We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hotel with a personal welcome”
Review of Stromabank Hotel

Stromabank Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stromabank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hoy B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“a hotel with a personal welcome”
Reviewed 22 July 2010

a warm welcome from the proprietors after a day's cycling. Rural location with excellent views. Excellent meal in the dining conservatory. Good value. Friendly atmosphere in the bar.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I have stayed at the Stromabank Hotel on a number of occasions while in Hoy, Orkney. Though small, it is comfortable and well-managed with thoughtful and friendly service. Situated at the southern end of the island of Hoy it is easy to reach by car from the ferry terminal and there is adequate parking. Convenient for the "White Hill of Hamars" Nature Reserve. From the hotel the visitor can reach most of the attractions likely to tempt anyone seeking to visit the island though the famous sea-stack "The Old Man of Hoy" will require some walking from the nearest car-park at Rackwick.

A holiday in Hoy will probably best suit those seeking quiet, fresh air and relaxation and the Stromabank Hotel is the best place on the island to enjoy it from. There is a number of pleasant walks within easy reach.

Early booking is advisable for those contemplating a visit during the high summer.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldManinHoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stromabank, Owner at Stromabank Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2010
Thank you, for taking the time to write a review for us. I really appreciate it. Hope you had a pleasant journey home and will come back to Hoy again sometime.
Kind regards
Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We had 2 excellent meals here. The food is really good. Nice cosy surroundings overlooking the islands..........................brillant!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakesmumPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We spent only two nights at the Stromabank hotel, very early in the season, but we were warmly welcomed and looked after extremely well. The en suite double bedroom was clean, warm and comfortable. A generous breakfast was served in an airy, large conservatory with panoramic views that took in both adjacent islands and the Scottish mainland.
Our hostess, Maureen, was happy to prepare a light packed lunch and a thermos of coffee for us to take away during the day. At dinner, my wife enjoyed a steak of local beef, cooked just right, while I tucked into a delicious stew made with the local Dark Island beer. The menu provided a choice of items, including catering for vegetarians.
The bar was well stocked, and mine host, Tam, was very friendly and helpful with local information.
Stepping outside the hotel was like walking into a bird sanctuary, with hundreds of greylag geese in the fields opposite, skylarks singing, peewits tumbling, curlews calling and oyster catchers making their usual din.
We were sorry that our stay was so short and look forward to visiting Hoy again and enjoying another sojourn at the Stromabank.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BanchoryProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2007

The Stromabank is a lovely, friendly, relaxing small hotel run by the owners Tam and Maureen. It has 4 en-suite bedrooms (2 doubles and 2 twins), a bar, games room and restaurant. Our room was a reasonable size, easily fitting in the z-bed that Maureen provided for our son.

The bar was well stocked and very reasonably priced considering the remote island location. Tam & Maureen, the locals and the other residents were very friendly. Our son made friends with Tam & Maureen's son who was a similar age, so we were able to have a drink whilst they were playing!

The dining room is a big conservatory with fantastic views in each direction over the sea to Orkney mainland and the scottish mainland. Maureen's home cooked food was delicious, and I can definately recommend the chicken breast stuffed with smoked Orkney cheese, wrapped in parma ham. She provides a very hearty breakfast and is quite flexible regarding what time it is served.

All in all, we were very happy with the Stromabank and we will definately be returning.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet_in_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2006

A highlight of our two week trip to Scotland was our three day "sidetrip" to the Orkney Islands. Peaceful, slow-paced and friendly, we fell in love with the people and sights. Lonely Planet travel guide was accurate and detailed. After a pleasant British Airways flight from Glasgow, we used local buses, taxis and ferries to get around. Our Kirkwall bus driver, Peter, chatted as we took the 8A bus to Skara Brae prehistoric village and Skaill House country mansion, allowing two hours to sightsee before returning us to Kirkwall. Highland Park distillary tour was well done and interesting. Within easy walking distance of the distillary and downtown Kirkwall was the Royal Oak Guest House (B&B) with a delightful owner Liz Bruce attentive to travel needs. You could spend all your time in Kirkwall, seeing the cathedral and talking with the friendly Scots, but don't miss going to Hoy Island. Although it would have been most convenient to have a car, there are taxis available. Underappreciated by the Scottish Tour Board, the Stromabank Hotel (B&B)received only 3 stars. We thought better, starting with the husband and wife owners who made us feel like family. The Orkney Ferry ticket operator called ahead and we were met at the Longhope dock for the short ride to the hotel. Peacefully situated in the country with a magnificent ocean view toward Scotland and Scapa Flow, we had excellent meals, a comfortable room and, most of all, the warm hospitality of the owners. In the evening, the pub area filled with guests and neighbors coming by for a pint of the local stout. Nearby walks to the shoreline and along the roads kept us longer than planned, but with fond memories. We had much more to see on the Orkney Islands, but going for even a brief stay should be on your next itinerary to Scotland.

Helpful?
3 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2006

Very nice meal, cooked to order, using local produce as much as possible. I had a smoked haddock and leek pie, other half had chicken stuffed with local smoked cheese, wrapped in ham. Both delicious - I had a lot of really nice haddock. Vegetables properly cooked. Puddings all local - icecream, Orkney fudge cheesecake etc. Nothing very fancy but nicely cooked, tasty and excellent value. Puts many places on the mainland (Orkney and Scotland!) to shame.
Judging from the quality of the meal, it would be a good place to stay too.

Helpful?
3 Thank Tammienorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoy
15.9 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
358 reviews
10.7 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
168 reviews
15.5 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
164 reviews
9.0 mi away
Orkneylodge
Orkneylodge
#3 of 7 in Orphir
176 reviews
10.3 mi away
Westrow Lodge B & B
Westrow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Orphir
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stromabank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stromabank Hotel

Property: Stromabank Hotel
Address: Longhope | South Walls, KW16 3PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Hoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hoy
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel with fantastic views over the Pentland Firth. This island has many great walks, and is enjoyed by all. We have facilities for disabled and elderly. We use local produce as much as possible in our menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stromabank Hotel Hoy, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing