We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”
Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burray Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2008

Lovely place. Lovely food. Lovely people.

So much better than I expected!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moody79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2007

A great hotel. Orkney is pricey but I moved here after a 2 nights at a horrible
hotel.

food is good with local fresh seafood. Lobster can be ordered with 24 hours
notice.

Water view.

I would definately go back

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank mightymousemighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

We stayed at the Sands Hotel for three nights as part of a tour of the Highlands and Islands.

Although this hotel has a rating of four stars in the 'Small Hotel' classification, I'm not sure how it managed to get it. Three stars would be more realistic.

The hotel was comfortable, and recently renovated, but the walls are thin (we could hear the sound of the TV in the next room, and footsteps from the room above), the rooms small and the quality of food was good rather than great. The curtains were also made of fairly thin fabric which let through the light a little too much (especially as it never really gets dark on Orkney this time of year)

On the plus side, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the prices for food and accomodation were completely reasonable.

We wouldn't stay at the Sands Hotel again - not because of anything particularly wrong, but because there is so much better choice out there.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

I was really looking forward to visiting the sands hotel and I was VERY dissappointed. We arrived at the hotel and the owner seemed pleasant at that point (if only we had realised then how rude she was!) We were shown to our hotel room - the hotel room was basic and very modern, I was very pleased and was quite confident this as going to be a fantastic place to stay! The food in the restaurant was lovely and the staff in the restaurant were very nice. I left my hotel room one morning, I went down the stairs and the owner stared at me I was unsure why and to be honest very intimidated! i left the hotel for a day out and returned at around 5:00pm I decided I would like to eat at the hotels restaurant, The owner was behind the bar and I went up and asked to reserve a table. She then started to be very rude and accused me of "flushing toilets for most of the night and jumping up and down all night" I was horrified why would I want to flush toilets all night and jump up and down, she also accused me of making other noises! ALL OF THE ACCUSATIONS WERE INSULTING AND UNTRUE! I would not recomend this hotel to anyone only go there if you want to be insulted!

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Jack133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2006

We stayed in two rooms at the top of the hotel. One room had 2 beds and the other had three. They are not inter-connecting but they share the stair and feel quite separate. We liked this. The rooms were well decorated, had hospitality trays, a kettle, hairdyer and were very clean. Nice bathroom and the rooms overlooked the pier and you could lie in bed at night and hear the water wash up against the pier. Very soothing. It was very quiet and relaxing.

We ate in the hotel on 3 nights and liked the food and felt that the service was good without being over the top.

We would definitely choose to stay there if we were in Orkney again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Rosa, California
317
Reviewed 27 June 2004

We arrived in Orkney on the car ferry to St. Margaret's Hope, and the Sands Motel is just a few minutes from there. As it was pouring rain, we were happily surprised to enter this recently renovated building and find a modern reception area, a charming and comfortable room with a view to the water, and an attractive restaurant that was still open for dinner. Breakfast the next morning was served in a plant-filled solarium. The whole operation was first-class and a good base for exploring the eastern half of the Orkney Mainland.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dominiquecarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burray Village
9.9 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
379 reviews
18.2 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
328 reviews
16.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
385 reviews
9.9 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
132 reviews
19.3 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Address: Sands Motel Pier Road, Burray Village KW17 2SS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Burray > Burray Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burray Village
Price Range: £79 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Burray Village
Sands Hotel Orkney Islands/Burray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing