We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced - found better value elsewhere”
Review of Haylie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haylie Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Largs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Overpriced - found better value elsewhere”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a last minute place to stay and stumbled upon the Haylie. It is a lovely looking place but sadly lacks atmosphere. The place was in darkness when we called in the afternoon and in our opinion the rooms were overpriced at £80 for a basic double room. Decor etc was nice but the place just felt a bit unloved so we moved on.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dandylion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    29
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
41
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed for one night in the four poster room. The room was nicely decorated, very spacious with a large bay window with panoramic views of the sea. The owner was very friendly and helpful, giving us useful tips on the best way into town and where to dine (The Lounge - lovely food and great service). Best veggie breakfast ever in the morning with not only veggie sausage but veggie haggis too! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room number 3 has a bay window with fantastic sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLARA239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed here for 4 weeks on business. Had a down stairs double room which was very clean and comfy.
Breakfast was great good selection and well cooked, some mornings I was in a rush and the hotel would provide a bacon and egg sandwich to take way.
Evening meal was fantastic, I recommend the steak, never had a bad meal.
Staff was very friendly and very helpful.
I was happy with the price, good value for money, will stay there again and will be telling my work colleagues about this little gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benalla
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for three nights with good reason. The room was spacious, great views over the Fairlie Roads and its changing moods. Parking is fine just pick your place, or ask the very helpful staff on what to do. Having evening as well as breakfast options here makes this a good option as a base for the many activities the area offers such as ferry trips out to Greater Cumbria Island. Of course the spacious guest lounge overlooking the bay makes this an attractive choice if you want to chill out. We found the meals appetising and very good value with the menu selection much better than some places we had visited in past travels. The staff and general level of service was to our satisfaction also. We would recommend a stay here and we will do so again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I visit the haylie maybe 3/4 times a year ... I have never been disappointed!! The steaks are to die for!! I have not yet managed to find a match for a haylie steak! The dining area is very pleasant and the staff are always lovely. Would recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluejeans22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here for two days, visiting customers, having stayed a few years previously. We had a room with a view over the Clyde which was lovely. We had dinner on the first night with our customers and we were all delighted with our meals. The staff are friendly and the breakfasts are substantial. Wi-Fi connection was good. The only issue is parking, in front of the hotel there are limited spaces, but the staff will direct you to further parking around the back. Be careful not to park on the car park of the B&B next door, they really don't like to share.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javea, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here because the town was full and it was the only place with rooms for the nights we needed. My companion, more used to your standard 5 star hotels, wasn't impressed by the overfull lounge and general air of not having been decorated since 1957, never mind the view. Ah yes, the view... wonderful, but incomplete as some utter twerp has built a large house spank in front of the hotel's main selling point. So, you can admire the distant hills looking up the Clyde OR you can admire the splendid vista looking south to Hunterston power station (is it still a power station?) ANyway, the rooms were clean and comfy, thank goodness. The hotel we'd been in previously hadn't had drawers in the rooms (!) but my room at the Haylie did... with someone else's pajamas in them. My companion's room had a sofa but as he didn't have drawers, he had to use the sofa to put his suitcase on in order to keep his pants or socks or whatever he would have put in drawers.
So the food was frankly ish, nothing special, but we discovered on the last night that the steaks were really good. On arrival we asked for a scotch and the very nice girl didn;t know what was available and we ended up going with her to the cupboard to find something to drink. When she was on duty in the dining room we at least felt she was taking an interest and wanted us to enjoy our stay, unlike our last night when a very disinterested girl drifted around the tables, waiting for her shift to end. Having said that, the rest of the staff were friendly, chatty and helpful.
What made me laugh out loud were all the signs at the door indicating a long standing feud over parking with the b&b next door. Police will be called if you park in the wrong place. Ludicrous.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanePM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largs
1.5 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
6.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,058 reviews
1.3 mi away
Woodhouse Hotel
Woodhouse Hotel
#10 of 24 in Largs
87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tigh-na-Ligh Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haylie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haylie Hotel

Property: Haylie Hotel
Address: Irvine Road, Largs, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Largs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel...same owners since 1989.Great seaviews and home made food.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Haylie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haylie Hotel Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing