We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, beautiful rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, beautiful rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with hubby for one night prior to watching son compete in a rowing regatta at Strathclyde Park. The room was lovely, well decorated and very clean. The breakfast was also delicious and the staff were very friendly. We didn't have our evening meal in the hotel as we fancied a curry but it was only a ten minute walk to the centre. A two minute drive took us to Strathclyde Park. This hotel is well situated and we would definitely recommend it. The only caution I would add is that, if you have any problem with stairs, that you make them aware of this when booking as there were a lot of stairs and I'm not sure if there was a lift.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BuzzyBeeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    112
    26
    14
    14
See reviews for
79
121
19
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business.
The staff were very friendly & helpful.
The room was really lovely, clean & the bed was very comfy!
I had a lovely meal & breakfast in the restaurant.
Overall a really great stay & would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank toetoes84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I hired the function suite for a surprise 30th birthday party on Saturday 12th April 2014 and was delighted with the service we received from start to finish. We met with the General Manager, Gordon Brown 1 week before the party to organise the buffet and accommodation. I found his service to be very helpful and not in any way pushy for us to purchase any extra services from the hotel as we had our own DJ, photographer and birthday cake. We were allowed into the hotel early morning to set up the function suite with all the party posters and balloons. The buffet food was excellent in particular the mini steak pies and the staff could not have been any more attentive. The hotel has recently been refurbished and we all had lovely comfortable rooms and enjoyed a cooked breakfast in the morning. If I had one comment it would be the amount of food we had left over was taken away and binned very quickly. We could have been asked if we wanted to take any of the leftovers home. That said it would just have made us more greedy. The function suite is beautiful and ideal for our party of 50+ guests. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a function

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

What a beautiful place, The decor is stunning and a really smart hotel,but sadly i honestly could not say the same for the food. Our group had a good meal here last year and it was fine but not now . We recently had lunch and were so dissappointed. Not one of our group finished the meal and staff who were courteous and polite were informed that we did not enjoy our meal.
There was no apology from the staff or no reduction on the bill. We wont be rushing back here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARYANNT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here for one night 15th february with my son and one of my looked after children, after having to move from the Old Mill Motherwell(dont go near It) The Moorings Hotel was absolutely stunning , immaculate and really friendly. The rooms were beautiful and the restuartant was amazing . Great service all round would HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE MOORINGS HOTEL also the staff in the restuarant were really nice , the girls that done the breakfast were so friendly and chatty and made us so welcome

Room Tip: The whole hotel has a lovely atmosphere when you walk in , it is spotless and the resturant is well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our family had dinner here Monday 3rd March. The first impression was one of welcome and spaciousness in the dining room. We were served by attentive staff who were well informed about the contents of the menu. The menu was varied and provided good choices. Our meals came promptly and were well presented and carefully prepared, care had been taken to ensure that each plate had been prepared just prior to delivery. The onion rings were outstanding. Well done!! A new addition to our dining repertoire.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I visited this hotel for a meal which was horrendous. Staff have horrible table manners, sit around the bar drinking tea/coffee and chatting instead of 'working'. We waited10/15 mins for someone to come and take our order, when the food eventually came it was cold and my partner ended up with a dodgy stomach. We were also given dirty cutlery which had to be replaced twice! When asked for the bill it came about 20 minutes later and we were charged for drinks we didn't have. The "manager" was very unhelpful, no apology..nothing! He couldn't rush us out the door fast enough. Would I go back here? - never again. Would I recommend anyone to dine here? No!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Motherwell hotels
3.3 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#8 of 9 in Motherwell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
2.2 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
2.3 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Address: 114 Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3DG, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
#3 Business Hotel in Motherwell
#3 Family Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel provides the magic near Motherwell! Built in 1891 as the private home for a member of a famous Scottish steel dynasty, our beautiful main building has held its charm and offers a unique, understated and timeless air of refinement to this day. The surroundings are undeniably chic, but the overall ambience remains humble enough to be homely. A "B" listed building within a local conservation area, BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel has built on its 19th century roots to meet 21st century needs and provides guests with classic character. We still have some of the original stained glass windows, and our hospitality is traditional and unintrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Motherwell
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing