We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the Orkney's”
Review of Smithfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smithfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dounby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great location - we rented a car, and were never more than a half hour from everything on the island. It's located outside of Kirkwall, so there's minimal to do if you're on foot, but we managed to see pretty much everything during our two-day stay on the island. The room was comfortable, the bed was a bit soft, which, for my bad back was not necessarily a good thing, but I survived. The breakfast was really good, and the service was excellent. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lissannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is the perfect location for seeing the majority of historical sites on Orkney. The hotel is situated on the corner of an intersection that works from any approach. We arrived very early (9AM from an early flight from Shetland) and asked if we could eat breakfast and leave luggage. Both were easily agreed to by the owner. The male waiter for breakfast was a personable young man who I believe also took our luggage to our room when our room was ready. The breakfast both days was good. The room was quiet and had everything we needed - which is just a good place to plug in our electronics and a bathroom. The wifi situation is still being worked out as the hotel is an older cement structure. However, they have a lovely sitting room which does have a good signal. I would definitely recommend this place to those traveling for the historical sites!

Room Tip: I believe they have two styles of rooms - one with a private bath (which we had) and those with a sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank drsped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is friendly and comfortable and the breakfasts are an absolute feast. The rooms smell a little of damp but that is probably an occupational hazard in an old, stone-built building on a rain-swept Island in the far north. You could not find a better spot for exploring the wonderful neolithic sites of Orkney

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Went for evening meal with my family, I would highly recommend this place 10000% very loving staff we had a waitress her hair was tied back in a bun ( with a pen in it ) very handy if you ask me, she was so helpful my husband asked her what 'tusk' was and she explained it so well and it was funny too she was great she sold it well. Food was also very good more than good it was fantastic we did write a comment card but unfortunately my son spilt his juice on it and was unable to read it so took it home with me my family and I will be back :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank sincork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel serves meals for non-residents in both the restaurant and the bar.

They have two menus (Restaurant and Bar) - however you can choose from either wherever you sit.

Both the quality of the food and the service were very good indeed.

A nice range of Fresh Local Fish Available

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albia-Newton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Disappointed with hotel. Great location for seeing sites of Western Orkney Mainland, but hotel itself was muddly and staff seemed to struggle with service. Waited ages for evening meal on a Sunday, weren't told there was a lounge so spent evenings in bedroom. Meal sizes were vast as was the menu, but not of good quality! Room was fine and what I would have expected from a three star, although I have stayed in more comfortable rooms in B&Bs. Incorrect information on arrival meant we couldn't log on to Wifi for nearly 24 hours so wish we had brought more guidebooks. Also, annoying that had to decide on what we wanted for breakfast the evening before!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We selected this hotel for our weekend stay on the Orkney Mainland as it was close to most of the attractions we wanted to visit. It was a perfect selection. On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to our room.

The room was a good size and had a double bed and a single bed. There was also a small desk and a wardrobe and a TV. The bathroom was fairly small with a toilet, washbasin and a shower cubicle.

The room and bathroom were both clean, and the beds were also clean and comfortable. There was a free wifi connection which was useful for connecting my tablet to pick up my emails and to catch up with the news.

We had a nice dinner in the hotel restaurant. The meat we had could perhaps have been a little bit more tender, but all the dishes were well presented and tasted good. Breakfast was included in the rate and we were well looked after.

The only negative issue was that our room was directly above the bar, and as it was Saturday night it was quite noisy. But thankfully the noise subsided quite early and by the time we actually went to bed there was little to disturb our rest.

All in all a very pleasant stay and definitely a hotel I would recommend for someone on a short trip to the Orkney Mainland to visit attractions such as Skara Brae, Meas Howe, Ring of Broadgar and the Standing Stones at Stennes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEagleGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dounby
0 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
218 reviews
0 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
190 reviews
0 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Hotel

Address: Dounby, Dounby KW17 2HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Dounby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dounby
Price Range: £102 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smithfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Hotel Orkney Islands/Dounby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing