We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the farm!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Whittlieburn Farm

South Whittlieburn Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Largs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Whittlieburn Farm
Ranked #14 of 24 Largs B&B and Inns
Strathfield, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Loved the farm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family and we loved the farm. Firstly, the location in excellent especially if you have a car. The farm is far enough away from town to be rural but close enough that you can nick into town in five minutes.
We stayed 3 nights and I stayed in three different rooms, this was due to banker's weekend and our hosts being by accommodating. They were able to give us accommodation when no one else had room.
Breakfast is an event that you really need a big appetite for, don't think you can go small here!
Mary and Tom are amazing and knowledgeable hosts - please visit them as they have the biggest hearts in Scotalnd.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed in the camp site area of farm and was only meant to be for 1 maybe 2 nights and then move on but our daughter fell in love with the site so we stayed the week. Lovely site and views and the people were wonderful. Horses and sheep on farm was a big bonus for us as it kept our daughter occupied. Close to Largs (5 mins to beach) and close to all other activities. Toilet and shower block very clean. We will certainly be back. Hopefully get that chance sooner and not later.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shelldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

A gem if ever I saw one. Have been 3 times. Lovely rural setting. Wonderful hostess and host. Breakfast a wonder in itself. Mrs Watson so helpful and obliging. She even offered to drive my partner and I to Largs to have a drink and meal and pick us up. If you get a chance detour and stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OBBO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellbird, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We loved our visit to the farm, it was so peaceful & tranquil yet only minutes from Largs.Our room was clean & very comfortable and breakfast was of the highest standard. Even the fussiest of eaters would have found plenty of fresh & well cooked food to choose from. We were also grateful for the friendly, helpful advice we received about the area. Would not hesitate to go back there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Our second visit to South Whittlieburn Farm and recommended it to our friends who also thoroughly enjoyed their stay. We were only overnight but our friends were there for a week and felt like family. Rooms comfortable with all the little extras you require. Is right out in the country and if you want a great drive head up past the farm to the moors and head to Skelmorlie - narrow, quiet road but it is definitely worth it. Great breakfast and host is very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Largs hotels
0.7 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
1.3 mi away
St Leonards Guest house
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tigh-na-Ligh Guesthouse
1.4 mi away
Dawn Break Guest House
1.3 mi away
Lynegar Guest House
Lynegar Guest House
#5 of 24 in Largs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Whittlieburn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Whittlieburn Farm

Property: South Whittlieburn Farm
Address: South Whittleburn Farm Brisbane Glen Road, Largs KA30 8SN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Largs
Hotel Class:4 star — South Whittlieburn Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
South Whittlieburn Farm Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing