We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hospitality”
Review of Stromabank Hotel

Stromabank Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stromabank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hoy B&B and Inns
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome hospitality”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

So glad we chose to stay here for our two nights on Hoy. Tam and Maureen are the perfect hosts.

Maureen's cooking is worth the stay alone! Portions are generous. Breakfast certainly sets you up for the day. Dinner was equally good (I agree with another reviewer about the chips).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
18
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stromabank Hotel is an absolute gem that I couldn't recommend highly enough. Although it looks a little grim from the outside (the building used to be the local school) it is extremely comfortable inside. Our room was simply furnished, but had everything we needed and was oh, so comfortable...we really appreciated the screens on the windows, which, despite the very early Orkney summer mornings a lot of places "forget".
Maureen and Tam are super hosts, and couldn't have been more helpful in so many ways. I agree with others that nothing was too much trouble. Maureen's cooking is excellent, and I wish I'd been there long enough to try the whole menu. Locals choose to eat here - what further recommendation do you need! Tam is a genial host and the bar is well stocked and welcoming.
Thanks for a great stay, Maureen and Tam.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue_8459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We visited for a meal when staying on Hoy and have stayed at the Stromabank on previous occasions and have never been disappointed. Maureen and Tam are such wonderful welcoming hosts and nothing is too much trouble. If only all hotels were like this and all owners so accommodating! The food is wonderful. Local produce cooked to perfection by Maureen. The views are stunning - right across the Firth to Pentland Skerries and the Scottish mainland and around to South Ronaldsay and Flotta.
The Stromabank is a really lovely place for a relaxing leisurely holiday and Hoy is a fabulous island with so much to enjoy. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shearwater58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel is also a local bar and this helped make our 2 day stay even better. As mentioned previously, Maureen is a great cook and all the food we had was excellent. If you are having the cooked breakfast, I would recommend that you don't fill up on cereal etc unless you have a really big appetite. The breakfast was quite a feast and all excellent quality. As to the dining room, what a view!!! With the sunshine you couldn't ask for better. Tam, helps out behind the bar and we enjoyed chatting to him and some of the locals after dinner and even better the drinks are not an extortionate price. Our bedroom was bright and cheerful and very comfortable with a nice bathroom with everything you could need. It was a very welcoming place to stay and I cannot praise Tam and Maureen enough - wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaffyDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Stromabank is a very good location to explore Hoy. Quiet and ideally situated to enjoy a relaxing vacation on the island. Maureen cooks for her guests with the attention which makes Scottish hospitality so unique.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela196942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Ate here twice during a short stay on Hoy in Orkney. The views - even on a wild summer evening were to die for - but Maureen's cooking was even more mouth-wateringly wonderful! The mackerel pâté, the mushrooms, the fish, the scampi, the steaks - all super-delicious!! And the chips were the best in the land!! Good to be in Orkney and enjoying the best things in life......
NOTE - I did not stay - just enjoyed great food. I did not even TRY to sleep!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

i stayed here with my husband, on a return trip back home after 20 years Maureen and tam and family were so freindly. our room was beautifully decorated and the en-suite was wonderful. The food was brillant,(stornoway black pudding a must), local produce was used and maureens orkney fudge cheesecake was to die for!! The views from the dining room were amazing, along with the sunshine we had, it took your breath away. To end each day it was a pleasure to sit in front of an open fire and enjoy a tipple from the well stocked bar. will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose_weston40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoy
15.9 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
18.3 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
19.5 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
12.6 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
13.1 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stromabank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stromabank Hotel

Property: Stromabank Hotel
Address: Longhope | South Walls, KW16 3PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Hoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hoy
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel with fantastic views over the Pentland Firth. This island has many great walks, and is enjoyed by all. We have facilities for disabled and elderly. We use local produce as much as possible in our menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stromabank Hotel Hoy, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing