We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel on a small island”
Review of Stromabank Hotel

Stromabank Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stromabank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hoy B&B and Inns
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel on a small island”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

i stayed here with my husband, on a return trip back home after 20 years Maureen and tam and family were so freindly. our room was beautifully decorated and the en-suite was wonderful. The food was brillant,(stornoway black pudding a must), local produce was used and maureens orkney fudge cheesecake was to die for!! The views from the dining room were amazing, along with the sunshine we had, it took your breath away. To end each day it was a pleasure to sit in front of an open fire and enjoy a tipple from the well stocked bar. will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose_weston40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with friends this Easter and can highly recommend it to anyone that happens to find themselves in this part if the world!

Our rooms were a good size and well kitted out. The bar stocks a range of local beers, which was great for us!

However, the best feature by far was the view from the dining room, which looked over the islands and out to the sea. From here you get a real impression of how quickly the weather can change, bright sunshine one minute, blizzard the next!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I've stayed at Stromabank twice now and always had a great time.

I arrived the first time a total stranger but was greeted like the proverbial country cousin. Although travelling alone that trip I was shown to a spacious twin room. It was nicely decorated. Facilities like tea/coffee/tv/storage etc all beautifully presented. The ensuite was large by hotel standards and also looked new. The bed was comfortable, bedding clean and a good nights sleep was had.

One thing new visitors might not realise about Hoy is that if you miss the museum cafe, and it isn't Thursday, you ain't gonna find a takeaway any time soon so plan to eat in! I did and have no complaints. Recommendations? Leave room for the Sticky Toffee Pudding.

Breakfast in the panoramic conservatory can be anything from healthy to a proper cooked breakfast and again was very good.

This time round I took Mam with me. Again we were greeted warmly and coincidentally had the same room as I'd had last time. Although the room looked just as I remembered it, it still looked brand spanking new and nipping clean, including the ensuite.

We enjoyed a delicious evening meal especially the Sticky Toffee Pudding!

The night was topped off later by a chat with the regulars whilst enjoying a small beverage at the bar.

As on my previous trip, a good nights sleep was followed by good cooked breakfast.

If you do the tourist thing on Hoy and you're asked where you're staying just note the response you get when you say Stromabank. Lots of oohs and aahs and umms. Either the whole island has been coerced into subliminal marketing or the Stromabank is the place locals like to go and you can't get a better recomendation than that.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orphir, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Went to this hotel for a meal while on a visit to Longhope with our family.
Meal was OK. Owner firstly complained we were early for our booking, 20 Minutes at most, nobody else in restaurant anyway, but said had booking before us that had not turned up still that he had to deal with first. Did not show us to our table, had to ask where it was and did not give us any menus. My husband went to bar for drinks and in this time the owner decided that the other booking was not coming and gave us menus and hovered over us with the waitress until we ordered as he said he had a lot of bookings and was going to be busy later, made us feel very uncomfortable having to rush and pick our meals. We were there for a family outing and not interested in his bookings, which when we left at 8.15pm about 8 people had arrived for meals.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GWF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I have stayed at Stromabank and always eat here when visiting relatives on Hoy - Tam and Maureen are always warm and welcoming and the food delicious - well and thoughtfully prepared and presented! It is always a comfort to know that superb small hotels like this still exist and I would recommend a stay at Stromabank to everyone - it will perk up the dullest soul and the views will inspire you!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The food was okay the sticky toffee pud was great unfortunately all a bit over priced and the service wasn't particularly friendly. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GillyGillyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duffus
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, visiting friends on Hoy, so didn't have the chance to dine in the hotel in the evening. However, the breakfast was terrific with a view to match, the room was comfortable, and there is a nice bar. We'd definitely choose to come here again, if only to sample the reputedly excellent evening fare.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palodegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoy
15.9 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
358 reviews
10.7 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
168 reviews
15.5 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
164 reviews
9.0 mi away
Orkneylodge
Orkneylodge
#3 of 7 in Orphir
176 reviews
10.3 mi away
Westrow Lodge B & B
Westrow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Orphir
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stromabank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stromabank Hotel

Property: Stromabank Hotel
Address: Longhope | South Walls, KW16 3PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Hoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hoy
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel with fantastic views over the Pentland Firth. This island has many great walks, and is enjoyed by all. We have facilities for disabled and elderly. We use local produce as much as possible in our menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stromabank Hotel Hoy, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing