We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food average service excellent location.”
Review of Stromabank Hotel

Stromabank Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stromabank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hoy B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food average service excellent location.”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The food was okay the sticky toffee pud was great unfortunately all a bit over priced and the service wasn't particularly friendly. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GillyGillyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Duffus
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, visiting friends on Hoy, so didn't have the chance to dine in the hotel in the evening. However, the breakfast was terrific with a view to match, the room was comfortable, and there is a nice bar. We'd definitely choose to come here again, if only to sample the reputedly excellent evening fare.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palodegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

An absolute gem. Hoy is so remote so to find such a well-run, friendly hotel is a rarity. A real B & B feel combined with the faciliteis of a hotel and a great menu slection for dinner and breakfast. Try the tattie scones!! Superb views across the landscape from the conservatory dining room and if you get a first floor room you get a skylight to gaze at the stars at night from your bed (if it isn't too cloudy). The proprietors were also friendly and helpful. Thoroughly recommend staying hear to anyone visiting the Orkney Islands and Hoy.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brodgar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2010

a warm welcome from the proprietors after a day's cycling. Rural location with excellent views. Excellent meal in the dining conservatory. Good value. Friendly atmosphere in the bar.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I have stayed at the Stromabank Hotel on a number of occasions while in Hoy, Orkney. Though small, it is comfortable and well-managed with thoughtful and friendly service. Situated at the southern end of the island of Hoy it is easy to reach by car from the ferry terminal and there is adequate parking. Convenient for the "White Hill of Hamars" Nature Reserve. From the hotel the visitor can reach most of the attractions likely to tempt anyone seeking to visit the island though the famous sea-stack "The Old Man of Hoy" will require some walking from the nearest car-park at Rackwick.

A holiday in Hoy will probably best suit those seeking quiet, fresh air and relaxation and the Stromabank Hotel is the best place on the island to enjoy it from. There is a number of pleasant walks within easy reach.

Early booking is advisable for those contemplating a visit during the high summer.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldManinHoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stromabank, Owner at Stromabank Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2010
Thank you, for taking the time to write a review for us. I really appreciate it. Hope you had a pleasant journey home and will come back to Hoy again sometime.
Kind regards
Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We had 2 excellent meals here. The food is really good. Nice cosy surroundings overlooking the islands..........................brillant!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakesmumPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We spent only two nights at the Stromabank hotel, very early in the season, but we were warmly welcomed and looked after extremely well. The en suite double bedroom was clean, warm and comfortable. A generous breakfast was served in an airy, large conservatory with panoramic views that took in both adjacent islands and the Scottish mainland.
Our hostess, Maureen, was happy to prepare a light packed lunch and a thermos of coffee for us to take away during the day. At dinner, my wife enjoyed a steak of local beef, cooked just right, while I tucked into a delicious stew made with the local Dark Island beer. The menu provided a choice of items, including catering for vegetarians.
The bar was well stocked, and mine host, Tam, was very friendly and helpful with local information.
Stepping outside the hotel was like walking into a bird sanctuary, with hundreds of greylag geese in the fields opposite, skylarks singing, peewits tumbling, curlews calling and oyster catchers making their usual din.
We were sorry that our stay was so short and look forward to visiting Hoy again and enjoying another sojourn at the Stromabank.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BanchoryProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoy
18.3 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
306 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
352 reviews
10.7 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
219 reviews
15.5 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
223 reviews
12.4 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stromabank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stromabank Hotel

Property: Stromabank Hotel
Address: Longhope | South Walls, KW16 3PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Hoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hoy
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel with fantastic views over the Pentland Firth. This island has many great walks, and is enjoyed by all. We have facilities for disabled and elderly. We use local produce as much as possible in our menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stromabank Hotel Hoy, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing