We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brisbane House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Largs
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed on itison voucher last weekend. Staff very friendly, room large with sea view. Restaurant meal was very good as was breakfast. Highly recommend this hotel. An issue with the heating was sorted out within 5 minutes. Only recommendation would be to have a separate bar area from the restaurant but this is just a personal view.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MBrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managmentLargs, General Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing your Itison Break. I am glad that the food was to your satisfaction and am equally pleased that your heating issue was resolve quickly.
I take on board your comments regarding a seperate lounge area from the lounge.

Regards


Martin Scollay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    135
    99
    59
    32
See reviews for
102
214
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My wife and I have just returned from an "Itison" overnight, Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Stay at the Brisbane House Hotel.

The staff were very personable and helpful, the room was well appointed and very clean, with a wonderful sea view and the meals, dinner and breakfast, were excellent.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking about a break in Largs, or even just to visit on passing for coffee or a meal.

We certainly will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normanmckee946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managmentLargs, General Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for the kind words regarding the staff. I am glad that you enjoyed your ITison Short Break

Regards


Martin Scollay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed on the 2nd January as part of a xmas present from our children, on arrival we were greeted with a very friendly lady at reception which immediately warmed me to the place. We found the rooms comfortable, clean and fresh smelling. We had dinner that evening and it's the nicest meal I,ve had in a while, the staff were very friendly and efficient, breakfast was the same, laid out lovely in a clean eating area, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managmentLargs, General Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, it is pleasing to receive feedback from guests. I am glad that the accommodation, food and service met you expectations and hope to meet you on your return visit

Regards


Martin Scollay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We visited the restaurant as a Christmas gift we were treated like VIP's, but I later noticed everyone was lol.... We had a wonderful meal served but friendly and attentive staff. It was a real pleasure, but a quick look at the menu and prices made me realise that my big sister's gift was not that expensive... it is an affordable treat so I booked a meal and a room for next month .....I don't review often on here unless what others say is tainted. Try for yourself my family and I had a fantastic time and will be back ..... I might even bring my big sis.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managmentLargs, General Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you Rosemary E for the review, I am pleased that my staff treated you so well and only hope that because of our fantastic value prices you did not give your sister into too much trouble!!!

Martin Scollay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

If Carlsberg did Xmas parties...!!! It's would surely be at the Brisbane! Fantastic night had by all. The hotel looked amazing with all it's decorations. Our tables were stunning, set in the glass fronted function suite. The food was amazing and the dancing, party games and atmosphere fabulous. Thanks to all the staff for a fantastic party xxx

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Liz_howat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managmentLargs, General Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding your party night. I am glad that your night went so well and sincerely hope that you have booked for 2014, Early Bird offers are available

Regards


Martin Scollay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I've come to learn not to pay too much attention to tripadvisor horror stories but even still I was apprehensive because of the sheer volume of them.

That being said when we arrived the hotel made an excellent first impression. The staff where very welcoming, the reception was very tastefully decorated and the room was clean with plenty of storage space for anyone staying for several nights. The bathroom was modern and had a very spacious shower. My partner and I had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and had no complaints with any of the food we were served.

My only complaint which stopped my review for this hotel being more positive was just how stuffy the room was. Even with the radiator off the general temperature of the hotel was quite uncomfortable. To make matters worse when faced with no option but to open the windows there was a humming sound from what looked like power generators just outside the window.

Overall I would say this hotel is better than recent posts suggest but something should definitely be done about the temperature as I noticed I am not the first to complain about the heat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managmentLargs, General Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and your kind words regarding our staff. We have responded to reviews suggesting that some rooms are too hot by replacing many thermostatic valves, which permit guests to regulated the temperature of individual rooms. We have also lowered the temperature of the boilers which will be helpful to the environment.

Thank you once again

Martin Scollay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Bedroom was really dissapointing and as it was a very warm night it was so stuffy, Breakfast was a joke and dirty tables needing cleared...Staff werent very friendly either. It was midweek so it wasnt as if it was very busy. Will not stay here again.Floors creaked as well!!

Room Tip: Ask for room on first floor if you have to stay here. Bed and Breakfasts in area are far better then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managmentLargs, Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations on this visit but many of your points could have been addressed during your stay.
All our room radiators have thermostats controlled by gests and a simple call to reception would have advise you of this.
We are disappointed regarding our Scottish Breakfast which are cooked to order. On investigation I find that a staff member had called in sick that morning, one person can usually cope but when the majority of guests come for breakfast between 9 and 9.15am ( service 7am until 9.30am) we are going to experience delays and uncleared tables. I myself arrived at 9am and assisted the waitress in service and received no adverse comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Largs hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largs
7.8 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
155 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
7.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
884 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodhouse Hotel
Woodhouse Hotel
#10 of 24 in Largs
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane House Hotel

Property: Brisbane House Hotel
Address: Esplanade Cafe Greenock Road, Largs KA30 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Largs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisbane House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened 2009 - Ayrshire Luxury by the Sea. New for 2017 - Fully refurbished luxury rooms. Coming soon - Bigger restaurant, bar and guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Hotel Largs
Brisbane House Hotel Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing