We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alona Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn(Hamilton)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bentley Hotel(Motherwell)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
216
163
46
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
163
46
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstheme parkcomplimentary glass of wineafternoon teastrathclyde parkon arrivalcar parkwet roomm dssconesrecommend this hotel to anyonewedding venuewalk in showerground floorlovely hotelblack puddingsuperior roomfriendly receptionist
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Three of us went for afternoon tea on Sunday . Despite a wedding in progress no holdup. Choice of tea /coffee and great amount of brown/white sandwiches with mixed enjoyable fillings. Then large heated fruit scones, with cream, jam and hotel made cakes. Asked for water and got jug of iced .....free. All very enjoyable for under £8 per person.
Staff extremely friendly, polite and Wayne stood out...a pleasant young man.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank JC154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our afternoon tea. I agree the price is very good at £7.95 and the staff are friendly without being intrusive. Thank you for dining with us and please visit us again soon
Kind Regards
ian Donnachie General Manager Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lovely welcome at reception. Complimentary glass of wine offered on arrival a nice touch. Superb, spotless room. Toiletries good quality. Staff very professional, pleasant and helpful. Lovely bar area. Breakfast great choice and plentiful.


Definitely one to re visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of the bedrooms. The housekeeping staff do work very hard and the result is very clean and fresh bedrooms which are regularly highlighted by our guests. The toiletries are also of a good standard enhancing the stay of our guests. We do thank you again for your positive comments and for choosing to stay at the Alona Hotel

kind regards ian Donnachie General Manager Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have previously stayed at this hotel and enjoyed it the first time so thought that we would try again. We were not disappointed the staff were lovely and helpful and extremely pleasant. This is second time we have tried the lazy Sunday deal and it is a good deal

Room Tip: The rooms we have stayed have all been perfect
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments and I do agree that the Lazy Sunday deal is very good value for money. For only £99 to afternoon tea,dinner,newspaper,glass of wine and bed and breakfast is great value. Thank you for choosing to stay again and we look forward to meeting you again soon
Kind regards ian donnachie General manager Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Visited here for a mid week catch up with friends. A couple of negatives like the waitress not being particularly friendly, waiting 10 minutes for drinks then having to remind them that we had ordered and the noodles dish being soaked in oil so it was almost inedible.

However, it is a nice cosy restaurant, it had a good atmosphere for a mid week night and the toffee sauce I asked for with my ice cream was delicious!

It isn't cheap though so I think they need to make improvements but I will go back in the future to give it another chance!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Julzy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at the Alona Hotel. I am disappointed that your drinks order did not arrive as quickly as it should and I will certainly look into.the reason why. I am glad that overall your experience was positive and i am sure that on your return the improvemnt will be marked. Thank youn again for dining with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards ian Donnachie general Manager Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just returned from a wonderful five night stay. Staff friendly and helpful far beyond the call of duty. Excellent menu which is very reasonably priced for a four-star hotel. The staff are all happy in their jobs and it shows in the customer service.

There is an excellent accessible bedroom with wide doors. On making the booking in January, we commented that a shower over the bath isn't really appropriate in a disabled room - what is a wheelchair user to do? Management agreed, and offered to install a proper disabled wet room with wheel-in shower, grab rails and raised loo, in time for our stay. This was done, and I think we were the first customers to use it. Wonderful! Customer service doesn't come better than this!

Lovely location, just off the M74 with easy access to Glasgow. The hotel is on the edge of a loch with a tarmac path all round it (4 miles). Only complaint - the hotel is far too far from home for us to return as often as we would like!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews