welcoming, good range on menu at reasonable prices! Service was adequate on the first night and excellent on the second. Both mornings I really enjoyed the cooked breakfast, beautifully cooked and very professionally served. My room was on the second floor of the hotel proper. There is evidence (visible and audible!) that rooms are being upgraded. This is to be applauded, as the rooms (at least on that floor) seem a bit tired and dated. All in all, a very positive experience and a restful break.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonsDenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    385
    179
    85
    66
See reviews for
408
545
19
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Having been familiar with the hydro throughout my childhood I was excited to go back for a very special occasion.

we had booked a Seaview suite room 122. First impressions were ok, fabulous view over to arran, unfortunate to have the kids playpark with squeeky swings directly below us.

The room itself is spacious with double bed, sofabed and good sized bathroom with separate shower and bath. I however don't class it as a suite.

Breakfast was great, sunday lunch in the orangery fab, but over the course of our stay we were aware of exceptionally slow service (which was dealt with at the time) and upon leaving the resort we heard another customer complaining of the wait....

The views over the firth of Clyde are truly spectacular...and we were lucky enough to be blessed with fabulous weather. Leasure facilities are fantastic, loved the sauna and pool.

We also met with the wedding coordinator Rachael, who was recently slaughtered in a review.....we found Rachael to be very likable and full of the information we required, yes the wedding rooms were in use, but this is a busy functioning hotel.

Would we stay agin? Yes. The frustrations with the resort I am sure will be smoothed out.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a general review and not based on any 1 visit to Seamill Hydro. Myself and my partner had our civil partnership ceremony and reception here in 2012. We had a wonderful experience planning our big day with the staff at Seamill, to say nothing is a bother is an understatement, every idea and wish we had about our big day was facilitated and realised by the wonderful staff here. All of our guests were treated like friends of the hotel and every person commented that the service was outstanding throughout the hotel. This hotel is high end and the prices reflect that, we appreciated that our guests who had spent money to stay and dine here were happy and relaxed. This was a big family wedding and a huge celebration and we truly believe that the staff here joined us whole heartedly in this. We have returned here many times since the wedding, as have members of our family, we are greeted like old friends and the staff remember us (which is quite amazing given the amount of guests and weddings this venue holds), this has become a very special place to us all. The Seamill Hydro and the staff are a part of what is our most wonderful memories and we hope to have many happy family get together and celebrations here in the years to come. Thank you all, see you soon! Clair and Nadia

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We walked from Portencross along the beach (nice walk on a good day) and were a bit peckish when we got to the Hydro, so we walked through the gardens and into the bar which was just opening for lunch. It was quiet so we checked out the bar menu - a great selection of various foods that would cater for almost every need - hopefully. The prices seemd reasonable to so we thought 'hmmm, the portions will probably be dainty' - to our surprise our food came and the portions were very good, and it all tasted good too. Having walked a fair bit and not really wanting to walk back to Portencross we 'rested' and watched what others had ordered (as you do on these ocassions - very sneakily). The various foods arrived and were eaten by patrons, and none apeared to have any complaints, not much left on any of the plates. We then decided to 'investigate' the rest of the complex, checking out the health centre etc, the main dining restaraunt and having a wee nosey in a couple of the rooms. Everything was in good decorative order, spottless and in its place. All the staff we questions and were served by were very polite, courteous, knowledgeable, and able to assit us during our brief inpromptu visit. The grounds are also very well maintained with many outdoor activities available too, and the view looking west across the sea to Arran is stunning. In truth we did not have the 'full experience' so could not give 5 stars, however when we return we will endeavour to utilise many more of the facilities and provide a more in depth review. We WILL be coming back again... :)

Room Tip: Without doubt try and get a westward facing room above ground floor so that the fantastic evening (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splishsplasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have just delivered a training event at the Seamill Hydro. What a stunning Hotel and WOW conference venue. The Ailsa Room is a 'State of the Art' venue which was absolutely ideal for our event. The service to the conference room was first class, unobtrusive but attentive. I was very impressed and will use this venue again for other events.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed on business ( have stayed many times before) and dined with colleagues in The Orangery - setting is stunning with great sea views to Arran - simply stunning on a summer's evening. Menu good and food very tasty and beautifully presented. Staff are attentive and friendly. ( one plea to management - please can u put some real ale on draught?). Stayed in room 38 - lovely room ( warm and comfortable with seat in window looking out to sea). All in all a really good stay

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CliveI_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

what a bad experience. i have stayed all over the country and for the 80 plus quid for a night they put me in a room that looked like grandmas house, low ceilings 70s decor.. a real tip .. avoid room 44 at all costs.. infact avoid this hotel.. well overpriced.. to put it mildly im staying in the travelodge in kilmarnock for the rest of the week.. at least you get a double comfy bed and a decent sized room for less than half the price.. and if that wasnt available id rather buy a tent from asda...

Room Tip: rooms not in this hotel are much much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
17 Thank dempsey382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
0.8 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
262 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,055 reviews
13.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
8.3 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
166 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seamill Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamill Hydro

Property: Seamill Hydro
Address: 39 Ardrossan Road, West Kilbride KA23 9ND, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Seamill Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seamill Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seamill Hydro West Kilbride, Ayrshire, UK
Hydro Seamill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing