We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brisbane House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Largs
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Recently attended a wedding and our room cost £175 as ee needed a Early check in, the hotel looks lovely from the outside but our room was awful, fir the money we paid I expected a lovely room with a high standard of cleanliness unfortunately that was not the case, we stayed in the Glen room which at first we thought was a cubard!!it was very basic with nothing giving us the wow factor for the room, there was names engraved into the bed frame when going for a shower I noticed something black coming off the seal of the tiles which was mould, this is a overpriced hotel and I wished I brought my issues up to the attention of management and got some of my money back, ill certainly not be returning!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managmentLargs, Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Sorry that you felt that your stay with us was "A waste of Money". We are a 24 bedroomed hotel and with a full checkout and full check-in we are unable to get all rooms ready before 2pm. We can however guarantee an early arrival for a maximum of 6 rooms for 12.30pm for which we charge a small fee (£20) in line with many other hotels.

If I may be permitted to breakdown your £175, less the early arrival fee your room for 6 guests (£155) equates to £25.84 including 6 full Scottish Breakfasts and associated laundry costs. No a bad deal by any standards.

The Glen Room has a four poster bed in one room with another separate sitting area, a large newly refurbished bathroom and 2 large 50" flat screen TV's.
Having examined the bed I found great difficult tracing names scored into the bed or mould in the refurbished bathroom area.
I am saddened that you stated you would have liked to bring this to management's attention but did not do so. I was available throughout the weekend and would liked the opportunity to respond.

Once again £175 for 6 people for a room on the seafront in Largs is indeed value for money

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here on a special deal which was ok.
Room(106) quite small, with very noisy floorboards outside and above the room. Room clean enough, bathroom could do with a bit of an overhaul, mixture of old and new fittings. Did not like that the window had frosted glass for more than half of it, if you wanted to see out you would have to stand on chair.
Food ok, nothing spectacular, dining area quite cold décor, as was the room.
Staff were very pleasant and very helpful, nothing a bother.
Plenty of car parking.
With a polishing of the edges could be excellent as that's all it would need.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doogly5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managmentLargs, Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, it is good to receive feedback from our guests.
We have an on going refurbishment programme and have only 2 bathrooms to finish but being such a busy hotel we must prioritise our programme for quieter periods. Our final bathrooms are scheduled for early January.
We put frosted glass on the bottom pane of our rear facing rooms so that our guests can enjoy views of the hills behind rather that the houses behind the hotel.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I had no choice but to stay here alas due to circumstances. Having read some previous reviews I was already a bit hesitant when I turned up. I had booked a "deluxe limited seaview double room" for £90 via laterooms.

When I arrived I was greeted by a cheery lady who booked me in. She then breezily informed me that if I had phoned up direct rather than using a booking site I could have had a much cheaper rate but she now couldn't give me the said cheaper rate. No upgrade possible either! Why bother telling a customer such nonsense, it just put me in a bad mood. I had not pre-paid the room by the way.

And so up to the room. Nothing deluxe about it, a tired dismal room with half the lightbulbs not working, no surfaces to put washbags in the bathroom, a really noisy central heating system and a bizarre trapdoor in my room padlocked from the inside which rattled in the wind. Not entirely clean either. After going to sleep I was rudely awakened by one of the windows blowing open in the wind, someone must have shut it without locking it. I noticed I was sweating in that telltale way which means there is a rubber sheet on the bed. A quick inspection confirmed this. Classy!

In the morning I also discovered the bathroom had hot water pressure issues so it took longer to rinse off the soap.

Now if the room had been a fair price of around £50 given the location, season and quality of the venue I would have been a lot more forgiving. But £90 is just daylight robbery, and in fact their advertised rack rate was £130!!!!! They are trying to pretend that they are something they are clearly not, and I think that unless they stop and take note of this they are going to get more and more bad reviews. Either reduce your prices and rack rates to something that resembles reasonable value for money or refurbish the rooms and get them to the standard that a rack rate of £130 would normally get you.

The pervading smell the next morning of stale cooking fat dissuaded me from trying the complementary breakfast. The check out staff were very friendly I must admit.

Overall though I did feel ripped off.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sirbalkansobranie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managmentLargs, Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

As a business traveller I am sure you will appreciate that in sought after locations room rates are higher, whilst in less sought after locations rates are lower.
I notice that you booked via a booking agency for a double room. Rates quoted on these sites are for 2 persons, whereas you required single occupancy, which on the particular site is £55 in a single room and then reception would have upgraded you to a double bedded room for the same price.
A simple call to reception would have sorted your lighting issues. Having received an complaint on the weekend regarding water pressure in the shower, I investigated and found a fuse had gone in the shower pump.

The hotel has the ability of 60,000 bed nights yet has received only 168 reviews of which 33 are negative.

It is often better to air grievances face to face rather than a public forum so that the hotel can be given the opportunity to rectify any issues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I recently stayed here with my little girl, we had a twin room which was very spacious and clean with great views onto the beach. Spent most of our time in the hotel as the Scottish weather wasn't great, lounge staff and Manager were very accommodating, had a booth of our own all day with colouring in provided by staff and plenty of free mints!! Enjoyed a really lovely steak for dinner at extremely good price, certainly beat most steakhouses I have been in for quality and cost! Would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanPriestley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managmentLargs, Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback during your recent stay with us it is nice that all our team's hard work is appreciated. Hopefully you wil return again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This review is of the restaurant rather than the hotel, as I haven't stayed overnight there: however, we took an elderly cousin for an outing in Largs and stopped at the restaurant for lunch.

We were seated at a table with a nice sea view and the service was prompt.

The menu had a good choice of dishes and our cousin enjoyed her soup and fillet of haddock. The chips that accompanied my gammon steak were to die for: crispy outside, but lovely and fluffy inside. We rounded off the meal with some scrummy ice-cream.

The restaurant had a modern feel to it and the toilet facilities were also modern and very clean.

I would happily go back again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank SonicScorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managmentLargs, Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback when dining with us. It is refreshing that people who enjoy their visit take the time to post reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

stayed at the brisbane recently for a wedding which was lovely but a few points, rooms very tired, agree with other reviews room not that clean very dusty old dark furniture, wallpaper coming off wall, although our shower was ok I know that other guest had a trickle of water coming from theirs and took along time to shower. it was a hit and a miss with staff, like other reviews we were told to get out of a bar in the hotel, we were wedding guests and they are not allowed!! I do have to give a very special mention to Julie she was an exceptional member of staff totally undervalued, she couldn't of done enough for us, she was in the restaurant and then I saw her upstairs sorting out the bedrooms, she never seem to stop, they would be in big trouble if she wasn't working their, she needs to be appreciated more. I find this hotel is not value for money to be getting the prices they charge for the rooms available is terrible value and the reason they are busy is all down to people booking their wedding and guests needing somewhere to stay for the night otherwise they would be struggling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyn758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managmentLargs, Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Feedback of any kind is appreciated but it is nice if guest approach staff whilst staying in the hotel so any issues can be rectified.
I am sorry that the décor of your room was not to your taste and am pleased that your shower was satisfactory but if I may say we received no comments regarding issues with showers from other guests.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding Julie, she is a very highly valued member of our team.
We are one of the busiest wedding venues in the West of Scotland and all prospective brides ad grooms are given a full show round the hotel including bedrooms before they book and are satisfied with our facilities.
We had very favourable comments from the Bride on her departure for such a fantastic day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed their for two nights.
Manager and staff could not be better.
Our welcome was excellent
Service in the hotel great.
Room was very good.
Food excellent told staff to tell Chef our dinners both nights very very good..
Would go back.
Restaurant.reception.bar looks all brand new.

Room Tip: Sea view ask for upgrade if you can small charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drew1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largs
0.6 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
180 reviews
7.8 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,560 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
20.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,120 reviews
16.4 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane House Hotel

Address: Esplanade Cafe Greenock Road, Largs KA30 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Largs
Price Range: £83 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisbane House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened 2009 - Ayrshire Luxury by the Sea. New for 2017 - Fully refurbished luxury rooms. Coming soon - Bigger restaurant, bar and guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Brisbane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Hotel Largs
Brisbane House Hotel Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing