We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alona Hotel”
Review of The Alona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alona Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Alona Hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A lovely location seems like the country and useful for the industrial parks. The food was superb as was the restaurant service. Also the reception upon arrival was faultless and incredibly helpful. A pleasure all round and the complimentary glass of wine was a nice touch

Room Tip: I had room 109 close to reception and the mobile reception was non-existent. In the reception it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    153
    40
    23
    20
See reviews for
113
113
17
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Had my wedding here on the 27th March and if I'm honest I've been putting off my review. This, however, is only because I have no idea how I'm going to do the venue and staff justice, but here goes!!

The first thing you'll notice when you visit about the Alona is its setting, with Strathclyde Park Loch in front and M and D's to the side, photo wise its a dream mix of picturesque and FUN!!!

On the lead up Margaret, Ian and Helen made everything so easy and fun. No concern was too trivial and all requests were looked into and answered in a flash. This meant that when it came to day itself I could relax in the knowledge that everything would be done.........and it was.

Myself and a few friends and family stayed the night before, we had a very tasty meal and a few drinks in the lounge. Great service and as we were staying as late as we choose. Room was a great size and bed uber comfy.

The day itself was, in a word, flawless. The marquee looked stunning and everything coordinated beautifully with my colour scheme. The package included cake, chair covers, cars, table centres and top table flowers so it was stress free. The turn around between service and meal then meal and reception where so slick that most of my guests didn't even notice!! All the food from canapés to deserts were delicious and wine was constantly flowing. Helen even took the left over buffet food through to the lounge for my wedding hotel residents to enjoy with their "one for the road"!! Thank you to all the staff, you were womderful

Brides seeking a truly personalised, stress free, magical day, check out the, exquisitely beautiful, Alona. xxx

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Carly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I originally booked an evening meal at the hotel as a family get together for my 50th Birthday, my wife as a surprise gift last minute booking at the hotel for the long weekend and we stayed 3 nights. I can only say that we had a great time for the weekend and at the Hotel. There was an admin error which meant that we didn't actually get the exact pre-selected meal we had organised since January, it was slightly annoying but to be fair to the manageress on the evening, they were apologetic and helped sort it and everyone still enjoyed the meal and evening. A mark of a good hotel is the staff and customer service and at the Alona Hotel this was really good. They had realised they had made an error and had already taken off a discount of the meal which I was happy with, so fair play, this is exactly what you expect of a 4 star hotel. There was minor heating problem in the room when we checked in but in the morning when we reported it at breakfast it was fixed before we returned to our room, so again showing good response and customer service to fix a simple fault (boiler had tripped)

I can only say we had a great time and given the small errors above this did not reflect the fact that the Alona is very good hotel. We had a double room at the back of the hotel but the room was very comfortable and spacious with good modern decor and other than the initial heating problem we had no further problems and really enjoyed the quiet. The Glasshouse Restaurant is certainly worth a visit, like I said we had the pre-selected meal and all 18 of us thoroughly enjoyed the meal with no complaints at all. It was warm and all served at the same time with friendly and attentive waiting service. The breakfast is self service with normal choice including haggis, well, black pudding and haggis on the same breakfast plate, good enough for me,,,,, overall I would stay again and would thoroughly recommend it for romantic breaks.

Room Tip: Room was booked online but don't let this put you off, give the hotel a call and rooms were avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Superior double room at the rear of the hotel - Business stay:

Plus points: Modern decor and comfy bed. Wet room was well stocked with shower miniatures. Excellent service from the reception/restaurant staff. Fantastic food served by the on-site restaurant. Room was clean and tidy.

Negative points: The room was far too warm even with all of the heaters switched off and there was no air con - I opened the window hoping the mayflies wouldn't enter, but was faced with a different problem... Noise. On the first night loud cars raced around the rear car park into the early hours of the morning. On night two a wedding party played loud music into the early hours of the morning. The window blocked out some of the noise but this meant I woke up both mornings in a room the temperature of a sauna! I couldn't understand why the room was so warm, but this certainly needs rectifying. Both nights sleep were terrible. The wifi was so slow in my room it was unusable. The hair dryer wasn't powerful enough. No plug sockets close to the bed.

Overall, my stay was spoiled by two poor nights of sleep so at this point I wouldn't recommend to friends/colleagues.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colec3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your very positive comments regarding the standards and service you experienced in the Alona Hotel. We are very pleased that you found the food to be of good quality and the staff were friendly and efficient in the service they provided.
We are sorry you were disturbed by the cars in the adjacent car park however this car park is not under our control and try as we do the cars causing the disturbance have usually left before the authorities can apprehend them. The wedding party on your second night finished on midnight as we do understand that those guests not attending would prefer to sleep. No function midweek ends after midnight and the staff do try to alert the guests of the possibility of disturbance either at the time of booking or on arrival. Again every effort is made to keep this disturbance to a minimum.
We do very much value your comments and will make every endeavour to minimise the disturbance to our non function guests whom we value very much.
Kind regards
ian donnachie, General manager Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Decided to try here for lunch and just had a hunch it would be good.

Good prices, friendly staff, lovely food and nice outlook on the loch.

It was very difficult to find fault with any part of the experience and most certainly we will be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank russell4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your very kind response and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the alona Hotel. Strathclyde loch is a very beautiful spot and it is possible to let the world go by as you sit and look over the loch. Thank you for your visit and we trust that we will welcome you again soon
Kind Regards
Ian donnachie General Manager Alona hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend are just back from a night at this hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised! The hotel and staff are lovely, the rooms are very clean and spacious and have everything in it you could possibly need!. The food in resteraunt is very yummy and very reasonably priced, there was also a band playing the night we were there playing swing music. They gave the place A great atmosphere! . Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and iy was very good value for money. . We will return!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura1480968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at The Alona Hotel. The swing band on a saturday night gives the restaurant a lovely ambience and is regularly commented on. The housekeeping team do a great job and keep the rooms immaculate so that our guests can be assured of the cleanliness of the rooms they are using.
Thank you for your comments and we trust we will have the pleasure of your company again soon.
Kind Regards
ian donnachie, General manager, Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

My brother's wedding reception was held here in March. The place was decorated lovely, all the staff that I spoke to on the day were very helpful. The meal was very nice. The hotel rooms are a good size, beds very comfortable. The breakfast was buffet style, continental options and also a variety of hot items (full english)
All in all we had a great day!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank louise_cfc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to write to tell us about your positive experience of attending your brother's wedding at the Alona Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the whole experience and that you found the staff to be helpful and polite as they went about their businesss. The Marquee is a great room to hold a wedding in and provides a great backcloth to the evening celebration.
Thank you again for your positive comments
Kind Regards
Ian Donnachie, general Manager, Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
831 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
635 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alona Hotel

Property: The Alona Hotel
Address: Strathclyde Country Park Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3WB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Business Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Family Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Alona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alona Hotel Motherwell
The Alona Hotel Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing