We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alona Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dakota Eurocentral(Motherwell)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bentley Hotel(Motherwell)
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Glasgow (Motherwell) Hotel(Motherwell)(Great Value!)
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
217
165
49
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
165
49
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstheme parkcomplimentary glass of wineafternoon teastrathclyde parkon arrivalcar parkwet roomm dssconesrecommend this hotel to anyonewedding venuewalk in showerground floorlovely hotelblack puddingsuperior roomfriendly receptionist
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I originally booked an evening meal at the hotel as a family get together for my 50th Birthday, my wife as a surprise gift last minute booking at the hotel for the long weekend and we stayed 3 nights. I can only say that we had a great time for the weekend and at the Hotel. There was an admin error which meant that we didn't actually get the exact pre-selected meal we had organised since January, it was slightly annoying but to be fair to the manageress on the evening, they were apologetic and helped sort it and everyone still enjoyed the meal and evening. A mark of a good hotel is the staff and customer service and at the Alona Hotel this was really good. They had realised they had made an error and had already taken off a discount of the meal which I was happy with, so fair play, this is exactly what you expect of a 4 star hotel. There was minor heating problem in the room when we checked in but in the morning when we reported it at breakfast it was fixed before we returned to our room, so again showing good response and customer service to fix a simple fault (boiler had tripped)

I can only say we had a great time and given the small errors above this did not reflect the fact that the Alona is very good hotel. We had a double room at the back of the hotel but the room was very comfortable and spacious with good modern decor and other than the initial heating problem we had no further problems and really enjoyed the quiet. The Glasshouse Restaurant is certainly worth a visit, like I said we had the pre-selected meal and all 18 of us thoroughly enjoyed the meal with no complaints at all. It was warm and all served at the same time with friendly and attentive waiting service. The breakfast is self service with normal choice including haggis, well, black pudding and haggis on the same breakfast plate, good enough for me,,,,, overall I would stay again and would thoroughly recommend it for romantic breaks.

Room Tip: Room was booked online but don't let this put you off, give the hotel a call and rooms were available and my wife says she got the room for the same rate as the online price.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Superior double room at the rear of the hotel - Business stay:

Plus points: Modern decor and comfy bed. Wet room was well stocked with shower miniatures. Excellent service from the reception/restaurant staff. Fantastic food served by the on-site restaurant. Room was clean and tidy.

Negative points: The room was far too warm even with all of the heaters switched off and there was no air con - I opened the window hoping the mayflies wouldn't enter, but was faced with a different problem... Noise. On the first night loud cars raced around the rear car park into the early hours of the morning. On night two a wedding party played loud music into the early hours of the morning. The window blocked out some of the noise but this meant I woke up both mornings in a room the temperature of a sauna! I couldn't understand why the room was so warm, but this certainly needs rectifying. Both nights sleep were terrible. The wifi was so slow in my room it was unusable. The hair dryer wasn't powerful enough. No plug sockets close to the bed.

Overall, my stay was spoiled by two poor nights of sleep so at this point I wouldn't recommend to friends/colleagues.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colec3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your very positive comments regarding the standards and service you experienced in the Alona Hotel. We are very pleased that you found the food to be of good quality and the staff were friendly and efficient in the service they provided.
We are sorry you were disturbed by the cars in the adjacent car park however this car park is not under our control and try as we do the cars causing the disturbance have usually left before the authorities can apprehend them. The wedding party on your second night finished on midnight as we do understand that those guests not attending would prefer to sleep. No function midweek ends after midnight and the staff do try to alert the guests of the possibility of disturbance either at the time of booking or on arrival. Again every effort is made to keep this disturbance to a minimum.
We do very much value your comments and will make every endeavour to minimise the disturbance to our non function guests whom we value very much.
Kind regards
ian donnachie, General manager Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Decided to try here for lunch and just had a hunch it would be good.

Good prices, friendly staff, lovely food and nice outlook on the loch.

It was very difficult to find fault with any part of the experience and most certainly we will be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank russell4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your very kind response and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the alona Hotel. Strathclyde loch is a very beautiful spot and it is possible to let the world go by as you sit and look over the loch. Thank you for your visit and we trust that we will welcome you again soon
Kind Regards
Ian donnachie General Manager Alona hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend are just back from a night at this hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised! The hotel and staff are lovely, the rooms are very clean and spacious and have everything in it you could possibly need!. The food in resteraunt is very yummy and very reasonably priced, there was also a band playing the night we were there playing swing music. They gave the place A great atmosphere! . Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and iy was very good value for money. . We will return!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura1480968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at The Alona Hotel. The swing band on a saturday night gives the restaurant a lovely ambience and is regularly commented on. The housekeeping team do a great job and keep the rooms immaculate so that our guests can be assured of the cleanliness of the rooms they are using.
Thank you for your comments and we trust we will have the pleasure of your company again soon.
Kind Regards
ian donnachie, General manager, Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

My brother's wedding reception was held here in March. The place was decorated lovely, all the staff that I spoke to on the day were very helpful. The meal was very nice. The hotel rooms are a good size, beds very comfortable. The breakfast was buffet style, continental options and also a variety of hot items (full english)
All in all we had a great day!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank louise_cfc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to write to tell us about your positive experience of attending your brother's wedding at the Alona Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the whole experience and that you found the staff to be helpful and polite as they went about their businesss. The Marquee is a great room to hold a wedding in and provides a great backcloth to the evening celebration.
Thank you again for your positive comments
Kind Regards
Ian Donnachie, general Manager, Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews