We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with potential”
Review of Smithfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smithfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dounby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights and there are some good and bad points. The decor is dated. I had to keep reminding the staff to replenish the toilet paper, shower gel etc. I could have got some from the co op opposite. Guests are expected to complete a card the night before stating their breakfast options. Despite this we and the other guests had a long wait to be served. On a positive note, the breakfasts were good, the owner was friendly and helpful as were the staff when reminded of requirements

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank stonewomanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Came here for dinner when staying in Deerness. The food was of a good quality and very fresh. The scallops were a highlight as was the Orkney fudge cheesecake, which can be a bit of a stodgefest, but in this case was light and delicious. Would definitely return as there were many things on the menu which we fancy trying.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieB2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

our room was somewhat dated and really too small for the two of us and all our luggage. Very easy to find at the crossroads in Dounby. small co-op store across street good for beer and shacks. I am not a breakfast person so did not partake of full breakfast but the potatoes and toast are good. service I would rate way higher--nothing was too much of a bother. even took phone messages for us so we didn't have to use our US phone!

Room Tip: the stairs are winding and narrow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wordnerd71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at the Smithfield Hotel in Orkney for 3 nights and had an excellent stay at the hotel. No complaints the entire visit, staff were very welcoming and helpful. Rooms were very good, no problems apart from the mattress being slightly too hard but that's just a personal preference. Was concerned about noise coming from the public bar but we never heard a peep at night! Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice, as was the restaurant adjoining the hotel. We would definitely stay here again if we were to visit Orkney again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed in the Smithfield between 7/7 and 10/7/13. Absolutely no complaints. We were on a bed a breakfast tariff and the breakfasts were absolutely amazing. The rooms were spotless and cleaned daily, the staff were more than polite and the location was perfect. We will be back. We lived above the restuarant and bar and never heard a thing all night.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

i have just returned from from a birding tour of the Orkneys with 10 members. After checking out many hotels on the island I settled for the Smithfield at Dounby.It was one of the best small hotels I have stayed in, The hospitality,rooms and food were superb and for our needs as birdwatchers the location is excellent with all the reserves close by.
If you have any groups your organisers need have no worries booking this hotel.
Thanks for a great time Ken Reeves and Burbagebirders .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burbagebirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel to be nearer the early ferry from Stromness. Our room was comfortable and clean but very noisy from the music and patrons in the bar below. This didn't stop until 1am and we had to be up early. Ate in the dining room in the evening which had a good choice on the menu.The cooked breakfast next morning however was cold.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dounby
0.0 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
382 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Hotel

Address: Dounby, Dounby KW17 2HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Dounby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dounby
Price Range: £101 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Smithfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Hotel Orkney Islands/Dounby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing