We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just got back from Scotland, and we spent two evenings at The Moorings, and we had a lovely time. Our room was very large and with a big bay window sitting area. Just so restful! The room and bathroom were spotless, and the bed was so comfy. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the staff were fantastic about taking care of us.
The only small issue we had, was dinner in the dinning room on our first night. The food was pretty bland, and I ordered a Caeser salad, and the ingredients included in it were odd. Turkey meat and mayo?? under the lettuce? A very small blip on an otherwise lovely stay!

Room Tip: Room 10 is the room we stayed in and we loved it! Big, and a beautiful bay window to sit and look o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

I booked The Moorings because my usual hotel was full, didn't know anything about it so was a little apprehensive. Turned out to be a really nice old building, staff were very friendly, restaurant was good, my room at the top of the building was quirky and different and with a big window with a view. Bed was comfortable, room and shower/toilet were very clean. Breakfast was spot on. Couldn't fault the whole experience and will definitely book there again on my next visit to Scotland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McKET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Visit from 28th September to 1st October 2013

The Moorings Hotel has exceptionally good staff - on entering the Hotel you will find receptionist friendly and efficient - the atmosphere from entering is welcoming.

Our bedroom was 'tired' but was clean (and refurbishment is on going) the bed was comfortable.

Breakfast was excellent very nice! Again staff in the restaurant were friendly and efficient.

We had dinner in the hotel two nights and again it was very good - no complaints.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel - and I feel sure most people would have a good experience - the hotel is situated ideally for Train Station - Strathclyde Park and other amenities.

First class staff from Reception to cleaners!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irenebusby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Booked this today at short notice but was pretty quiet anyway.

The afternoon deal between 4pm-6.30pm was good with several options for starters, mains and desserts.

Cream of tomato soup was amazing, served with warm fresh bread. Fish cakes were great too but were served on their own (well, on a layer of peas). However, I suppose that's my fault for not reading the menu right or asking.

Pear and toffee crumble was delicious and served with a jug of warm cream.

Food was delicious and the staff were friendly and service swift. Enjoyable early dinner . Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My partnes and I visited the restaurant on August 31st. The meal was ok nothing special, then I discopvered a hair in my food, I complained and was given the meal at a reduced price, unfortunatly when the bill arrived we were charged for drinks we didnt have and the explanation given was that the bar staff put the table next to ours drinks on our bill. I complained to the management and we were given a meal with their compliments. We went again on Sept 14th and were looking forward to being pampered. But no yet again my partnes found a hair in his meal, one a mistake but twice is poor hygiene. We were given an appology and a bottle of champagne. We left and will not be back. I would not reccomment this restaurant. The Bentley is just round the corner, half the price and food excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 137Lesley15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really nice. Room was nice. Just a short walk from the train station. Would definately stay here again and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine09_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel having chosen it at random due to its location near the town centre. It was a very lucky random choice! The hotel is lovely, very clean, our room was spacious, the staff are friendly and the location very close to the town centre. We had an excellent choice for breakfast and had dinner in the hotel one evening. The menu was varied and the food extremely good.

The only two 'downsides' to our stay were the bar prices which, although pretty average hotel prices, are quite high for the area and the hotel does not serve Sunday lunch! We are unlikely to return to Motherwell but if we do we would definitely stay here again. Oh, the room was reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frncsyvtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
3.3 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
874 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
1.9 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#4 of 9 in Motherwell
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Strathclyde
2.3 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
2.2 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel

Address: 114 Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3DG, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
#3 Business Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range: £44 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel provides the magic near Motherwell! Built in 1891 as the private home for a member of a famous Scottish steel dynasty, our beautiful main building has held its charm and offers a unique, understated and timeless air of refinement to this day. The surroundings are undeniably chic, but the overall ambience remains humble enough to be homely. A "B" listed building within a local conservation area, BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel has built on its 19th century roots to meet 21st century needs and provides guests with classic character. We still have some of the original stained glass windows, and our hospitality is traditional and unintrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Motherwell
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing