We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”
Review of Beneth'ill Cafe

Beneth'ill Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Hoy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcoming cafe, open from 10am to 6pm daily. We also serve evening meals from 6.30Pm till 9pm Tuesday to Sunday. Only 5 minutes walk from the Moaness ferry terminal.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Visited this lovely cafe after a walk to the Old Man of Hoy. Shame we couldn't spend more time there, as it was great - good location, very friendly staff and nice selection of food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    24
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to stop at”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I drove around Hoy on a rainy, windy day. We found this cafe not far from the Dwarfie Stane. He ordered the lunch special, I got a hot cocoa with marshmallows and whipped cream and a sandwich. The lunch was a nice home style meat and vegetable dish. The cocoa came in a fancy glass with lots of cream on top. The sandwich was simply white bread, meat and shredded cheese with no sides. We had a nice lunch and a break from the rain.

There weren't many people around, just another couple in before us. She had thought there wouldn't be many people about because of the weather so she was glad we came. There were toilets available too complete with a terry cloth towel to dry your hands. The views from the cafe are scenic, it's nearby to one of the ferries. A nice place to stop in the north part of Hoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A surprise find!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have passed this place many times but only ate there this summer - twice! The welcome is warm and sincere, the service is friendly and knowledgeable with excellent and accurate local advice for free (!!) - and the food is terrific. I had one of the best salads ever (was there anything not in it?) with quiche one day and mince and tatties that met the 'as good as my mother would have made' criteria on another. Loved it - recommend it - and I will be back!
This place is a MUST if you are in Hoy during the day and I have feeling that they could do excellent evening business if they were to open then too ......... especially on a Friday evening with the late ferry to and from Stromness.
NOTE that there are two entries for the same restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanerfyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good to find this great cafe at the end of a walk”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Really nice to end as walk out to the Old Man and back through the glen with a visit to this little gem of a cafe.

Our group just had tea, coffee and cake. Good, friendly service, very nice cake and scones, and good value too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must visit on any trip to Hoy.”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Myself and 2 of my friends dropped into this cafe on a visit to Hoy. The owners are a lovely family with a great story of living the dream on Hoy. Breakfast was delicious at a great price. I will definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky_Moore9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beneth'ill Cafe also viewed

 
Birsay, Orkney Islands
South Ronaldsay, Orkney Islands
 

Been to Beneth'ill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing