We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and staff”
Review of Willowbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willowbank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Largs
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great hotel and staff”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a coach party from David Urquart on a trip to the Edinburgh tattoo.The whole coach party agreed it was a great hotel , brilliant food and service , nice rooms and well organised .The staff were amazing and were so friendly it made all of the difference. there were no complajnts from anyone and we all agreed it was a great hotel. they even put on entertainment in the bar area on the first night when we at the hotel all night, and there was a good selection of drinks in the bar.When we came back from the tattoo the barman had stayed over to make sure we all got back in ok. Everything was well organised and we would recommend this hotel to everyone as an example of Scottish hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roadman1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    62
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
25
58
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A great hotel in largs. The staff go out of there way to make your stay perfect. The food is great and varied with superb service. A minor problem is there is no lift although they have some bedrooms on the ground floor

Room Tip: Room 41 is a family room and very large although upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alanhundrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Place is beautiful well decorated .service was fine while being place like this let you fill so homely .staff ware quit attentive.i was late from greenock but way of response was impressive. Well done keep up good work all the team .best of luck in future for as hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just back home after a 3 night break at this hotel.
The room was spotless and tidy,,no problems at all.
The staff are just great,,nothing too much for them.
Booking in was also quick and was taken to our room.
Paul and Alison were great and looked after everybody.
They both got a great sence of humour.
It was nice going for breakfast and seeing a nice happy welcome by Them both,.
The breakfast was great and was quick service,,was asked if we wanted more ,,
but what they gave us was enough,,,
The other staff were all well mannered and always happy to help.
There was coach parties there but they were great and everyone spoke to each other..
it made our holiday' even more special ,other people being there even if they were in a coach party...I would recommend this hotel to families and friends,
it was nice and relaxing hotel,,,no problem with any noises.
The location of the hotel is not far from the town,,a 10min walk,
It was a great wee walk after breakfast or dinner,
I really don't know why there was so many bad reviews
We would go back in a second..
SO PLEASE DON'T LISTEN TO THE BAD REVIEWS
WE HAD AN AMAZING TIME ON OUR 3NIGHT BREAK,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mullarkey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Over the years we must stayed in over 24 hotels in Scotland . The Willowbank we believe is the best. Paul and the staff are excellent hosts providing all that is necessary for an enjoyable stay.the rooms are immaculate,clean and comfortable;the food superb and the hotel location is ideal for all the local amenities, Special thanks to Wilma for the strawberries and we look forward to seeing you when we return in December.We would have no hesitation in recommending anyone going to the Ayrshire Coast to use this hotel Go on give it a go!! David & Andrea Grist

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davidgrist47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Arrived as part of a David Urquart Tour. Room clean and comfortable. Only drawback that shower was a "take off" from the taps and not a power shower. Difficult to control temperature. My wife and I are both vegetarians and received good service throughout our stay with tasty alternatives to our main meal. Waiter service for both Breakfast and dinner. Staff happy to provide extra tea/toast if required. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank veggie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just back from a five day David Urquhart coach trip to Largs & Ayrshire Coast @ the Willowbank Hotel in Largs. We have been here before and it was as good as we remembered with the fantastic weather making it as good as being abroad. There were 20 in our party. A problem at first was quickly sorted when a ground floor room was made available to one of our ladies who could not manage stairs as no lift is available. The rooms were beautifully kept and the food wholesome and plentiful. The staff were a pleasure to deal with and nothing was too much trouble even though they pretended to grumble at every little request made. Brilliant banter from Paul and sundries!! All the trips were great and Tommy, our driver, went out of his way to be as much help as possible. The local bus service into Largs for those less agile was good and even the taxis were great value. Too much to do in too little time so will be back at a later date.

Room Tip: Please get David Urquhart to check for room suitability as limited single and easy access rooms avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PawPaw_Makem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largs
0.6 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
8.3 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,490 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodhouse Hotel
Woodhouse Hotel
#10 of 24 in Largs
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigh-na-Ligh Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbank Hotel

Property: Willowbank Hotel
Address: 96 Greenock Road, Largs KA30 8PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Largs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Willowbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professionally run, independently owned 3 Star Hotel (STB & AA graded) Conveniently situated off the main coastal road in the seaside town of Largs. The Willowbank Hotel has a large private carpark with free parking for guests and a lovely garden area. All rooms are ensuite with TV/DVD, Tea/Coffee facilities & hairdryer (some rooms on ground floor). The Lounge Bar and Function Area host regular entertainment for guests enjoyment. There is also a Restaurant and relaxing TV Lounge. Free wifi is available in public areas and bedrooms.If you are looking for character & warmth with friendly & efficient service look no further. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Willowbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbank Hotel Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing