We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Did the job.”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here overnight on our way to Inverness. Arrived quite late,in the evening but checking in was smooth.
We were in Room 4 which is in a great location in terms of not having to wander up and down corridors.

The room itself was very clean and tidy, furniture and fittings were all in good condition. Bathroom was also spotlessly clean and functional with a nice shower.

The bed however was a nightmare, it was far too saggy, feeling more like a waterbed so when 1 of us moved, the other person was moved too. This didn't make for a good nights sleep at all.

Breakfast the next morning was found through tired eyes and was just as expected, a nice small selection of hot and cold buffet.

We've stayed here before in a different room, would we return again though ?
For convenience possibly but in a room with a firm bed !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oggy-Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Oggy,

Thanks for your review pity about the mattress.We are looking to replace the majority of these in the near furture. I am glad that the staff responded to this issue and changed your room.I look forward to your return
Regards
Isabella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    130
    111
    35
    15
See reviews for
79
74
22
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed there for three days recently, the hotel was excellent value for money. Rooms were clean and parking plentiful & free. The staff were friendly and helpful. The Carvery next door to the hotel was also very good. We stayed there and used it as a base to visit Glasgow & Edinburgh, it was really convenient with the motorways so close. I would love to have had air conditioning in the room but then again, I wasn't paying 4/5 star prices either so I'm not complaining. The only difficulty I had with this hotel was finding it on my car's satnav, but that's not the hotel's fault! I was there in peak August prime time and the room prices were extremely reasonable, that's why I have given this hotel 5 stars. I definitely got better value that what I had paid for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you so much for your great feedback. I will certainly pass on your comments to my team.
I look forward to your next visit to Strathclyde .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights while we were traveling around the country during the day. The rooms and quality of the hotel overall was average. I've stayed in several Holiday Inn Express and I must say I was a little disappointed with this hotel. The front desk staff was not very helpful nor knowledgeable about directions and tourist info. Cigarette smoke odour was very strong in the hallways which was disgusting. No internet in the rooms, only in the lobby. However, the complimentary breakfast in the morning was very good and offered a good variety.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Sorry we did not manage to give you a great hotel experience. I will speak to my desk team as it is important for them to have good local knowlege. We do have some smoking rooms and the good news is that the Hotel will be all non smoking by 2014. We are also upgrading our wireless systems and this should also be completed end 2013.
Kind regards
Isabella little
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights. Nice hotel, excellent and helpful staff for sure. The only down side is the getting here if you have never driven here before. There is a major roundabout right in front of this hotel. After about three trips, we finally got the hang of getting in and out. The rooms were clean, free breakfast, and a nice restaurant next door if you want to eat out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Yes the roundabout can be a problem especially at peak times. The local council are proposing changes which should ease the flow of traffic. Thank you for your kind comments regarding staff and cleanliness. I look forward to your return.

Kind regards
isabella little
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great hotel and fantastic location. Rooms were very clean like the rest of the hotel,not got a bad word to say about the place staff very helpfull and friendly.toby carvery next door at very good prices for food and drink

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mavisArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Mavis,
Thank you the staff will be delighted with your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Kind Regards
isabella little
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having stayed at this hotel on many occasions i was recently quite disappointed with our last stay. We booked at least 3months ahead & paid in advance with specific requirements, which was confirmed by Email well in advance, however on arrival none of our requirements had been met. The duty manager was very apologetic but said nothing could be done until the next day, not very convenient as we had travelled hundreds of mile to attend a wedding & had neither the time or the inclination to keep packing & unpacking when the fault was theirs. I will say on a positive note this hotel is always clean & the staff on hand are very obliging , unlike the booking office who take your money then don't deliver. The breakfast is adequate but never varies so be warned if you like selection this is probably not the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Elaine,

I am sorry that we could not meet requirements on this occassion. We always try not to dissappoint or inconvenience our guests. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the cleanliness and staff .

Regards
Isabella little
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasbury-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed again at this Hotel, because we have been very satisfied it in all respects. Paricularly, it is a very convenient stopover point on journeys to the North of Scotland. It's just a stone's throw from the M74 and it's very easy to resume one's journey the following day. The accommodation is good, the staff have always been friendly and helpful, and the beakfast is good too. We will always stopover here on future trips

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owens-Woodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.I will look forward to your return visit and pass this on to our staff.

Regards
Isabella little
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
0.1 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
427 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
218 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5

Property: Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Address: Strathclyde Country Park 1 Hamilton Road | Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 120 bedroom Express by Holiday Inn Strathclyde Park M74, JCT.5, is ideal for Corporate and Leisure clients, offering ensuite accommodation including Complimentary Continental Breakfast with selected Hot Items, FREE Car Parking spaces for upto 120 cars. We are on Jct 5 off the M74. The Express By Holiday Inn Strathclyde is located in the Strathclyde Country park with Motherwell Food Park with Companies like Honeywell and TNT close by. Hamilton,Motherwell and Eurocentral are within 5 minutes driving distance from the Hotel. Glasgow Airport is a 25 minute drive and Edinburgh Airport is a 40 minute drive from the Hotel.The Hotel is situated within the complex of attractions, such as Strathclyde Country Park with its Watersports centre, country walks and purpose built M & D's Theme Park (open all year round with FREE entry). Other places of interest are David Livingston Centre, the Time Capsule Leisure Centre and a Golf Course just 1.5 miles away. Glasgow City Centre is just a 25 minutes drive from the Hotel and easily accessible to Gleneagles and St. Andrews Golf Courses . There is a Bar/ Lounge available for resident guests from 11am to 3am daily and 2 Meeting rooms for upto 30 people offering all audio / visual equipment and business facilities. High Speed Internet Access available throughout the Hotel ( FREE in the Lounge Area.) Sorry but we Do Not Accept Pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park Hotel Motherwell
Holiday Inn Express Motherwell
Holiday Inn Motherwell
Motherwell Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing