We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless accommodation”
Review of Ashleigh B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dounby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashleigh B & B
Ranked #1 of 2 Dounby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Friendly informative hosts, perfect peaceful accommodation, centrally situated for many of Orkney's sites. Good eating places nearby.
Accidentally left a pocket camera and our host drove 5 miles to catch us up and return to us.
Would rate as first class and would certainly revisit.

Room Tip: I think all would be good.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Ashleigh B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for nine nights at the beginning of June and what a wonderful choice we made. The house is modern, warm and welcoming, with everything you could wish for. Our room was spacious with plenty of storage space as was the en suite with a large shower cabinet and drawers for toiletries. The towels were changed very frequently, as was the bed linen. Our window looked out over the garden and fields with horses and cattle in them, a very peaceful view. Audrey was very helpful with planning our itinerary and let us store our bicycles in the garage, also when we were soaking wet after a walk she dried our clothes on the line and in a warm cupboard, very much appreciated. The breakfast was delicious with an excellent choice of both cold and hot food, the smoked haddock with poached egg was especially good, there was freshly cooked cakes as well as local biscuits and jams. There was an easy walk on a grass path to the local Hotel which served excellent food. We found everyone was very friendly and helpful which made our holiday even more enjoyable. We have no hesitation in recommending staying at Ashleigh B & B and hope to return for another lovely holiday.

Room Tip: all rooms appear to be equally good.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently stayed two nights at this B and B whilst touring the Orkney islands and wished we could have stayed longer. Its in a beautiful peacefull setting overlooking Harray loch, close to the main archeological sites on Orkney. Audrey our host was welcoming, a fount of knowledge, in fact the perfect host. The room very comfortable with a fantastic view, and an excellent breakfast. Local produce which is often a rareity. This is one of the best B and B's we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilynstanley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This guesthouse is located just off the A986 near Dounby in a rural setting. From that point of view it’s very peaceful and there are options for evening meals at the Smithfield Hotel (The Plout Kirn restaurant) in Dounby or The Merikster Hotel nearby. Both eating places are only a few minutes drive away however it’s possible to walk to The Merkister in about 20 minutes via a grass footpath alongside fields (wear boots if it has been raining). We preferred the Merkister from the point of view that we could share a bottle of wine and enjoy the walk before and after eating. The A986 is a fairly straight and fast section of road around here and we weren’t keen on walking along the road itself (there is no footpath).

The logistics sorted, what about the guesthouse? If you have a short attention span - it’s superb.

Everything was booked online direct with the owners and was straight forward. The Ashleigh doesn’t have card processing facilities so payment is by cheque or cash on departure. We had a double for two nights B&B for £148.

The house is a modern build with plenty of onsite parking. We were met on arrival by Audrey who quickly arranged for assistance with our luggage as our room was upstairs - #4. Having shown us the room Audrey invited us down to the guests lounge for coffee and biscuits (a fine cafetiere and some shortbread) and left us to relax. The lounge, just through from the breakfast room, is spacious, beautifully furnished, has a large screen television with DVDs and panoramic windows overlooking the countryside. I hardly wanted to move and had a second cup of coffee!

Our bedroom was very spacious, again like the remainder of the house, had very good quality contemporary furnishings and loads of storage space in the double wardrobe, chest of drawers and bedside cabinets. The lounge seat was comfortable and there was a further chair with a small worktop to sit at. Tea and coffee facilities are provided and the wall mounted flat screen television had multiple channels. The kingsized bed had a memory foam mattress which I found very comfortable however my wife took a bit of time to adjust to the concept. Although we have slept in these before, sometimes uncomfortably, for me this mattress just seemed to provide the correct level of support. Bliss.

The view from the room was to the front across fields and open countryside.

The ensuite was also a spacious room with a shower but no bath. There would possibly be space for the latter however more surprising was that a larger shower cabinet had not been installed as it could have easily been accommodated. The shower had good water pressure and did the job anyway. There is storage in a basket style cabinet for toiletries and plenty of fresh quality towels available.

Breakfast was pre-selected the evening before and the good sized room downstairs allowed for separate tables for guest groups although we found during our stay conversation flowed easily between them. There was plenty of choice to satisfy most requirements and I found that the smoked haddock I had on one morning was particularly delicious.

After being out and about during the day we were able to leave damp jackets and boots in a warm cupboard under the stairway which was ideal for drying them off - that’s when we had got caught in a shower occasionally!

Overall we’d have no hesitation in recommending a stay at Ashleigh and hopefully will get back ourselves on a future visit to Orkney.

Room Tip: Room 4 was upstairs with views to the countryside
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed for one night (wish it had been more) and have to say it's the best B&B I've stayed in. The quality of the house and bedrooms and attention to detail is just first class. Breakfast was outstanding, and all for a very reasonable price that is about half of what the hotels charge, and set in the most wonderful setting, and so quiet and peaceful being in the country with just nature at its best on your doorstep. Why would you want to stay anywhere else ? I will definitely be returning here on my next trip. Thanks to Audrey for such a wee gem - I'll be back !

Room Tip: Had a single room that would put many doubles in a 'regular' hotel to shame. Shower was very...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

As a family of six we had a fantastic weekend here with the outstanding hospitality and immaculate accommodation provided by Calvin and Audrey. Service could not have been more accommodating and welcoming. We would highly recommend this B&B.

The Johnston Family

Room Tip: All rooms are of excellent quality so it wouldn't matter which you choose.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Wow. I've travelled a lot in more decades than I care to say. But this is just about at the very top of all the places I have ever stayed in. As I said to Audrey quite early on during my recent 6 day visit, this B & B has been designed by people who have stayed away themselves. A wonderful room. And that breakfast!

The only problem is that it is a 740 mile drive for me to get there. But I certainly hope to again. And soon if all goes to plan.

Thank you both for providing such a superbly comfortable and welcoming place for me to stay on mainland Orkney.

Bryan

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dounby
0.5 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
91 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
131 reviews
7.1 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
214 reviews
6.5 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh B & B

Address: Orkney,KW17 2JA, Dounby KW17 2JA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Dounby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dounby
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star luxury accommodation in new house, centrally located in rural area. 4 bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities. Ideal for fishing, bird watching and walking. Sun lounge with panoramic views over Harray Loch and Hoy Hills. WiFi internet access available throughout. Large private car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashleigh B & B Orkney Islands/Dounby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing