We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dogs not welcome” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Alona Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Dogs not welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We visited on Sunday, hoping for afternoon tea or something like that. It was my mother's fourth day out of the house this year, so it was disappointing that we could not be accommodated in any way, as we had 2 well behaved clean dogs with us.

We could have been served outdoors in the pouring rain, which wasn't very inviting.

Given its location in Strathclyde Park, you might expect that it would be possible for canines to be permitted into the bar. There must be lots of people who go there to walk and would like a refreshment afterwards.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tabith t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Visitor
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Alona Hotel. We only have a policy of not allowing dogs into an area where their is food being served in doors. Unfortunately as the lounge area, the restaurant area and the kitchen are all open plan and merge one into the other, we have taken the decision to not allow dog access to these areas. However should a guest wish to stay overnight with their dog in the bedroom then they would be more than welcome. Guests who have the need of dogs for guidance are of course permitted to the restaurant.

Yours sincerely
Ian Donnachie, General manager, Alona hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    146
    39
    22
    20
See reviews for
104
110
17
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire,England
Level Contributor
358 reviews
258 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our second time at the restaurant, I think it needs a name of it's own and would get near 100% on reviews as the quality of the food is superb and so unexpected at such a location. The restaurant has improved service since our last visit, still fresh and natural but more efficient and the pricing is good, nice sitting area for snacks or pre or post dinner - well done team I don't give out 5 stars very often but this hit all the right spots for me, perhaps some real ales if only bottled they do make them in Scotland you know!

Room Tip: I only used the restaurant I think the public car park causes the irritations so try to get the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your very kind review. The chef and his team work hard and deserve the praise that you refer to in your review. We are often thanked for the food we serve and it is good for the team of chefs to here your remarks.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again
Kind Regards
Ian Donnachie, General Manager Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

A family funeral saw the family (husband and two boys 15 & 12) heading for Glasgow on short notice. We came across this hotel on tripadvisor and gave them a call where, on hearing about the reason for the trip, they offered us a discount on the room price. They also gave good advice on how many could fit in a room and this confirmed that our desire for two rooms adjoining was probably for the best. In practice this was spot on as my two boys loved being in their own room away from mum and dad with their own stash of complimentary hot chocolate and chocolate bars. We are not what I would call a fussy family so we don't need much to keep us happy but I would like to think that the more "particular" customer would struggle to find fault with this hotel and the excellent staff. Indeed the staff are what really make the difference at the Alona hotel. Here are some of the best points of our short but enjoyable stay:

Check-in
Dave on the front counter was the person who took my booking a few days earlier and clearly remembered me and the reason for my visit. This is obviously something that is good in the hotel business but not always something you get in hotels with high turnover and multi rooms so this was a nice professional touch.

Rooms
Very nice rooms with a comfy bed. Adjoining rooms were excellent and the kids had great fun with the electronic key cards and we had to drag them out of the showers they were that good. Some of the little extras were excellent with the best being the complimentary shoe shine kit in one of the drawers. I was just finishing ticking off my husband for not packing shoe polish (bit unfair as it is not something I usually expect to take on trips) after despairing at the state of my boys school shoes when I opened a drawer to find exactly what I was after and proceeded to repair the damage that many a game of football had wrought on their shoes.

Another nice touch was pointed out to me by my husband who on taking a shower was expecting to have to wait for the mirror to clear of moisture so he could shave only to find that part of the large mirror was heated and he could get straight to it. Really good as we were on a tight timeline.

Finding the bar
On asking the Dave at reception where the bar was he came back with an excellent counter question of "would you like a complimentary glass of White or red wine?". A man who knows his customers obviously and we were soon unwinding after our six hour car journey in the bar with a rather nice Merlot.

Food
Both the meal at night and the breakfast in the morning were excellent and the service provided by the staff was personal but not intrusive. Both of my boys enjoyed their food as much as we did with empty plates to prove it. Compliments to the Chef.

In short this Hotel was just what we required and we only wish that we could have stayed longer and we have plans to return the next time we are visiting Glasgow to make use of the Theme Park right next door and maybe take a stroll next to the quickly glimpsed loch.

Thank you to the Alona Staff for making what could have been a difficult trip under the circumstances a much better one.

Room Tip: I am sure that noise may be an issue sometimes but we heard nothing and slept soundly. This probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Warning this hotel has a fair ground and discos. If you want a good nights sleep don't stay. There are guests walking around most of the night because thay cannot sleep due to the noise. Would we stay again no never. Did the manager call us as promised NO. There are better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBLNorthantsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay at the Alona Hotel. It is true that we have a Theme Park next to us which does contribute to the car parking being very busy at times but as the Outside Rides close at 6pm they do not cause any further inconvenience. We are also a very busy Hotel for functions and Weddings and the music from the disco does at times reach a level that it can be heard in the bedrooms. These levels are monitored and every effort is made to minimise the Hotel guests inconvenience either by allocating a front facing bedroom or by advising the guests beforehand. The music on the evening you stayed finished at midnight and the guests dispersed promptly. We always regret any inconvenience to our guests and are seeking ways to reduce this inconvenience. I was on duty that evening and do not recall any calls of complaint to reception even though the Hotel rooms were full. We do care about all our guests as you will see from the very many positive comments we have, even though we cater for so many functions. I do trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Thank you for staying with us and bringing these issues to my attention.
Kind Regards Ian Donnachie General manager Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night after celebrating at a wedding reception in their semi-permanent Function Suite.
The Alona Hotel is situated in Strathclyde Park just minutes off the M74 to Glasgow/the south and connects easily to the various motorways linking Scotland's cities. The building looks modern and well looked after. Service at check in was speedy even with 60 Chinese tourists in the queue ahead of us (we were attended to while the tour guide allocated rooms to his charges). We stayed in a superior room which was spotlessly clean and modern. Nice big wet room/toilet with a full bore shower. Free wifi, flat screen tv and tea/coffee making facilities plus Tunnocks Caramel Wafers instead of the usual tea biscuits. Large mirrors give a sense of space with two chairs and a coffee table for relaxing. The large double bed was not too firm and we both had an excellent sleep after the excesses of the wedding reception. Breakfast was self service and really good with enough of a choice to satisfy the biggest appetite. My only slight complaint would be that there weren't any sliced/Lorne sausages. Plenty of hot dishes with proper black pudding and haggis if wanted but no square sausage! I registered my slight complaint at reception so perhaps that will be rectified in future. Although the hotel was fairly full, the breakfast service was quick and no waiting. Check out again was quick and efficient. The hotel is next to M&D's Theme Park and therefore ideal for families. Miles of walking/cycling around the park and water activities on the loch itself. We didn't eat in the dinning room but ate in the Toby Restaurant at the entrance to the park which may be a better option for those on a budget. Special thanks to the hotel staff who helped when one of the wedding guests felt unwell during the evening.
The Function Suite is vast with plenty of room for dancing and making merry. The bar service was very efficient with plenty of bar staff so little queuing for drinks. The late snacks were also excellent. Would happily stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a centrally situated hotel. Transport required because of were it is situated but very handy for the motorway network.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very positive comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking apart from the lack of Lorne sausage on the breakfast menu. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards Ian Donnachie general manager Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

It’s hard to believe that this hotel is situated in the heartland of industrial Scotland being as it is in the beautiful Strathclyde Country Park at Motherwell. We stayed for one night, en route from Yorkshire to the North of Scotland which made the location, just five minutes from the M74, perfect. The Park is dominated by the Strathclyde Loch which is on the doorstep and there are great park and woodland walks within minutes of the hotel. On the night we stayed, there was a wedding function in the marquee at the rear of the hotel and the management kindly upgraded our room to be the furthest distance from the event and minimise any disturbance. In the event, we slept soundly. Good restaurant in the feature glass atrium which served an excellent breakfast. Our room was roomy, well-appointed with a comfortable bed. Staff were attentive and courteous. Overall, a good experience and great value for money.

Room Tip: This review based on a "Superior Double Room" - worth trying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HullDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
dear Guest
Thank you for commenting in a very kind manner after your stay with us at the Alona Hotel. I will pass on your comments to the staff about their friendly and courteous manner. Thank you for staying with us and would would be very pleased to welcome you again.Kind regards ian donnachie general manager alona hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is the first time I've stayed at the Alona, normally I stay at the Holiday Inn just up the road - however I was very impressed with the Alona, great location next to the lake and very quiet.
The restaurant was a little pricy by comparison, but the food was excellent. Breakfast was first class, hot and well presented.
Rooms were first class, well decorated and equipped to a high standard.

Great location for Glasgow, East Kilbride, Hamilton, etc. Would recommend this as an option over the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: I was told by a fellow guest that the rooms at the East side of the hotel apparently get very hot in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and for posting some very positive comments. We are pleased that you found the hotel to have friendly and helpful staff and that the location was suitable to you. thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon
kind regards ian donnachie general manager Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
0.4 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
1.1 mi away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
3.9 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alona Hotel

Property: The Alona Hotel
Address: Strathclyde Country Park Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3WB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Family Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Alona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alona Hotel Motherwell
The Alona Hotel Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing