We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday!”
Review of Haus Saron

Haus Saron
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Largs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haus Saron
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband,dog and I spent a week at Haus Saron in the Zion apartment at the beginning of June for our wedding anniversary. We had a great time. Tom and Margaret made us feel really welcome. The grounds were great for our little Alfie and managed to make friends with their dog Holly allowing us to chill out in the garden with a bottle of vino or 2.

Haus Saron is only a 10 minute walk from the town centre and just over the road from the beach.
During the holiday i was heading into town for a hair appointment but unfortunately the weather had changed for the worst (torrential rain) and Tom kindly ran me in...it was greatly appreciated.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we will be booking again for next year. Looking forward to seeing you all again. Many thanks Amanda & Peter

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petesmrs09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed with a group of friends for four nights in December 2011; just needed somewhere to eat/sleep staying in apartment 'Zion' and it was fine.

+ very warm, we had to turn down the radiators.
+ kitchen appliances included washing machine and dishwasher; all modern and worked.
+ no problems with parking our two vehicles.
+ place 'felt' clean/fresh including the beds/linen.
+ 10-15 minutes stroll from Largs town.
+ good value.

- shower is a dribble of barely warm water.
- we did have a dollop of doggy-doo on the approaching footpath to circumnavigate but never pestered by the animal itself.

The place does have an 80's feel but for me the only real grumble is the shower. It was good value and would stay again.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank G8WVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I stayed in ‘haus’ of saron for approximately two weeks and what a ‘haus’ it was! On the first night I thought that my time in the ‘haus’ was off to a flying start after the discovery of knock’em out, a board game circa 1980’s, but close to the conclusion of the game it became apparent that the game was not destined to end as there were three pieces missing. Despite being unfazed by this I wondered if this was going to be symptomatic of the remainder of my stay and that my haus of cards was, indeed, going to tumble around me.

After reading the other reviews, about complimentary bacon under the cushions of the chair, I was looking forward to see what other modern twists could be done on the chocolate on the pillow. Unfortunately, the only thing I received was some complimentary dog excrement on the sole of my shoe. I would strongly advise against a stay here if you don’t like being confronted by dogs.

The flat overall requires updating and has damp issues that need addressing. After using the shower, that was not dissimilar to being squirted by a water pistol, I found out that there were no towels provided!

On balance, the dishwasher was good.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
6  Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Friend and me stayed a few weeks ago in the CoachHouse.It was nice and cosy with an easy stair and good facilities.The dog was happy since he had plenty of space to run around outside and the beach for walks was just across the road.Acommodaation is clean and tidy, warm and comfortable and has Sky TV .We could easily walkt to the town along the nice and level promeande and enjoy the vews to Arran and Cumbrae

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Very poor decor and not very clean for our arrival. Had to spend time cleaning kitchen and bathroom to make them acceptable.
OK for our purpose while attending the OK World champs at the Sailing Club but I wouldn't recommend until they spend time changing the furniture and decor.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
5  Thank BucksFizzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HausSaron, Owner at Haus Saron, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Sorry this client was unhappy but we do try - perhaps he was the person that complained about a sticky kitchen floor and when told that it had been washed replied that " there was washing and washing "
Anyway kitchens and bathrooms are cleaned between each let .
This house was built in the 1950's and has been substantially upgraded with central heaing, WiFi and sky TV etc . It is redcorated every 3 years or so. Furniture and fittings are in good order with he bedrooms being good quality pine beds and units . Perhaps the upgrading referred to would mean the removal of the period fireplace and the panelled doors . Most clienstsare quite happy and we have a good return business - in fact one group are returning in 2012 for 3 weeks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Family get together saw us rent one of the 3 bedroom houses - we enjoyed our stay . It was comfortable with all mod cons . Even free wifi and sky tv . Surroundings are very rural next to a wooded hillside and yet close to the beach and a short walk to the town . Off street parking close to the house meant that we had no problems with security

Room Tip: spacious house with partila sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catelis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Very good accommodation in a nice setting close to the sea and near the town . Comfortable and well equipped. The free wifi was useful . We booked 3 of the houses over Christmas and were very happy with the standaeds

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seamus421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Largs hotels
0.1 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Lynegar Guest House
Lynegar Guest House
#7 of 24 in Largs
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tigh-na-Ligh Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Woodhouse Hotel
Woodhouse Hotel
#10 of 24 in Largs
97 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dawn Break Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Saron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Saron

Address: 106 Greenock Road, Largs KA30 8PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Largs
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Haus Saron Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing