We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very impressed considering the price. Really big room, bed very comfortable, great double-sized shower that was really easy to operate. The cooked breakfast that was included in our room rate was fine and was on until 11am. Checkout wasn't till noon, when a lot of hotels seem to be making it earlier these days. I slept with the window open and was conscious of hearing any motorway noise.

The one thing I didn't like was having to hang about the bar/restaurant to check in when I was already dressed for a wedding but if it keeps the cost down you can't really complain.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JaneC2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to Strathclyde Park, Innkeeper's Lodge, Glasgow on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here on a trip south to York ... The hotel was ok, the room was fine although the bed extremely soft !!! Bar was ok... We were told we couldn't sit in a area as they were getting ready for the breakfast !! So we were moved to a very busy area close to the bar !!which I wasn't too pleased with as it was very crowded and noisy. Breakfast was fine and staff at breakfast very good..would stay there again though as location was great !

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Strathclyde Park, Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed four nights in a family room (just two of us). The hotel is well located next to the Strathclyde Country Park (where the Commonwealth Games Triathlon will take place). Parking was easy every night. Although it is near a main road noise levels were low. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. A continental buffet breakfast was included (the content was a bit erratic) with the option of cooked for a little extra. The restaurant gets busy at night so booking a table is a good idea.

Room Tip: A family room is not extra and includes a bed settee, if you are staying several nights it is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to Strathclyde Park, Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow. We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

stayed over at the innkeepers lodge on 25/5/14 to break our journey up the sat nav took us straight to it and was very conveniently placed just off the motorway. The staff are all very friendly especially Donald who goes out of his way to to speak to everyone he is a really nice guy. We had a walk around the lake before taking off the next day and everyone we passed said good morning to us. The rooms were clean, beds are comfy and you don't even have to go outside if you don't want to as the rooms are accessible from the toby carvery. We booked in again on our way back to break the journey up, again no problems and staff very friendly. Would recommend this to anybody who like us wanted to break their journey up

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to Strathclyde Park, Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel was adequate and had all that was needed for an off motorway overnight stop. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. The hotel is attached to a Toby Carvery and serves good portions of reasonable food. On the flipside the night I stayed the WIFI did not work and although the staff tried to help it was clear that they are not really familiar with how to respond to a customer's needs for something such as this. It will be fixed soon is not an acceptable answer. The WIFI was still not working the next day. The second issue is that the room was quite warm and I opened the window to cool it down only to be hit with the wall of sound from the Motorway traffic.

Room Tip: as far away from the motorway as possible if you plan to open a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to Strathclyde Park, Innkeepers Lodge, Glasgow was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Looked after from start to finish by Gary and the team. We were a group of 18 going to hamilton races and nothing was too much for the team. Rooms very clean, food excellent and breakfast in particular was superb. Thanks you Gary & team from Phil and the lads.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pb1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to Strathclyde Park, Innkeepers Lodge, Glasgow and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I acknowledge that the Innkeepers Lodge is relatively inexpensive, but I still expect certain standards.

Future travellers should be aware that SatNav working on a postcode search have particular difficulty in locating this establishment. Also, the Lodge is situated on a very busy intersection resulting in constant traffic noise from inside the rooms.

The Lodge adjoins the Toby restaurant, and it is through the Toby restaurant that guests to the Lodge must check-in. In our case, we arrived about 10pm, in the rain, and found the car park to be VERY dark indeed as several lights seemed to be out. Consequently the sign directing us through the Restaurant (with our trundling cases) was invisible, wasting several more minutes trying to gain access.

Check-in was S L O W to say the least, but we were finally allocated our room on the first floor. It is worth mentioning that I did not see a lift - this might cause difficulties for some potential visitors who are unable to carry luggage up flights of stairs.

The room itself was stuffy, the heating was on full blast, and there was a strange aroma - a cross between cigarette smoke and feathers in my opinion. We had ordered a family room, but were disappointed to find that the sofa bed remained in it's 'sofa' form - not very welcoming for a 'family' room. Having said that, it took no time to transform it into a bed, and thankfully the bedding was already in place. The bedding was clean and of reasonable quality with the exception of the pillows. These were the thinnest I have EVER seen, and only one per person!
Further points to mention regarding the room are that the radiator hung at a strange angle as it had clearly broken from its mountings on one side. There was also a considerable number of teabag stains down the wall beside the waste bin. A reflection on poor cleaning standards in my opinion.

The bathroom was surprisingly good. Clean and well lit with a large shower (no bath) and a supply of soap/body/hair wash in a wall dispenser. The towels were clean albeit a little on the thin side, and a little rough for my liking. The shower head though worked like a dream and functioned far better than many of the top class hotels I have stayed in!

Having made use of the ample tea/coffee making facilities we retired to bed. WHAT A DREADFUL NIGHT. The double bed was so soft and uncomfortable and the pillows were a disaster. Our 9 year old son got the best deal I think with the sofa bed as it at least had a firmer mattress. So, with the constant drone of traffic noise to try to distract me from my painful joints I waited for morning to come. There was no point in trying the free WiFi to pass away the hours as it simply didn't work!

So, the breakfast........advertised in the room information as; " free continental-style breakfast - Kelloggs cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, fruit segments, fresh bread, toast, croissants, preserves, fruit juice, tea and coffee". The reality was a little disappointing in my opinion. The only yoghurts available were natural yoghurts, there were no fruit segments or croissants, and the fresh fruit comprised of several apples and only ONE banana. The 'fresh bread' was in fact ordinary sliced bread covered by a random couple of serviettes to presumably keep it fresh. Everything was self service - make your own toast, hot water from a large urn to make your own tea etc......I did see one member of staff who seemed very harassed and was a little unprofessional in her approach to guests in my opinion.

Check-out is a simple process of posting your key into a wooden box beside what appears to be a fire escape type exit door. Perhaps this avoids the staff asking if you had enjoyed your stay!

So, to sum up, I have given this an 'average' rating rather than 'poor' simply because of the shower head!

Room Tip: Unless you are used to traffic noise I advise that you request a room on the opposite side of the Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TellTheTruthPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

We are sorry that your recent visit to Strathclyde Park, Innkeepers Lodge, Glasgow was not to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback which will help us to improve our service, and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#4 of 9 in Motherwell
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
3.5 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
857 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park

Address: Strathclyde Park Hamilton Road | Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Motherwell
#6 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range: £57 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from Strathclyde Loch, this comfy lodge provides budget accommodation that's perfect for short breaks in Motherwell's Strathclyde Country Park. Close to Junction 5 of the M74, it's also ideally placed for trips to Glasgow, whether on business or for pleasure.The modern, 28-bedroom lodge is a convenient base for families, with several family rooms and a popular Toby Carvery restaurant right next door, where you can tuck into a traditional roast with all the trimmings.The park is full of things to do, from the IMAX cinema to M&D's family theme park, which offers thrilling rides and Amazonia, Scotland's biggest indoor tropical rainforest. Built around Stratchclyde Loch, it's also a hotspot for lovers of coarse angling, woodland walks, sailing, kayaking, rowing, waterskiing and cycling.Just a short drive away, Glasgow is one of the UK's most interesting cities to visit, with lots of great shopping, art galleries, restaurants and theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing