We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Pretty good location for stop off if travelling up to Scotland. Just off the motorway, but not too noisy, unless you have windows open. Also close to a theme-park and next door to pub with restaurant.
Also has advantage of self service (hot and cold) breakfast, however, be warned, this is NOT full choice, as with many (if not all HI Express) they only have choice of sausage or bacon, scrambled egg and beans. Then there are the cereals, croissants and toast etc.
Rooms are pretty spacious and well kept, with flat panel TFT TV's.
Beds have choice of pillows (hard or soft), however if two people in room, you have to fight to get your choice, or you have to go and visit housekeeping.

Room Tip: I always go for a double bed with sofa/bed, as this way, I have option to sit on the sofa and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Draycott18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Dear Tony,

Thank your for your positive comments regarding your recent stay. I am aware that guests may expect a full Hot Breakfast and not a limited choice. As we are continually striving to enhance our breakfast product your feedback will be passed to the relevant department at IHG.

I will use your comments to modify our working practices to the advantage of our guests

Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Isabella little General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

Just beeing in the hotel i want to tell you sth. about it.
Rooms clean - friendly ..just ok
been in better
been in worse
breakfast is maybe the english-type..not my type of bf i prefer.
Reception - very friendly

located close to some restaurants and fast foods

but the biggest negative impression : internet-access is available in the room for 11€ per DAY !?
DEFINTLY tooo much
11€ for 24hs ONLINE - yeah - that might be ok

WiFi is free in the lobby..

so after all...
if u dont need internet - quite ok.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meinereiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My Wife and I use this excellent hotel when are on a return visit to our native Scotland.
It is located just off Junction 5 of the M74 motorway, large carpark and a carvery inn next door.
The rooms are spacious, clean and the staff are excellent, friendly and helpful, and as a plus you get a cooked hot breakfast included in the price.
Because of its location it make a good stopping off point in a trip from down south ( we now live in Nottingham ) on our trip up to Aviemore.
I can recommend this hotel to any one, and as a final bonus, if you smoke you can still get a smoking room !.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the side away from the M74, it can be a little noisy on the motorway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

After a long, tiring day at the theme park, this hotel is perfect for me and my energetic 7 yr old son. Parking spaces is free and plenty. Check in was fast and efficient. Bedrooms were comfortable with soft or firm choices for beds. Bathrooms have shower only with separate cubicle for the toilet but very clean. Shower is weak but toilettries were available. Liked the "card access only electricity" as this is an energy saving feature. There is no air conditioning which can be a discomfort during a warm day but was advised to open windows which is ok as long as you dont mind the subtle sounds of M74. Breakfast is mediocre, continental breakfast with hot choices of sausages and powdered scrambled egg. Toby Carvery is next door for other meal options.

Room Tip: look for deals on line and book it as this is cheaper than calling the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ustoukgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Very friendly staff and pleasantly clean rooms with a better than average Holiday Inn Express breakfast.

Nicely positioned next to the M74 with a decent Harvesters restaurant next door. If you are staying here it is worth visiting the Livingston museum which is in Blantyre (about a 10 minute drive from the Hotel)

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room which looks out over park land and is very quiet. Book in advance and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusureitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

stayed here for the night after attending a Scotland game at Hampden as saw weather forecasts and didnt fancy long journey home in torrential rain.

Hotel very easy to find and to get parked at. Checking in took no time at all and was soon on way to room. Very clean and tidy room with plenty of room for a couple to relax in. Although being situated on M74 there was no noise and had an excellent nights sleep with no disruption. Had to phone reception as no towels had been left in room but they were up with them within 2 minutes and very apologetic.

Breakfast was ok but nothing special, however will stay again without hesitation if needing a place outside glasgow.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shutcheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Great review thank you so much. Hopefully you will stay again soon
Isabella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Was here July 27, 2011. Needed room with additional bed for 15 year old son. The pull out couch had a very thin mattress, par normal for a pull out, but still not comfortable to sleep on. Fortunately he was jet lagged and didn't notice. Main bed was fine. Room clean and functional. Nice big bathroom. Plenty of towels. Free breakfast bar was fine. Rolls were hard as rocks, but everything else was sufficient. Ate dinner at Toby's Carvery, across the road. That fit the bill and they had a nice outdoor area to just grab a drink and chat. The hotel is right off the highway, so very convenient. One note for you USA travelers, no air conditioning. Actually, no air at any of the places we stayed, guess there's not much call for it, but the room was rather warm during the day. Nice breeze came in and cooled us off so we could sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Strathclyde
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#4 of 9 in Motherwell
460 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5

Address: Strathclyde Country Park 1 Hamilton Road | Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Price Range: £47 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 120 bedroom Express by Holiday Inn Strathclyde Park M74, JCT.5, is ideal for Corporate and Leisure clients, offering ensuite accommodation including Complimentary Continental Breakfast with selected Hot Items, FREE Car Parking spaces for upto 120 cars. We are on Jct 5 off the M74. The Express By Holiday Inn Strathclyde is located in the Strathclyde Country park with Motherwell Food Park with Companies like Honeywell and TNT close by. Hamilton,Motherwell and Eurocentral are within 5 minutes driving distance from the Hotel. Glasgow Airport is a 25 minute drive and Edinburgh Airport is a 40 minute drive from the Hotel.The Hotel is situated within the complex of attractions, such as Strathclyde Country Park with its Watersports centre, country walks and purpose built M & D's Theme Park (open all year round with FREE entry). Other places of interest are David Livingston Centre, the Time Capsule Leisure Centre and a Golf Course just 1.5 miles away. Glasgow City Centre is just a 25 minutes drive from the Hotel and easily accessible to Gleneagles and St. Andrews Golf Courses . There is a Bar/ Lounge available for resident guests from 11am to 3am daily and 2 Meeting rooms for upto 30 people offering all audio / visual equipment and business facilities. High Speed Internet Access available throughout the Hotel ( FREE in the Lounge Area.) Sorry but we Do Not Accept Pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park Hotel Motherwell
Holiday Inn Express Motherwell
Holiday Inn Motherwell
Motherwell Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing