We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pre-theatre dinner”

The Wide Mouth Frog @ Dalziel Park Motherwell
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Motherwell
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent pre-theatre dinner”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Dined here last night prior to going to see Madame Butterfly at the Theatre Royal, Glasgow. Served by same waiter who served us on New Year's Day - he remembered us! Excellent meal. Minor hiccup when the waiter gave us the wrong bill, but soon resolved.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanedwards, Public Relations Manager at The Wide Mouth Frog @ Dalziel Park Motherwell, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for choosing The Wide Mouth Frog for your pre-theatre dinner and we are so thrilled it was an excellent meal. All our staff do their best to make our customers feel as welcome as possible and we are happy to hear that you dined with us at New Year. Apologies for the slight mix-up but we are glad you had a great dining experience with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    88
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wedding Party”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Attended a Wedding here in May and was highly impressed by the venue and also the Wedding meal. Bar prices weren't cheap but where is these days. Service was also very good and I would visit again to sample for lunch or dinner. At the moment they also have Breakfasts 2 customers for £10, pretty good value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 557Mac27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanedwards, Public Relations Manager at The Wide Mouth Frog @ Dalziel Park Motherwell, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for posting your feedback with regards to your visit to Dalziel Park we are delighted that you were impressed by our food and venue. We strive to keep our prices as competitive as possible and its definitely trait we are known for. Our 2 for £10 breakfast promotion is a customer favorite so make sure you pop back to try it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Service was fab very tentative and the food was served exactly as ordered. Plenty staff and catered for our every need. Would return for sure. Sandra Beattie

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank baileybeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanedwards, Public Relations Manager at The Wide Mouth Frog @ Dalziel Park Motherwell, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback with regards to your recent visit to The Wide Mouth Frog. We are so happy you enjoyed your food and our service and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was taken for a meal here and the place was very busy. Just as well we had booked a table. The food was excellent but leave space for desert. I had Crannachan and it was huge. Main meals from around £10 to £15 and very well done.
The service from our waitress on the Saturday night was superb and she went out of her way to accommodate one of our party who was being overly fussy. All done with a smile. If I am ever back in this area I would not hesitate to revisit this fine establishment.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank albuntin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanedwards, Public Relations Manager at The Wide Mouth Frog @ Dalziel Park Motherwell, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback with regards to your recent visit to The Wide Mouth Frog. We are happy that you found our food excellent and enjoyed our desserts. We have passed your great comments onto all our staff and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Friday Night Dinner”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

First time visiting and have to say the decor is pretty good! Fantastic setting and somewhere you can really picture sitting having a relaxing Friday night drink.

We both had two starters, two mains and wine. The bill came to about 55 quid which is really well priced!

I had the soup, followed by the steak pie. Although it was lentil slip and you can't really go wrong, it was pretty tasty! In terms of my main, I had the steak pie. I only ate about half of this as it had a really rich gravy. I informed the young male waiter who was fantastic throughout the meal, very attentive which a hint of humour. He did apologise, however no discount applied.

Will be back - just not for the steak pie...

Helpful?
2 Thank SMH-sco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanedwards, Public Relations Manager at The Wide Mouth Frog @ Dalziel Park Motherwell, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We are delighted that you chose to visit the Wide Mouth Frog restaurant at Dalziel Park for the first time and pleased that you were impressed with the value and service. Your comments have been passed on to the waiting team in the restaurant. I am disappointed that the steak pie, one of our most popular dishes, wasn’t to your particular taste on this occasion, however, thrilled that you will be back to try more of the menu. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wide Mouth Frog @ Dalziel Park Motherwell also viewed

Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
 
Bellshill, North Lanarkshire
 

Been to The Wide Mouth Frog @ Dalziel Park Motherwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing