We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alona Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$78
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dakota Eurocentral(Motherwell)
US$110
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bentley Hotel(Motherwell)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Glasgow (Motherwell) Hotel(Motherwell)(Great Value!)
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
216
163
46
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
163
46
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstheme parkcomplimentary glass of wineafternoon teastrathclyde parkon arrivalcar parkwet roomm dssconesrecommend this hotel to anyonewedding venuewalk in showerground floorlovely hotelblack puddingsuperior roomfriendly receptionist
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for a wedding in August 2013: lovely setting and food, great service. Good bar for residents. There could however be a choice of low fat milk in the rooms for tea and coffee though rather than just whole milk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KH_57-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest
thank you for your positive comments. The marquee is a great setting for weddings with plenty of space for large numbers. I am pleased you found the quality of food and the standard of service to be very good and that it really enhanced the wedding.
Thank you again for your comments
Kind Regards Ian Donnachie General Manager Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Having spent three nights at the Alona Hotel I was impressed how helpful and efficient the young staff of this hotel were. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and comfortable. As I had gone on a coach tour there was a set menu, but very adequate. The dining room was very pleasant with views of the Strathclyde Country Park, where some of the event of the 2014 Commonwealth Games are to be held so I am sure the Hotel will do very well with the service they are able to achieve.

Room Tip: Not on the ground floor as you cannot open your window if it is really hot. Weddings are held at the hotel which if windows are open at the back, music can be heard.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your very kind remarks. The staff do work hard and provide a warm and friendly environment for our guests to relax in. We always stive to meet every request made of us and i am sure that this enhances the guest stay.
thank you again for writjing this positive comments
Kind Regards
Ian Donnachie, General Manager Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Usually stay at the Holiday Inn next door as much cheeper and this hotel is always full, now I know why. Stunning location by the lake the fun fair is next door and the rooms were very modern and contemporary. The breakfast was good quality and the staff were busy but very attentive. Will definitely return.






  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballyconnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights with a coach party.
It was half board basis.
The hotel is adjacent to a country park, a small theme park, and is over the road from a loch.
Our room was lovely, comfy bed, a sofa and a chair. Nicely decorated and very clean, as were all of the common areas.
Breakfasts were the usual buffet type.
As we were with a coach party we had our own dinner menu. The food was of a very good standard.
The bar area incorporated the restaurant and a small area with sofas.
There was a wedding on when we got there, but we didn't notice any disruption to other guests.
The only noises we heard were people coming and going, as our room overlooked the main enterance / drop off point.
Staff seemed fine (we didn't have a lot to do with them as we were out a lot and we didn't have any queries or questions anyway).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Without a doubt the best hotel in the area!
The staff are great,
Gary on reception deserves a special mention he's a star and always makes you feel at home,
The food is excellent and the restaurant is bright and comfortable with nice views across the loch.... can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank china_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews