We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”
Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burray Village
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

First time to Orkney so no idea what to expect. The GPS was having trouble locating the Sands Hotel. i don't know why as it's the only thing in the village! my first thout on sighting the hotel was, "oh, this is not good" but how wrong I was! A warm welcome and efficient check-in saw us quickly to our room. What a wonderful room. We had booked the family room as we are a couple travelling with our 9 year old and on this trip, with my cousin from Edinburgh. A sitting room and dining table, a large bathrom, kitchen and upstairs are two bedrooms. It was spotlessly clean and had a welcoming feeling. Enough space for all of us although we were out sightseeing a fair bit. The sofa was large and comfortable and proved a bonus later on as my son, who was sharing a room with my cousin, had to retreat to the sofa to sleep as he couldn't take the snoring!
All the staff were friendly and attentive - it was nice to get to chat to the "locals". We enjoyed our breakfasts - they were hearty and freshly cooked. We also had a meal one night which was enjoyable and saved us from driving.
Burray is not a "town" and there is only a small convenience store a short walk away (that I saw anyway), so it is kind of remote but, hey, you are on Orkney! Kirkwall is a larger town with retail shops and restaurants and is maybe a 20 minute drive away and if you need more hustle and bustle, stay there. Driving is not a problem for us and we were perfectly happy at the Sands Hotel. If we are lucky enough to return to Orkney one day, the Sands will be where we choose to stay!!
.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8pairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    43
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
84
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at the Sands Hotel for a week in September and wished we could have stayed longer - it was so comfortable. Mr & Mrs Gunn were ideal hosts and the room was extremely comfortable with efficient heating - when needed! The views across the bay were fascinating particularly the activity of the boats in the harbour. Both the breakfasts & evening meals were delicious and plentiful. We were glad we chose this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Stayed at the Sands Hotel run by Mr. & Mrs Gunn during the first week of June.
Very attentive service we were made very welcome. We were upgraded to a suite which was very comfortable with an amazingly large bathroom. Large shower and a large bath tub. We ate in the Hotel restaurant and enjoyed the food, plenty of it and very tasty. Will definately be back and have been reccommending it to our friends.

Room Tip: Sea view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pubrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Thank you John and Evelyn for having us recently. We had a lovely time in at The Sands Hotel, Orkney. Your hotel is immaculate, your rooms are spacious and had all the comforts we needed for our short break. The meals are really tasty with a huge selection. Keep up the good work. We hope you have a busy Season.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmelClive39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Saw the sign on the roadside - don't be put off by impression from the road. Front of hotel is lovely, the rooms are beautifully furnished and spotless. Rooms have lovely views onto Scapa Flow. Food was beautiful - freshly prepared and the sirloin is to die for as are the desserts. Staff could not have been friendlier. Would certainly return here and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robboloveslola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven:Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I regularly travel to the Orkney Islands on business. And since Flybe have trebled the price of the flight from Glasgow to Kirkwall( more expensive than a flight to Boston!) it now requires a lengthy drive and an overnight stay.

I have now had the dubious pleasure of staying in most of the higher profile Kirkwall and Stromness hotels and have to say they are generally overpriced and distinctly mediocre.

However, the Sands Hotel is an absolute GEM and is only five minutes from St Margarets Hope( the arrival point of the shorter and cheaper ferry crossing to Orkney.)

The building had originally been a fish store and has been lovingly converted some years ago into what an Island Hotel should be. Family owned:family run and extremely welcoming.

The rooms are modern and expensively furnished, with flat screen tvs and hospitality trays. The en-suite is large enough and the showers effective.

There is a public bar where many of the local fishermen congregate together with a lounge bar and a small restaurant. Try the locally dived Scallops and Blackpudding with pesto. Fantastic.

And after a couple in the bar you can walk out onto the pier and marvel at Scapa Flow and the hundred years of history below the surface.

The next morning and a thirty minute drive takes you up past the little Italian Chapel; over the Churchill Barriers and onwards to Kirkwall or beyond.

I just loved this little island hotel. I am sure you will too.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We didn't stay here (stayed at the fab Creel Restaurant and Rooms) but came here for dinner one night when the creel was closed.

The service was perfectly good and deserved of the 10% standard tip BUT the food was bland at best and greasy at worst. The choice of starters was 90% deep fried (cheese, prawns, chicken fritter types) and the roast beef main was a dark grey, with an odd jelly like gravy,...very strange. My steak was appropriately cooked to order but un-seasoned rendering it, also, rather flavourless.

Small redemption in the puddings - 2 single scoops of hard-to-get-wrong Orkney honeycomb ice cream were pallet boosters after their depressing predecessors.

Not one to drive out of your way for.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeyRoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burray Village
9.9 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
351 reviews
18.2 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
304 reviews
19.3 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
117 reviews
15.9 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
189 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Property: Sands Hotel
Address: Sands Motel Pier Road, Burray Village KW17 2SS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Burray > Burray Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burray Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Burray Village
Sands Hotel Orkney Islands/Burray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing