We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect pet-friendly place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Double bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Dounby, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wards4201...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect pet-friendly place to stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Orkney is an incredible place to visit, full of sites of historical interest, beautiful beaches and an abundance of wildlife and this is the ideal place to stay and see it. Being pet-friendly doesn't mean slumming it. Kringla 2 is a modern apartment, immaculate and clean and has absolutely everything you could possibly need for a totally relaxed holiday. We've been to loads of holiday homes in the past and this is the first time we didn't need to wash any cutlery, cups etc before use.
We were made to feel very welcome by Kay and given great advice regarding visiting the various sites. Also, the breakfast bulletins she sent to us each morning were very helpful. (They give you useful information about what is happening on that particular day, ie, tide times, free guided tours etc.)
Kringla 2 is perfectly situated in Dounby, for going to the post office, Co-op, petrol station, excellent butchers and a wonderful jewellers, and Dounby itself is ideally placed for driving off to the numerous locations such as Maes Howe, the Ring of Brodgar or the Brough of Birsay to name a few. Plus we didn't need to leave the village to see short-eared owls, as we went most nights to watch one hunting just by the school.
What a fabulous place to visit. Still so much more to see. We will definitely be back. Kringla 2 comes highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Wow! Thank you so much for the fabulous review. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thank you for the great review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CapnDarcy
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pet friendly apartment”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I booked all three apartments for a family trip to Orkney. No. 2 is available for visitors with pets. The apartment is well fitted with all that is needed for a self-catering holiday. it is tastefully decorated with modern fittings in the kitchen and bathroom. Shops and a pub are close by. The central location is ideal for all tourist attractions and Kay is very friendly and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt-alli...
FIFE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the best self catering in orkney”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in August 2016

apartment is so good that we will be using it twice a year for as long as we are able , 15 minutes from the ferry , 15 minutes from Kirkwall for shopping , minutes from the lochs that surround it for my fishing , pub and the co-op on the doorstep .
wee bit worried about giving a nice review as I don`t want someone sneaking in and booking my weeks before me .
if you book you won`t be disappointed , much like Orkney as a whole .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Wow, thank you for the great review! We look forward to welcoming you back later this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing