We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brisbane house review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brisbane House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Largs
scotland
2 reviews
“brisbane house review”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed their for two nights.
Manager and staff could not be better.
Our welcome was excellent
Service in the hotel great.
Room was very good.
Food excellent told staff to tell Chef our dinners both nights very very good..
Would go back.
Restaurant.reception.bar looks all brand new.

Room Tip: Sea view ask for upgrade if you can small charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drew1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    139
    100
    60
    32
See reviews for
102
216
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I've stayed at the Brisbane a few times, have a good time there but it needs a bit of a makeover. i hope they can put the place back on the map. Views are great, staff are helpful but it was a bit dusty for me and needed a good clean stayed 2 nights. Tried to tell the staff but they didn't want to know really. Please can you get a grip thankyou.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Largs hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel midweek in October to attend a wedding. I stayed 2 nights but only paid for one (the first night was paid for me; a few of us staying in the Glen Room, unsure how much this was. The second night cost me ₤60, room 108).

I found it lovely. Nice view of the sea, reception staff very helpful and friendly, they didn't mind when I asked if I could print off a speech I'd written! And I know that this is at their discretion so thank you. The rooms were nicely furnished, decorated, clean. The housekeeping did a good job especially since they have organise their cleaning around a tidal rhythm of daily wedding parties arriving and leaving.

The wedding (130 people) went along without a hitch, people were organised well and the food was nice.

The manager is a character, I found him very amusing. Some of the reviews on here I feel are a bit unfair about him! My impression was that he enjoyed working there and took pride both in his hotel and in providing good guest service.

NB they also provide a small bus service which I believe will drop off/pick up within small distances - something that was very useful at midnight for some girls attending the wedding who had had to book in a BnB up the road (I'm not sure if this needs to be arranged in advance or not, sorry).

With regards to the 2nd bar, we checked in the night before the wedding we were attending and used this other bar to have some quiet drinks and a catch up. Quite right that it shouldn't be an overspill for the rather more inebriated wedding guests who have their own bar!

I'm giving this hotel the full 5 stars because I had a fantastic time, and it was value for money for me because I didn't have to pay for the first night. I will note that there were a couple of plumbing issues (shower drained very slowly in the Glen Room leading to some floor flooding - fixed with some plunging by reception, and the bridal suite toilet had blocked, which again I believe was fixed promptly however these didn't really affect me directly, or spoil my stay).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottaw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The hotel was our choice to have our 2 day conference, we could have got cheaper but no way could we have got better. We took over 16 rooms - each one tastefully decorated & absolutely spotless. Rooms were spacious with decent sized bathrooms too. We had breakfast,lunch & dinner each day & the food was really nice, good size portions. Nothing was any trouble for any of the staff especially the manager Martin who was really approachable & worked hard to make sure we had everything we needed. A definite hit with all of our delegates.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I booked this hotel as a surprise to take my girlfriend away for the weekend, after I booked it I checked trip advisor (which I dont normally do) and I was pretty shocked at some of the horrific unfair reviews!

On our arrival, the receptionist couldn't have been of any more help to us. The room we were provided was clean, modern and very spacious and the view from the window just topped it off.

The staff throughout the hotel were all extremely friendly and very helpful despite the hotel being very busy nothing was a bother to them. Henry's restaurant (within the hotel) do a wonderful 3 course meal for £10.99 each!!! You really cannot moan at that!

All in all, I am so glad I chose to go to Largs and stay in the Brisbane and would urge anyone to try it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel is ideally situated on the sea front at Largs with local amenities close by and a good sized hotel car park.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms good size and well equipped. I had a front facing room with great view. Nice modern bathroom.
Food was nicely presented and good service.
Did not affect me but there is no lift so would be difficult for disabled customers.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Recently celebrated my son's wedding in this hotel(22/09/2013). We all thoroughly enjoyed the day the hotel was splendid excellent decor and furnishings throughout it in an excellent location with a nice front terrace overlooking the sea front with the islands in the horizon we got some great photos of the bride and groom just as the sun was setting which was a great back drop. The hotel provided an excellent wedding package with cheery attentive staff excellent meal and service. The hotel also has a large comfortable bridal suite and tastefully furnished guest rooms for guests requiring overnight stays. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a wedding venue.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elaine165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largs
7.8 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#2 of 3 in Largs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Woodhouse Hotel
Woodhouse Hotel
#10 of 24 in Largs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queen's Hotel
The Queen's Hotel
#15 of 24 in Largs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane House Hotel

Property: Brisbane House Hotel
Address: Esplanade Cafe Greenock Road, Largs KA30 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Largs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisbane House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened 2009 - Ayrshire Luxury by the Sea. New for 2017 - Fully refurbished luxury rooms. Coming soon - Bigger restaurant, bar and guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Brisbane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Hotel Largs
Brisbane House Hotel Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing