We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 nights stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Irthlingborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“3 nights stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Convenient location means a lot of business traffic stays there - large trucks and vans when we stayed.

Room large enough and clean and tidy. Shower was nice. Beds are soft but you'll never please everyone with beds will you? Breakfast included and whilst I was happy with what was on offer, I was surprised there was no bacon with the rest of the cooked offerings.

Location easy distance from Glasgow or Edinburgh and so ideal from that point of view.

My one gripe might be that the bed was too soft for the wife but the sofa bed was just right for her. Only one issue was no bedding available for it. If you have the bed, you should be able to get the bedding right? We were offered a blanket but not ideal in any way.

Parking good and plentiful - enough so my car did not get knocked and scratched - CCTV is another nice security thing.

For the money - yeh, it was fine. Staff there were pleasant enough and all in all, not a bad place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your feed Steve. Sorry you were only offered a blanket for the sofabed. We always provide full linen prior to arrival for any requested sofabed.
I will address this with the staff concerned as a training need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    118
    103
    33
    14
See reviews for
73
67
20
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was my second stay at this Holiday Inn Express this year.

The hotel is conveniently located just if the motorway and is next to Strathclyde Park. There is a very large car park available which is free for guests.

On arrival the reception area was clean and well maintained and I was served within a few minutes with an apology offered for the short wait. Check-in was completed quickly and as a member if the hotels loyalty scheme I was offered a choice of additional points or a free drink from the bar.

My room was on the top floor and at the end of one of the corridors therefore it was away from the lift and was nice and quiet. The room itself had been thoroughly cleaned throughout prior to my arrival and was comfortable.

Food is available in the bar area in the evenings with a reasonable choice available. I chose the chicken pie which was served with vegetables and mashed potato. The quality was pretty good with lots of filling whilst the mash was also decent quality and not powdered. There is also a Toby Carvery next door to the hotel.

I had a good nights sleep and there were no disturbances or excessive noise which was very good.

A complimentary breakfast is offered in the morning which is continental with three hot items also available (Beans, sausages and scrambled eggs) so there is a decent choice available. This hotel I feel benefits from the Great Room being much bigger than most Holiday Inn Express' out there so it is not as cramped or uncomfortable as some out there.

When checking out there were no delays and I was wished a safe journey as I left.

Overall another decent stay and I'd be happy to return again in the future. I prefer staying here than at the nearby Holiday Inn Express at nearby Hamilton as the parking set up is much better here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Very simple room and hotel, with average service and prices.

You could get a lot more for your money if you did not stay in a large chain hotel like this, I feel you do not get a personal touch when staying in places like this.

Although the lady that welcomed me was new she was not very clued up, I have not experienced this in the past.

My bill was incorrect but soon rectified.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We do have a new member of staff in the process of on the job training and supported by an experienced member of staff.
At the hotel we do pride ourselves in delivering a personal touch, I am disappointed that you felt that this was not what you received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was on business in the area and due to head back home when an emergency kept me in Scotland. I ha d previously attempted to stay at this hotel but it is so popular it is hard to get a room. I tried on speck and was fortunate to get a room, as several coach trips were booked in. The staff on the desk were excellent and handled the booking with great speed as I was soaked to the skin having just left a construction site.

Room Tip: Book early odd numbers on the first floor are quiet I was given 137.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonbill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much I am delighted that your experience was great. It will be my pleasure to feedback to the staff and let them know they are doing a grand job. I also hope you will return soon to this hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portknockie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

great place for a few nights away, near plenty places to visit, beds comfortable and rooms clean.

could possibly have a plug socket near the mirror for hair appliances?
all in all great stay, staff extremely friendly always a smile as you came and left!
thank you

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much rachel I will feedback your comments to the team. Come again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Great location when travelling south as it has very easy access from the motorway. Friendly staff, an adequate breakfast and although near the motorway it was a quiet room. Mattress a bit soft for our liking, but otherwise very good

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotland56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comments which will be shared with the hotel team. I hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Friendly welcome from receptionist at check-in and also from staff at breakfast next morning, which was the usual HIE buffet. Staff kept the dining room and buffet area clean and tidy.

Room was clean and comfortable, some motorway noise if window open but didn't prevent either of us sleeping.

Toby Carvery next door "cheap and cheerful", busy (from 6pm) but quietened down after 8pm.

Overall good value stop-over and would use again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winerunner52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great feedback. Will share at our team meeting. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
0.1 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Motherwell) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5

Property: Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Address: Strathclyde Country Park 1 Hamilton Road | Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 120 bedroom Express by Holiday Inn Strathclyde Park M74, JCT.5, is ideal for Corporate and Leisure clients, offering ensuite accommodation including Complimentary Continental Breakfast with selected Hot Items, FREE Car Parking spaces for upto 120 cars. We are on Jct 5 off the M74. The Express By Holiday Inn Strathclyde is located in the Strathclyde Country park with Motherwell Food Park with Companies like Honeywell and TNT close by. Hamilton,Motherwell and Eurocentral are within 5 minutes driving distance from the Hotel. Glasgow Airport is a 25 minute drive and Edinburgh Airport is a 40 minute drive from the Hotel.The Hotel is situated within the complex of attractions, such as Strathclyde Country Park with its Watersports centre, country walks and purpose built M & D's Theme Park (open all year round with FREE entry). Other places of interest are David Livingston Centre, the Time Capsule Leisure Centre and a Golf Course just 1.5 miles away. Glasgow City Centre is just a 25 minutes drive from the Hotel and easily accessible to Gleneagles and St. Andrews Golf Courses . There is a Bar/ Lounge available for resident guests from 11am to 3am daily and 2 Meeting rooms for upto 30 people offering all audio / visual equipment and business facilities. High Speed Internet Access available throughout the Hotel ( FREE in the Lounge Area.) Sorry but we Do Not Accept Pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park Hotel Motherwell
Holiday Inn Express Motherwell
Holiday Inn Motherwell
Motherwell Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing