We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Burbagebirders on Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smithfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smithfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dounby
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Burbagebirders on Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

i have just returned from from a birding tour of the Orkneys with 10 members. After checking out many hotels on the island I settled for the Smithfield at Dounby.It was one of the best small hotels I have stayed in, The hospitality,rooms and food were superb and for our needs as birdwatchers the location is excellent with all the reserves close by.
If you have any groups your organisers need have no worries booking this hotel.
Thanks for a great time Ken Reeves and Burbagebirders .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burbagebirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    27
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, Surrey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel to be nearer the early ferry from Stromness. Our room was comfortable and clean but very noisy from the music and patrons in the bar below. This didn't stop until 1am and we had to be up early. Ate in the dining room in the evening which had a good choice on the menu.The cooked breakfast next morning however was cold.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed two nights at this small family run hotel. Very friendly, helpful owners and staff,nothing was too much trouble. Lovely comfortable bedroom,very clean and attractively decorated. Ate both nights in the hotel restaurant, great food, well presented and generous portions. Breakfast was excellent. Location was ideal for travelling to all parts of the island. Altogether a lovely experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Just returned from four night break at The Smithfield Hotel, we were very comfortable in a cosy well fitted out room and large ensuite bathroom with walk in shower.
Location was ideal for travelling to all parts of the island, Skara Brae, Churchill Barrier and Kirkwall and St Magnus cathedral we dined in the hotel each evening and were spoiled for choice. I loved the Korla Beef dish so had it twice. other favourite was Crab Thermidor.
family run with very pleasant friendly waiting staff. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comack33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

I was sorely disappointed when our guide stopped here for our lunch because I was hoping to have Sunday dinner in much nicer premises. The place must be well-loved by the locals who seemed to be numerous that day. Having said that, I am not sure how many places you can go for a bite to eat around there. The little veranda we sat in had awkward tables and no views but the main drag and the Co-op. The menu is totally uninspiring and with prices well above average. I did not really find anything to my taste but eventually went for a crab sandwich, which was very good and fresh. Hence the third star of my score. Probably I underestimate this establishment and I do it a disservice yet I would not be able to recommend this place. Better a packed lunch and a scenic bench somewhere in the Neolithic heartland.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FranBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I have stayed at the Smithfield Hotel twice this year for five days each visit. If you are a trout fisherman like me then this hotel's location could not be better situated in amongst Orkneys finest wild trout lochs. The friendly hospitality could not be bettered either, the owners are very keen and knowledgable about the local trout fishing, the owner was even gracious enough to take the time to advise me on the best flies to use. Unbelievably taking the time to bring his vast array of fly boxes from his home and selecting the flies that we're currently catching fish. Orkney hospitality just does not get any better!
Good clean and comfortable rooms great cooked breakfast to kick start the day and high quality restaurant food in the evening. The present owners (Orcadians) have only recently taken over this hotel and are continually striving to upgrade and improve where resources allow. The thing that certainly impressed me was the use of local indigenous staff with many being young students, so this establishment has the right ethos for the future of Orkney and it's hospitality industry. Training the younger generation to understand the importance of hospitality as a real industry and career future should be applauded.
Well I will be back and if there are any other trout fishermen and women out there looking for a great place to stay give this one all the help and encouragement you can. They will cook your catch or even freeze it for your journey home and just across the road the Dounby butchers will provide you with wonderfully local meat to take home as well on your day of departure!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

It was hard to find a room during the Orkney Music Festival, so we took pot luck, and got the last of the 6 rooms.
The reception was friendly and the room was clean and functional,.
Not only that. but the hotel supplies free wifi.
We took dinner in the restaurant, and it was really most excellent.
The location is central on the main island, and all major towns/attractions are within 30 - 40 minute drive.

All in all, good value for money a 35 pounds per person per night, including breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dounby
11.3 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
11.4 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
11.6 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
7.7 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
19.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Hotel

Property: Smithfield Hotel
Address: Dounby, Dounby KW17 2HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Dounby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dounby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Smithfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Hotel Orkney Islands/Dounby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing