We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2007

Chose the hotel after checking reviews on Trip Advisor.
We stayed 4 nights (Thursday to Monday) in room 32.
Tastefully restored Victorian (?) property with modern touches. Really enjoyed our stay. Staff all really friendly. This counts for SUCH a lot in our view. Outstanding breakfast included in the price. Very comfortable beds & stylish and roomy modern bathroom. A slight issue maybe with pressure fluctuations with the shower on occasions. Very strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polypropylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2007

My partner and I stayed at the Moorings in June 2007 off and on for 2 weeks. We used it as our home base while we visited his family in Newarthill, travelled to Portugal for 6 days and went to a family wedding in Ireland. We were given the best room (#11) which was roomy with large windows that opened. It was quite warm when we were there so we enjoyed the open windows.
The staff were helpful and always available. The breakfasts were included in the room and there was plenty of choice for breakfast which ranged from the traditional fy-up, to fish and poached eggs. We also ate lunch and dinner several times which was always very good.
Our room had a large queen sized bed which was very comfortable. The room was stocked with a kettle, tea, coffee, packages of shortbread and a hair dryer. The bathroom had a great shower and was immaculate. There was also a TV - which we really didn't watch so I don't know what channels were on. Ironing board and Iron were supplied upon request.
They have free customer parking - a novel concept for people from Vancouver! It is within walking distance from shopping, pubs and the publice library (good for freee internet access)
I think they have free wireless internet, but I can't remember because I didn't have my laptop with me.
I would stay there again with no reservations. The head of housekeeping was exceptionally helpful and she made our stay even more pleasant

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ImeldaMarcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2007

Really enjoyed my business stay here; lots of things that made it good - Staff very friendly - chatty, warm, really welcoming.

From reception, there were lots of little touches - a low reception desk with seats so you can sit down when you check in;

free wireless internet access - it worked and it was free.

I was using the conference room too - which was really good.

Breakfast cooked to order - no nasty greasy buffet and good porridge;

food in the evening the only weakspot. Should have a greater range but it was OK.

Room at the back, no views but quiet, warm, good sized desk, good shower and generally fine.

Thing that made it special was the friendliness of the staff and the overall clean, well maintained feel.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MollyZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2006

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in August 2006 and thought it was terrific! We had room 10 at the front of the property and we had excellent views The people who worked there were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was great also, as was the bar. If/when we go back to Scotland, we will definitely book a room there again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catlady6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2006

Hey, we haven´t stayed in the hotel for a long time, but you can tell the place has gone down hill fast!!!!
you had great improvememnt when a young argentinean guy managed your place (was it Fabri or Fabian?) and after he has left you have gone back to where you were before he worked there!!!
shame as we find the hotel very handy!!! but we are not going to stay there anymore as the standards have become unacceptable!!!

Stayed: March 2006
2  Thank Carlitro3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2005

Great hotel especially for single female traveller - staff made me feel at ease. Booths in restaurant are perfect for 'awkward' meal times when on your own. Only negative was it was quite a hot night and my room's window was tiny and hardly opened plus, the hotel is on a main road that gets quite noisy- ask for a room at rear. Beats Travel Lodges anyday.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minkymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Sven1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
3.3 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
881 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Strathclyde
1.9 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#4 of 9 in Motherwell
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
0.2 mi away
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#8 of 9 in Motherwell
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel

Address: 114 Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3DG, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Motherwell
#3 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range: £42 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel provides the magic near Motherwell! Built in 1891 as the private home for a member of a famous Scottish steel dynasty, our beautiful main building has held its charm and offers a unique, understated and timeless air of refinement to this day. The surroundings are undeniably chic, but the overall ambience remains humble enough to be homely. A "B" listed building within a local conservation area, BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel has built on its 19th century roots to meet 21st century needs and provides guests with classic character. We still have some of the original stained glass windows, and our hospitality is traditional and unintrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Motherwell
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing