We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
AquitaineHirondelle
Dorset, United Kingdom
Excellent food
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jul 2021
We ate here twice whilst renting a cottage a couple of miles away.
Good friendly service.
The food was excellent, fine ingredients treated with respect and skill, scallops huge and delicious, tender fillet steaks, crab cocktail with delicate, not bottled, sauce ... wish I’d had room for dessert!
May not have the views of the place down the road but has better food and wine! Well done the Smithfield and thank you!
Date of stay: July 2021
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Contact accommodation for availability.
34.3 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
14.6 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
King room in chalet
Contact accommodation for availability.
9.5 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
29.9 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.8 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
2.7 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
34.1 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.3 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.9 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dounby
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
80
54
15
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
80
54
15
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skara brae neolithic sites comfortable rooms great place to stay absolutely first class coeliac orkney ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2021

We were staying here for a couple of nights and had a really good meal. The scallops were superb, as good as we had in Shetland a few years ago. The restaurant is very popular for good reason and the staff are very attentive and efficient.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2021 via mobile

Food was absolutely first class here when I visited with my family. Extremely helpful and attentive staff, clean restaurant, fantastic lunch menu and very reasonably priced. We ordered a variety of food - burgers, fish and chips (fish was huge!), fish tacos (which I had and were delicious!), savoury scones and sweet french toast. All dishes received 10/10 reviews from family members.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank loujsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 June 2021

First class meal during a visit north.
We got an apology from the waiting staff as there was a short wait for the stuffed chicken breasts to be cooked, but worth that wait!!
food served really well and for those who like a sweet then hard to fault the sticky toffee pudding with lashings of sauce (and cream)

Room tip: not sure as only went for a meal
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Service
Thank 14janey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2019

Stayed here for a business trip to Orkney. Been a while since I last stayed here. A few changes, including an all day cafe, which is excellent. A pity the lounge bar has been replaced with a too large restaurant,leaving a public bar complete with pool table,darts boards and large TV. Noisy when the locals are in !!
The accommodation is fine for an Inn and good value when compared with Kirkwall.
Food is generally good, especially seafood. I did have one very disappointing main course of pork.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2019 via mobile

Walked the St. Magnus Way and needed two nights in the same place so chose Dounby to visit Orkney Brewery and Scara Brae (both within walking distance from the Smithfield - if you like walking). The hotel is nice and the people are very helpful. The bar has good beer and cider and the restaurant is very stylish - we vere surprised to find this in a village, but visited it and got very good food. For non-walkers the local taxi can bring you to and collect you from the sights. Local arts and crafts in the shops in Dounby.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews