We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but the room was too hot and too noisy!”
Review of The Alona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alona Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good hotel but the room was too hot and too noisy!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Superior double room at the rear of the hotel - Business stay:

Plus points: Modern decor and comfy bed. Wet room was well stocked with shower miniatures. Excellent service from the reception/restaurant staff. Fantastic food served by the on-site restaurant. Room was clean and tidy.

Negative points: The room was far too warm even with all of the heaters switched off and there was no air con - I opened the window hoping the mayflies wouldn't enter, but was faced with a different problem... Noise. On the first night loud cars raced around the rear car park into the early hours of the morning. On night two a wedding party played loud music into the early hours of the morning. The window blocked out some of the noise but this meant I woke up both mornings in a room the temperature of a sauna! I couldn't understand why the room was so warm, but this certainly needs rectifying. Both nights sleep were terrible. The wifi was so slow in my room it was unusable. The hair dryer wasn't powerful enough. No plug sockets close to the bed.

Overall, my stay was spoiled by two poor nights of sleep so at this point I wouldn't recommend to friends/colleagues.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colec3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your very positive comments regarding the standards and service you experienced in the Alona Hotel. We are very pleased that you found the food to be of good quality and the staff were friendly and efficient in the service they provided.
We are sorry you were disturbed by the cars in the adjacent car park however this car park is not under our control and try as we do the cars causing the disturbance have usually left before the authorities can apprehend them. The wedding party on your second night finished on midnight as we do understand that those guests not attending would prefer to sleep. No function midweek ends after midnight and the staff do try to alert the guests of the possibility of disturbance either at the time of booking or on arrival. Again every effort is made to keep this disturbance to a minimum.
We do very much value your comments and will make every endeavour to minimise the disturbance to our non function guests whom we value very much.
Kind regards
ian donnachie, General manager Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    153
    40
    23
    20
See reviews for
113
113
17
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Decided to try here for lunch and just had a hunch it would be good.

Good prices, friendly staff, lovely food and nice outlook on the loch.

It was very difficult to find fault with any part of the experience and most certainly we will be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank russell4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your very kind response and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the alona Hotel. Strathclyde loch is a very beautiful spot and it is possible to let the world go by as you sit and look over the loch. Thank you for your visit and we trust that we will welcome you again soon
Kind Regards
Ian donnachie General Manager Alona hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend are just back from a night at this hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised! The hotel and staff are lovely, the rooms are very clean and spacious and have everything in it you could possibly need!. The food in resteraunt is very yummy and very reasonably priced, there was also a band playing the night we were there playing swing music. They gave the place A great atmosphere! . Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and iy was very good value for money. . We will return!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura1480968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at The Alona Hotel. The swing band on a saturday night gives the restaurant a lovely ambience and is regularly commented on. The housekeeping team do a great job and keep the rooms immaculate so that our guests can be assured of the cleanliness of the rooms they are using.
Thank you for your comments and we trust we will have the pleasure of your company again soon.
Kind Regards
ian donnachie, General manager, Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

My brother's wedding reception was held here in March. The place was decorated lovely, all the staff that I spoke to on the day were very helpful. The meal was very nice. The hotel rooms are a good size, beds very comfortable. The breakfast was buffet style, continental options and also a variety of hot items (full english)
All in all we had a great day!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank louise_cfc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to write to tell us about your positive experience of attending your brother's wedding at the Alona Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the whole experience and that you found the staff to be helpful and polite as they went about their businesss. The Marquee is a great room to hold a wedding in and provides a great backcloth to the evening celebration.
Thank you again for your positive comments
Kind Regards
Ian Donnachie, general Manager, Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

When you first see the hotel it is not easy on the eye, a bit like a glass spaceship. However check in was relatively simple and the room (119) was on the ground floor at the far end of the corridor. The room it self was very nicely decked out(unfortunately a twin but that was all that was left so not the hotels fault) clean and functional with a nice wet room. There were however a couple of gripes. Don't advertise wi-fi if it doesn't really work. It took the best part of an hour to download a couple of emails and don't even think about trying to surf the web. The other thing was the room temperature, it was like a sauna but with no possibility of turning it down. I mentioned it on checking out and the girl smiled and said that several people had commented on this, but it didn't seem like anyone was going to change it.
The bar/restaurant area is a bit oddly laid out but the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent and reasonably priced.
On reflection would I book here again? If the wi-fi and heating aren't sorted out then probably not. There is a Holiday Inn a few hundred yards away so there are other options. By the way the title Glass House was given because one of the staff said that's what they call it...

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LevingtonJed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive comments regarding the Hotel and the quality of food that we offer. We have good standards and try to enhance the customer experience wherever we can. The rooms are hot as the Hotel is well built and the insulation in the bedrooms is particularly good. I am suprised at your comments regarding the heating as every radiator is self regulated to allow the guests to adjust the temperature in your room to your liking. I will check with maintenance to ensure the thermostat is in good working order. I will also have the WIFI checked as it is a service we like to offer free of charge in the Hotel but it needs to run at a decent speed.
Thank you again for your comments
Kind Regards Ian donnachie general Manager Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Alona Hotel 20th March - 21st March 2014. Was at the hotel at a friends wedding on November 2013 never stayed the night tho. But did on this occasion and the hotel is stunning the quality of rooms and service provided!! Staff are so welcoming and friendly! Stayed at a lot of hotels but none compared to this! Ian and his staff have a great team and service/quality they provide!! Thanks!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Livingston2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your response to your experience at the Alona Hotel. We are very much a team and I trust that it comes across as we serve our guests. Weddings are our speciality and we take a pride in the quality of service and the personal attention that we bring to each function. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again
Kind regards Ian donnachie general manager alona hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

In the centre of Strathclyde Country park you will find the Alona Hotel.
A beautiful setting and a nice change to stay in when working.
The staff are friendly and remember you each day. The chef even went out and bought me Skimmed milk for the week... very impressive.
The bedroom was clean, relaxing and homely. my only complaint was that it was too warm in the room ( I know Scotland in March... yes really!)... so I turned the radiator off, and the maid kept turning it back on...! it made me smile and that's me just being picky.
Loved the Tunnocks caramel bar everyday on the tea/coffee tray - brilliant touch.
Add in a macaroon and some Irn bru and people will be queuing to stay here!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randasgettingthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
dear Guest
Thank you for your comments and your idea about macaroon and irn bru is a really good one but I think we might have problems keeping the staff on a balanced diet. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and you found the Hotel to be a little different and identified as an independent. I am delighted with the staff and they do go out their way to enhance your stay and meet your requirements. Thank you again for your comments
Kind Regards ian donnachie general manager alona hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
830 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
635 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alona Hotel

Property: The Alona Hotel
Address: Strathclyde Country Park Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3WB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Business Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Family Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Alona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alona Hotel Motherwell
The Alona Hotel Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing