We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY”
Review of The Alona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alona Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Arranged to meet old friends for lunch and a catch up chat. The 4 of us were favourably impressed by the service, the quality of the food and the overall atmosphere. Situated on the edge of the Strathclyde Country Park, the hotel is in an accessible location close to the main motorway M74 without the noise. After eating, we spent a long time talking with our friends and never felt the staff were pushing to clear the table. This was much appreciated by the 4 of us. It is now on our list for future use. Congratulations to the management and staff, excellent value!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jaytee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your very kind comments regarding the food quality and ambience of the Hotel. We have many guests like yourself that find it a convenient meeting place to catch up with your friends. We of course are delighted to welcome all our guests and if we can leave you undisturbed to right the world then of course we will.
Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again
Kind regards
ian Donnachie general manager Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    153
    40
    23
    20
See reviews for
113
113
17
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great day & night had by all. Staff very friendly all through the wedding untill morning. I will come to that later. Meal was lovely and was hot could not fault it one bit. I would say if you are having a funtion here guard your drinks as, if you get up to dance your drink is removed from the table even when your glass is not empty. This happened on numerious times througout the night. The rooms are spotless and very spacious. Then comes morning I go down to breakfast wait to be seated the girl asked whats your name told her then she asked what room are you in told her and her reply to me was you have two children in your room yes i said they are comming down in a little while . Oh you need the children WHAT: I turned and left the room. I later went back and was seated by a very nice lady who said sorry for the other girl.All i can say is your bar and restaraunt staff need re trained. The lady on reception in the morning was lovely and couldnt do enough for the children. Last but not least, If you are going to book a wedding for 2 O'clock you will not get into your rooms untill 2.30pm-3.00 What good is that when you have people traveling a long distance and want to change in the hotel before the wedding instead of having to travel in your outfit and get it all crushed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Ann G
Thank you for holding your wedding at the Alona Hotel and I am very pleased that your wedding was a great success. I also value your other comments and would advise that the waitress that you met at breakfast has left the Hotel and should never have said the things she did. As regards access to the rooms, it can be very difficult to get early check ins as often the Hotel is full the night before and although we try to get the wedding rooms ready first, it can be difficult to get through them all in time for wedding guests arriving. Hence we do not make any guarantee other than access from 2pm which is our check-in time.
Thank you again for your comments
Kind Regards
ian donnachie,general Manager Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were on a package trip to the Military Tattoo and the Alona was our designated hotel, We received a good welcome and were quickly checked in. Our room on the second floor overlooked the car park no problem there. It was a large twin room with a walk in shower.For the evening meal we chose the lentil and bacon soup-very nice but the melon was a bit on the boring side, we chose smoked haddock in a creamy leek sauce-wonderful, with fresh vegatables, sticky toffee pudding was very nice but would have been great with a bit of cream or ice cream with it. Breakfast is good, fresh with plenty of choice and very smiley staff all very attentive. There is a theme park behind the hotel, which closed reasonably early so again no problems. Saturday night there was a wedding on, in the marquee just to the side of the car park- could be an issue but in all fairness although noisy as we walked in, didnt prove to be a problem, and we slept with the window open. The bar prices are about average for a hotel so no nasty suprises there. The hotel is opposite a huge lake - great for an early morning walk.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetteSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. We are pleased with the quality of food that is provided by the chefs and the waitress staff provide a friendly and efficient service.
The Hotel is located in the middle of Strathclyde park which makes it ideal for those who enjoy a brisk walk or the peaceful quietness of the countryside.
Thank you for staying with us.
Kind Regards
Ian Donnachie, general manager Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Used this hotel as our base for two wonderful visits to the athletics at Hampden Park. We took a taxi to Motherwell station and the train to Glasgow city centre and then the shuttle bus to Hampden Park. All transport links ran smoothly. All staff in the hotel were very helpful and attentive. Room was clean and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was excellent. Easy access to the motorway. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us and we are pleased that the friendliness of the staff and their attentiveness helped make your visit to the commonwealth games even more enjoyable
Kind Regards
Ian Donnachie, General manager Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

If we’d paid the standard room rate we would probably have been happy with the Alona, which has pleasantly furnished rooms and a reasonable restaurant and bar. It’s a fairly standard modern hotel (none of it is exquisite or beautiful!) set in the attractive Strathclyde Country Park. It’s just a pity that the owners had trebled the rates during the Commonwealth Games (not that they were alone in this!) which made this the most expensive three nights we’ve spent anywhere in the world! To add insult to injury, a wedding on the Saturday night kept us awake until about 1am. There was no warning of this, or any apology for the noise – not good enough Alona.

Room Tip: If there's likely to be an event on, choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_n_R_Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Alona Hotel. I am pleased that you found the rooms and the Hotel to be comfortable despite the increased price due to the exceptional demand during the Commonwealth games. I do regret the noise disturbance caused by the wedding even though we try very hard to minimise the effect.
Thank you for staying with us.
Kind Regards
Ian Donnachie, general manager, Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We visited on Sunday, hoping for afternoon tea or something like that. It was my mother's fourth day out of the house this year, so it was disappointing that we could not be accommodated in any way, as we had 2 well behaved clean dogs with us.

We could have been served outdoors in the pouring rain, which wasn't very inviting.

Given its location in Strathclyde Park, you might expect that it would be possible for canines to be permitted into the bar. There must be lots of people who go there to walk and would like a refreshment afterwards.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tabith t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Visitor
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Alona Hotel. We only have a policy of not allowing dogs into an area where their is food being served in doors. Unfortunately as the lounge area, the restaurant area and the kitchen are all open plan and merge one into the other, we have taken the decision to not allow dog access to these areas. However should a guest wish to stay overnight with their dog in the bedroom then they would be more than welcome. Guests who have the need of dogs for guidance are of course permitted to the restaurant.

Yours sincerely
Ian Donnachie, General manager, Alona hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire,England
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our second time at the restaurant, I think it needs a name of it's own and would get near 100% on reviews as the quality of the food is superb and so unexpected at such a location. The restaurant has improved service since our last visit, still fresh and natural but more efficient and the pricing is good, nice sitting area for snacks or pre or post dinner - well done team I don't give out 5 stars very often but this hit all the right spots for me, perhaps some real ales if only bottled they do make them in Scotland you know!

Room Tip: I only used the restaurant I think the public car park causes the irritations so try to get the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your very kind review. The chef and his team work hard and deserve the praise that you refer to in your review. We are often thanked for the food we serve and it is good for the team of chefs to here your remarks.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again
Kind Regards
Ian Donnachie, General Manager Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
830 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
635 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alona Hotel

Property: The Alona Hotel
Address: Strathclyde Country Park Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3WB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Family Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Alona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alona Hotel Motherwell
The Alona Hotel Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing