We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have stayed longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burray Village
Certificate of Excellence
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Should have stayed longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Stayed at the Sands Hotel run by Mr. & Mrs Gunn during the first week of June.
Very attentive service we were made very welcome. We were upgraded to a suite which was very comfortable with an amazingly large bathroom. Large shower and a large bath tub. We ate in the Hotel restaurant and enjoyed the food, plenty of it and very tasty. Will definately be back and have been reccommending it to our friends.

Room Tip: Sea view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pubrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    38
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
74
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Thank you John and Evelyn for having us recently. We had a lovely time in at The Sands Hotel, Orkney. Your hotel is immaculate, your rooms are spacious and had all the comforts we needed for our short break. The meals are really tasty with a huge selection. Keep up the good work. We hope you have a busy Season.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmelClive39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

Saw the sign on the roadside - don't be put off by impression from the road. Front of hotel is lovely, the rooms are beautifully furnished and spotless. Rooms have lovely views onto Scapa Flow. Food was beautiful - freshly prepared and the sirloin is to die for as are the desserts. Staff could not have been friendlier. Would certainly return here and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robboloveslola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven:Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

I regularly travel to the Orkney Islands on business. And since Flybe have trebled the price of the flight from Glasgow to Kirkwall( more expensive than a flight to Boston!) it now requires a lengthy drive and an overnight stay.

I have now had the dubious pleasure of staying in most of the higher profile Kirkwall and Stromness hotels and have to say they are generally overpriced and distinctly mediocre.

However, the Sands Hotel is an absolute GEM and is only five minutes from St Margarets Hope( the arrival point of the shorter and cheaper ferry crossing to Orkney.)

The building had originally been a fish store and has been lovingly converted some years ago into what an Island Hotel should be. Family owned:family run and extremely welcoming.

The rooms are modern and expensively furnished, with flat screen tvs and hospitality trays. The en-suite is large enough and the showers effective.

There is a public bar where many of the local fishermen congregate together with a lounge bar and a small restaurant. Try the locally dived Scallops and Blackpudding with pesto. Fantastic.

And after a couple in the bar you can walk out onto the pier and marvel at Scapa Flow and the hundred years of history below the surface.

The next morning and a thirty minute drive takes you up past the little Italian Chapel; over the Churchill Barriers and onwards to Kirkwall or beyond.

I just loved this little island hotel. I am sure you will too.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

We didn't stay here (stayed at the fab Creel Restaurant and Rooms) but came here for dinner one night when the creel was closed.

The service was perfectly good and deserved of the 10% standard tip BUT the food was bland at best and greasy at worst. The choice of starters was 90% deep fried (cheese, prawns, chicken fritter types) and the roast beef main was a dark grey, with an odd jelly like gravy,...very strange. My steak was appropriately cooked to order but un-seasoned rendering it, also, rather flavourless.

Small redemption in the puddings - 2 single scoops of hard-to-get-wrong Orkney honeycomb ice cream were pallet boosters after their depressing predecessors.

Not one to drive out of your way for.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeyRoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

We are a family of 5 with three primary age children. We often find it hard to get reasonably priced accomodation for the whole family and many hotels will not let us share a room.

We were amazed and delighted by the accomodation at the Sands hotel. We booked a family suite which was vast. It had a sitting area with large family sized sofa and chairs, a dining area, a small separate kitchen (fully equipped). Upstairs in the loftspace were 2 bedrooms, one double and one twin. They were happy to put in another bed into the twin. The rooms were quite small but as there was lots of sitting space downstairs you didn't need much. All the furnishings were new and up to date and very clean, as was the bathroom. The suite had a contemporary feel and there were 3 TV/DVD players in the various rooms. Every window had stunning views out to sea.

All this cost little more per night than the cost of 2 rooms at the premier inn on the motorway up (2 rooms because they don't let a family of 5 sleep in one room).

The children found plenty they liked on the menu and so did we and we liked the relaxed feel in the dining room. They were happy to give us a jug of fresh milk to put in our fridge for morning tea and coffee - it is the little touches like this which make the difference for a family!

All in all a lovely small hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happygolucky026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

We arrived on Orkney with no room for Saturday night and tourist info told us this was the only double room available on the whole mainland! Fortunately it was a lovely room with sea views and we had a fine evening meal there and walk along the rocky beach. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigPietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burray Village
9.9 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
18.2 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
19.3 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
9.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Property: Sands Hotel
Address: Sands Motel Pier Road, Burray Village KW17 2SS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Burray > Burray Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burray Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Burray Village
Sands Hotel Orkney Islands/Burray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing