We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotels don't come better than this”
Review of The Alona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Alona Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hotels don't come better than this”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just returned from a wonderful five night stay. Staff friendly and helpful far beyond the call of duty. Excellent menu which is very reasonably priced for a four-star hotel. The staff are all happy in their jobs and it shows in the customer service.

There is an excellent accessible bedroom with wide doors. On making the booking in January, we commented that a shower over the bath isn't really appropriate in a disabled room - what is a wheelchair user to do? Management agreed, and offered to install a proper disabled wet room with wheel-in shower, grab rails and raised loo, in time for our stay. This was done, and I think we were the first customers to use it. Wonderful! Customer service doesn't come better than this!

Lovely location, just off the M74 with easy access to Glasgow. The hotel is on the edge of a loch with a tarmac path all round it (4 miles). Only complaint - the hotel is far too far from home for us to return as often as we would like!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    148
    39
    23
    20
See reviews for
107
110
17
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel this weekend and was very impressed the staff and the assistant manager are some of the nicest,welcoming people we have ever met!
The hotel has amazing food and the best facility's.
In beautiful surrounds see you all in august thanks for making our stay so fantastic

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETERKEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

For a start this is not an ideal getaway if that's what your looking for its next to a noisy show park!! First impressions of hotel were ok BUT our room was absolutely stinking of smoke and had fag ash on the seat in the bedroom had to change rooms!!! Went to bed early as there was nothing to do and got woke up twice by fire alarms!!!! Obv people smoking again!! Never got back to sleep!!!! Feel more stressed than de stressed! Said to the receptionist in the morning she said sorry guys go home and get some rest!! Eh hello that's why we went to the hotel! Please don't go here cheap and chavvy!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Colourmehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience on your recent stay with us. I very much regret that you were inconvenienced by having to move rooms due to the room not being as clean as it should have been. I have already taken this issue up with the Housekeepers as we pride ourselves in the cleanliness of the Hotel.
Although the Hotel is situated next to the theme Park which you would expect to be noisy on a Saturday it in no way intrudes on the Hotel. Despite there being great numbers in the Park the Hotel still enjoys a peaceful and tranquil atmosphere. Many of our guests enjoy the scenery from the restaurant while they order afternoon tea.
The Fire alarm is there for the guest safety and although inconvenient there are a number of things that can set it off. The guests in the bedroom were not smoking and no evidence of smoke or ash was found in their room which I inspected when the alarm went off.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Kind Regards
Ian Donnachie, General Manager Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Great night at hotel again staff are so friendly and polite. Had excellent service from all staff at the Alona. Meals were superb excellent meals served Aswell. Slight problem with room but couldn't fault anything other than that with this hotel. Top marks to female management that was present and all staff who were on duty highly recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Livingston2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A lovely location seems like the country and useful for the industrial parks. The food was superb as was the restaurant service. Also the reception upon arrival was faultless and incredibly helpful. A pleasure all round and the complimentary glass of wine was a nice touch

Room Tip: I had room 109 close to reception and the mobile reception was non-existent. In the reception it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Had my wedding here on the 27th March and if I'm honest I've been putting off my review. This, however, is only because I have no idea how I'm going to do the venue and staff justice, but here goes!!

The first thing you'll notice when you visit about the Alona is its setting, with Strathclyde Park Loch in front and M and D's to the side, photo wise its a dream mix of picturesque and FUN!!!

On the lead up Margaret, Ian and Helen made everything so easy and fun. No concern was too trivial and all requests were looked into and answered in a flash. This meant that when it came to day itself I could relax in the knowledge that everything would be done.........and it was.

Myself and a few friends and family stayed the night before, we had a very tasty meal and a few drinks in the lounge. Great service and as we were staying as late as we choose. Room was a great size and bed uber comfy.

The day itself was, in a word, flawless. The marquee looked stunning and everything coordinated beautifully with my colour scheme. The package included cake, chair covers, cars, table centres and top table flowers so it was stress free. The turn around between service and meal then meal and reception where so slick that most of my guests didn't even notice!! All the food from canapés to deserts were delicious and wine was constantly flowing. Helen even took the left over buffet food through to the lounge for my wedding hotel residents to enjoy with their "one for the road"!! Thank you to all the staff, you were womderful

Brides seeking a truly personalised, stress free, magical day, check out the, exquisitely beautiful, Alona. xxx

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Carly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, Cornwall
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I originally booked an evening meal at the hotel as a family get together for my 50th Birthday, my wife as a surprise gift last minute booking at the hotel for the long weekend and we stayed 3 nights. I can only say that we had a great time for the weekend and at the Hotel. There was an admin error which meant that we didn't actually get the exact pre-selected meal we had organised since January, it was slightly annoying but to be fair to the manageress on the evening, they were apologetic and helped sort it and everyone still enjoyed the meal and evening. A mark of a good hotel is the staff and customer service and at the Alona Hotel this was really good. They had realised they had made an error and had already taken off a discount of the meal which I was happy with, so fair play, this is exactly what you expect of a 4 star hotel. There was minor heating problem in the room when we checked in but in the morning when we reported it at breakfast it was fixed before we returned to our room, so again showing good response and customer service to fix a simple fault (boiler had tripped)

I can only say we had a great time and given the small errors above this did not reflect the fact that the Alona is very good hotel. We had a double room at the back of the hotel but the room was very comfortable and spacious with good modern decor and other than the initial heating problem we had no further problems and really enjoyed the quiet. The Glasshouse Restaurant is certainly worth a visit, like I said we had the pre-selected meal and all 18 of us thoroughly enjoyed the meal with no complaints at all. It was warm and all served at the same time with friendly and attentive waiting service. The breakfast is self service with normal choice including haggis, well, black pudding and haggis on the same breakfast plate, good enough for me,,,,, overall I would stay again and would thoroughly recommend it for romantic breaks.

Room Tip: Room was booked online but don't let this put you off, give the hotel a call and rooms were avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
0.4 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
3.3 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alona Hotel

Property: The Alona Hotel
Address: Strathclyde Country Park Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3WB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Family Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alona Hotel Motherwell
The Alona Hotel Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing