We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
John W
Leadhills, United Kingdom

Lovely!!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 May 2023via mobile
Lovely hotel. Great food and friendly helpful staff.
Comfortable rooms and great, really tasty, locally sourced, food in the restaurant.
Good choice for all tastes and good vegetarian options are available. Booking for restaurant is advisable, but not alway necessary.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Contact accommodation for availability.
34.3 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
14.6 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
King room in chalet
Contact accommodation for availability.
9.5 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
29.9 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.8 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
2.7 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
34.1 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.3 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.9 miles from Smithfield Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dounby
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
80
54
15
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
80
54
15
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skara brae neolithic sites comfortable rooms great place to stay absolutely first class coeliac orkney ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2023

Whilst holidaying we have been to the restaurant twice (with a third time booked). They have an amazing menu and most of the dishes are gluten free or with a gluten free option; including the desert menu. This is great as a coeliac. The food is delicious. Service is great and the venue itself is lovely. Yvonne waited on us for the first two evenings. She gave us a warm welcome both times, was super helpful and friendly.
Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kirstincullum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2022

Stayed here for a few nights in a great location for the main neolithic sites and walks around the cliffs etc as well as Brochs and viking settlements. The hotel is ideally situated no great distance from Kirkwall or Stromness. Rooms were well furnished and staff were cheery and helpful. Food in the restaurant is excellent and while there were some issues for them in opening the bar due to lack of staff (not unusual in these "pandemic" times) as residents we could always get what we wanted to drink. Good variety of large cooked breakfasts on offer

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank keentrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2022

This is a reasonably-priced hotel in rural W Orkney. It is clean, there is parking available and the wi-fi works. Although there is nowhere else to eat within walking distance, it has a restaurant which is quite reasonable. The hotel is not staffed overnight. I had a slight problem in that I had booked an early breakfast to enable me to catch the Rousay ferry but someone's alarm didn't go off meaning they turmed up half an hour late so I had to rush. Otherwise no complaints.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank francish2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2022

Went here for a funeral 'tea'.
Would've been a nice touch for someone to greet the mourners instead of letting us all troop around the building, trying to get in - one door locked, another told by staff was the 'wrong' door, finally allowed in via the bar.
The food itself was fine, although plain and nothing fancy - but the soup was fantastic!
Little things to consider; this was a meeting after a funeral, the tables would've been better grouped together so that family could talk to each other.
A bottle or jug of water on the tables would have been welcome.
The crockery etc looked like they had been set by my toddler grandson - no real professionalism involved, plates all over the place!
Staff were pleasant and polite, as always; just the thought behind the booking needs addressing.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Service
Thank B7186JYlopsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2022 via mobile

In the current climate where every restaurant and business and hotel is short staffed and service patchy, the Smithfield Hotel manages to provide absolutely first class service. I cannot praise them highly enough!
Our stay was just lovely. Dounby is a lovely wee village about half way between Stromness and Kirkwall and is perfectly placed to visit everywhere on Orkney.
The hotel is fabulous. The rooms are well appointed and accessories provided are very high quality.
The breakfast is hearty and cooked beautifully to order. We didn't have lunch but dinner in the restaurant was fantastic. Really, really wonderful. We were so impressed, particularly when we could see that, like everywhere else, staffing is an issue.
That brings me to the staff. Without exception, they were amazing. Warm, friendly, welcoming and for the young people working there, a great positive attitude. All the staff made our stay there enjoyable.
I genuinely would highly recommend the Smithfield and I'd absolutely book again on my next visit to Orkney.
Well done Smithfield!!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank fionascot_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews