We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brisbane House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Largs
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Following staying here for a wedding with my girlfriend, I would not recommoned staying here, the room in which we stayed was very poorly maintained and overall very dissapointing. Please find attached photos, they say much more than I could possibly put in word.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

I staying at the Brisbane the 3/8 for my friend's wedding. The wedding was a great success however the room which cost £135 was nowhere near the same quality. My expectations were high but this was far from delivered, we stayed in the Glen Suite. I was disappointed in the tarnish walls, scratched skirting boards, the bed was squeaky and gouged names were carved into the wood. The doors were scratched and cracked and overall in need of refurbishment . The view was not any brighter with a discarded fridge and various other items dumped items as the principal view.

As it was a close friends wedding I waited untill i left and emailed the manager expressing my concern. The respond was not welcomed and was very dissmissive and overall rude.

Comments included :

Prices for wedding accommodation range from £80 and I note
from your booking (10th April) that you were advised as to the costs and
size of bedroom. The Glen Room is one of our largest rooms, in that up to 4 guests have a
sleeping area, a seperate lounge area and large bathroom and is priced as such on a bed and breakfast basis

You must uderstand that in any hotel rooms are subjected to a certain amount of
wear and tear

I would not recommend staying here, as the rooms are poorly maintained and further to this I recieved very poor service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank StephanieJ1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as we were attending a wedding. Stayed in the family room, room was clean and tidy. The main bedroom had a 4 poster bed, the second room that was set out for my children had pull out sofa beds so could also be used as a living room. It also had 2 TVs one in each room.

The wedding was just beautiful and very well organised. The views were the highlight of this hotel, reasonably priced considering it is a sea front location.

All in all I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Walsh_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Having been here a few times for lunch and dinner I can easily say the food is excellent. The staff are always pleasant and go out of their way to make sure you are seated somewhere you like and they are very attentative to children. The service is always quick and the food always arrives quickly. The meals are always well prepared and portions are large.

The past twice I have been here there have been weddings in progress as well and there is always enough staff on duty so the wedding party and the restaurant are always well staffed.

All in all a very good place for a quiet lunch/dinner with excellent staff and food.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending the games. Was a bit unsure about what to expect after ready some of the reviews, but was not disappointed. Hotel is in a great location, easy access to the train station with regular trains to Glasgow. The bedrooms are tired and definitely in need a of some TLC, but good size rooms and clean.

All the staff were friendly and pleasant, made us very welcome. Breakfast choice was very good and nicely cooked, lunch in Henry's was delicious........would definitely recommend the king prawns with ginger noodles! Late bar, so could relax with a night cap. Would stay again :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lucy25520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were very shocked when staying in room 101 of the Brisbane house hotel room was dirty in need of a good clean tie backs on curtains ripped and hanging onto the screw which was hanging out the wall,carpet was filthy paintwork was broken and filthy think the cleaners need a course in how to clean also 5 big damp patches on the ceiling how staff if they check haven't noticed these faults is a complete mystery and the cheek to charge £160 per night is awful and also to call it an executive suite is a joke the manager took £60 off the bill but at the end of the day it is still outrages that the hotel think they can get away with that.

Room Tip: Don't choose 101 absolutely disgusting I would not go back even if it was free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managmentLargs, General Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

We are a very well used hotel and as such everything is not as new. I am afraid any hotel bedroom will not be pristine, they all have wear and tear. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but you did however have ample opportunity to raise your concerns on check in rather than check out !!!!!!!! giving the hotel less cxhance to rectify the situation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Recently attended a family wedding here, venue is really nice visually and everything flowed well on the day.

The food was well served but the cooking itself was a let down. Some of our party had sampled the food prior to the wedding and was not of the same quality. Beef was very very dry, potatoes hard and cold.

DJs provided by the hotel were OK, although the speakers they were using had blown and played very distorted music aswell as any dialect via microphone could not be understood. Big downfall as this is the evenings entertainment!

Room was rather outdated and tired looking minus what looked to be the recently updated bathroom. When it came to the end of the night and we retired to our room the mattress was exceptionally uncomfortable, so much you could feel the springs through. Being so late we persevered to try and get some sleep rather than cause the fuss and hassle.

For the £120 stay I'd recommend you seek a better alternative or possibly a B&B close by all situated around the same area.

In terms of a wedding venue, such simple things could be easily rectified. Seemingly the DJ was a last minute replacement on their behalf but to have two blown speakers is unacceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bud4Real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largs
0.6 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
178 reviews
7.8 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,546 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,107 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
0.4 mi away
Woodhouse Hotel
Woodhouse Hotel
#9 of 24 in Largs
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane House Hotel

Address: Esplanade Cafe Greenock Road, Largs KA30 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Largs
Price Range: £103 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisbane House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened 2009 - Ayrshire Luxury by the Sea. New for 2017 - Fully refurbished luxury rooms. Coming soon - Bigger restaurant, bar and guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brisbane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Hotel Largs
Brisbane House Hotel Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing