We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smithfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smithfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dounby
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at the Smithfield Hotel in Orkney for 3 nights and had an excellent stay at the hotel. No complaints the entire visit, staff were very welcoming and helpful. Rooms were very good, no problems apart from the mattress being slightly too hard but that's just a personal preference. Was concerned about noise coming from the public bar but we never heard a peep at night! Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice, as was the restaurant adjoining the hotel. We would definitely stay here again if we were to visit Orkney again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    27
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Renfrew
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed in the Smithfield between 7/7 and 10/7/13. Absolutely no complaints. We were on a bed a breakfast tariff and the breakfasts were absolutely amazing. The rooms were spotless and cleaned daily, the staff were more than polite and the location was perfect. We will be back. We lived above the restuarant and bar and never heard a thing all night.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

i have just returned from from a birding tour of the Orkneys with 10 members. After checking out many hotels on the island I settled for the Smithfield at Dounby.It was one of the best small hotels I have stayed in, The hospitality,rooms and food were superb and for our needs as birdwatchers the location is excellent with all the reserves close by.
If you have any groups your organisers need have no worries booking this hotel.
Thanks for a great time Ken Reeves and Burbagebirders .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burbagebirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, Surrey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel to be nearer the early ferry from Stromness. Our room was comfortable and clean but very noisy from the music and patrons in the bar below. This didn't stop until 1am and we had to be up early. Ate in the dining room in the evening which had a good choice on the menu.The cooked breakfast next morning however was cold.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed two nights at this small family run hotel. Very friendly, helpful owners and staff,nothing was too much trouble. Lovely comfortable bedroom,very clean and attractively decorated. Ate both nights in the hotel restaurant, great food, well presented and generous portions. Breakfast was excellent. Location was ideal for travelling to all parts of the island. Altogether a lovely experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Just returned from four night break at The Smithfield Hotel, we were very comfortable in a cosy well fitted out room and large ensuite bathroom with walk in shower.
Location was ideal for travelling to all parts of the island, Skara Brae, Churchill Barrier and Kirkwall and St Magnus cathedral we dined in the hotel each evening and were spoiled for choice. I loved the Korla Beef dish so had it twice. other favourite was Crab Thermidor.
family run with very pleasant friendly waiting staff. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comack33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
175 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

I was sorely disappointed when our guide stopped here for our lunch because I was hoping to have Sunday dinner in much nicer premises. The place must be well-loved by the locals who seemed to be numerous that day. Having said that, I am not sure how many places you can go for a bite to eat around there. The little veranda we sat in had awkward tables and no views but the main drag and the Co-op. The menu is totally uninspiring and with prices well above average. I did not really find anything to my taste but eventually went for a crab sandwich, which was very good and fresh. Hence the third star of my score. Probably I underestimate this establishment and I do it a disservice yet I would not be able to recommend this place. Better a packed lunch and a scenic bench somewhere in the Neolithic heartland.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FranBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dounby
11.3 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
11.6 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
19.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
7.7 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
11.4 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Hotel

Property: Smithfield Hotel
Address: Dounby, Dounby KW17 2HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Dounby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dounby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Smithfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Hotel Orkney Islands/Dounby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing