We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed for one night on my way to Glasgow for a business trip. As you would expect from an international hotel chain, this HI Express is very similar to all of the others I have stayed in. The staff were friendly, the room was clean and the breakfast buffet was adequate and with a variety of food available. Despite being next to the motorway I couldn't hear the traffic which was a pleasant surprise. The hotel does a small range of evening meals from the bar, and there is a pub next door if you prefer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you Adrian for your positive comments, i will pass these on the the staff look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed overnight recently and found the hotel good value and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and perfectly adequate for an overnight stay. The hotel has a bar, and also a pub/eatery literally a few yards across the car park.
Breakfast was very reasonably priced and self service buffet style. The hot foods on offer were slightly limited but certainly plenty to eat.

All in all a pleasant stay and I would be happy to stay here again if in the area in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear David R,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am delighted ti to hear that you were satisfied with our friendly and helpful staff, cleanliness and breakfast service at the hotel. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A very basic room, the Pillows supplied were awful P3 man made totally uncomfortable, Bed covers was in the same vein although surprisingly I was warm through the night.
Breakfast was extremely basic, but for the price £20 each to share(booked 6 months in advance)I guess you get what you pay for

Room Tip: very basic room, the Pillows supplied were awful P3 man made totally uncomfortable, Bed covers was i...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Pillow quality and breakfast we will look into and action. I will pass on your positive rating on cleanliness and service to the team.
Look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here one night when in the area for a funeral. Location is good, just off the motorway – it was about 30 minutes from the airport at 8.30pm. Our room on the second floor looked out over the car park and we could just hear the traffic on the M74, probably a lot noisier on the other side of the building. We drove out through the country park which meant we avoided the traffic on the motorway and the queues coming off it at the next exit.
The room was fine for the two of us, comfortable single beds with a table between and a choice of soft or firm pillows. There’s tea/coffee making in the room with a flat screen tv and a place to hang clothes – basic but fine. The heating is by one electric heater near the window, no heating in the bathroom as far as we could see but with the heater low on during the night the room was warm the next morning. The shower isn’t the best we’ve had, the water pressure is medium but was hot and adequate.
Breakfast is next to reception, hot food consisted of scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans – and wasn’t that hot on the morning we ate there. The toaster is next to the hot food area so it gets very busy there with little room to move around, it would be better at the other side near the cereals.
There seemed to be a lot of business people and workers staying here, overall not a bad night’s sleep and would stay here again for just one or two nights.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElmersEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear ElmersEnd,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was an overnighter for business. The room was large, light and bright and very clean. A choice of pillow which was nice. The desk and table combo was such that I could actually work at the built in desk, very nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. Free wifi, strong enough signal as to be useful. Right on the m74, very convenient.
The only downside was the bar food was poor and expensive. There is a carvery just next door that has to be better.
I would stay again, cheap through, booking dot com

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceejay01Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your great feedback, sorry about the bar food we are in the process of changing our menu and hopefully this will be more acceptable. WiFi now a speedier process as you say and even better as it is FREE. Room price EVEN CHEAPER if you book direct and in advance on our own IHG website

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My family and I booked this hotel last year, it was a great place as its a walking distance to M&Ds. Theme park. There are loads of food chain inside the theme park too, but we dined in at toby carvery next to the hotel.
This is the only Holiday inn express that ive stayed inn with flat screen tv, better than holiday inn in. East kilbride and Hamilton. But the location is great, you dont have to sit on traffic during the bonfire night if you want to see the firework display. Book few weeks in advance to get great deals...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeceM476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear guest, yes it is a great location an ideal view of the fireworks display. Hope to see you again this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I had to stay at this hotel for work. The location is very isolated if you want to walk anywhere, and it has typical HIE rooms with the funny bathroom / toilet set up with the door that isolates the toilet. The wifi was qute slow as well. The worst part however was the meals that had been arranged for us as the hotel did not normally serve evening food, but as we were working 12 hour night shifts meals had been arranged. The were dreadful, and the choice abysmal - Pizza, Chicken Tikka Masalla or Lasagne.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baldipaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear guest,

Please accept my apologies for your expectations not being met during your stay at the hotel.

The toilet facilities may seem different to anyone who has not stayed in a Holiday Inn express however the concept is a standard design in the Express brand. The hotel may seem a bit out of the way however it is within 5 minutes drive to the nearest town and a 15 minute drive into Glasgow.
I am sorry that the food was not what you expected but this was prearranged and agreed to prior to arrival.

I do hope this doe not deter you from using the brand in the future.

Kind Regards
Isabella little

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
0.1 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Strathclyde
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
229 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5

Address: Strathclyde Country Park 1 Hamilton Road | Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Price Range: £55 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 120 bedroom Express by Holiday Inn Strathclyde Park M74, JCT.5, is ideal for Corporate and Leisure clients, offering ensuite accommodation including Complimentary Continental Breakfast with selected Hot Items, FREE Car Parking spaces for upto 120 cars. We are on Jct 5 off the M74. The Express By Holiday Inn Strathclyde is located in the Strathclyde Country park with Motherwell Food Park with Companies like Honeywell and TNT close by. Hamilton,Motherwell and Eurocentral are within 5 minutes driving distance from the Hotel. Glasgow Airport is a 25 minute drive and Edinburgh Airport is a 40 minute drive from the Hotel.The Hotel is situated within the complex of attractions, such as Strathclyde Country Park with its Watersports centre, country walks and purpose built M & D's Theme Park (open all year round with FREE entry). Other places of interest are David Livingston Centre, the Time Capsule Leisure Centre and a Golf Course just 1.5 miles away. Glasgow City Centre is just a 25 minutes drive from the Hotel and easily accessible to Gleneagles and St. Andrews Golf Courses . There is a Bar/ Lounge available for resident guests from 11am to 3am daily and 2 Meeting rooms for upto 30 people offering all audio / visual equipment and business facilities. High Speed Internet Access available throughout the Hotel ( FREE in the Lounge Area.) Sorry but we Do Not Accept Pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park Hotel Motherwell
Holiday Inn Express Motherwell
Holiday Inn Motherwell
Motherwell Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing