We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent ,comfortable and ideal base for touring...”
other travellers have booked this property
Kringla apartments, quality self catering holiday accommodation in Orkney.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kringla apartments, quality self catering holiday accommodation in Orkney.
Sunbathing Modern kitchen with all home comforts
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Kringla apartments, quality self catering holiday accommodation in Orkney.
Sunbathing
Modern kitchen with all home comforts
Comfortable dining and relaxing area
Beautiful double bedroom with memory foam mattress for your ultimate comfort.
Twin room with memory foam mattresses.
Shower room
Tammie Norrie or puffin showing off his very smart coat!
A frequent occurence in Orkney is the Northern Lights or Aurora Borealis
Springtime at Kringla
Sunrise and Sunsets are magnificent
Yes this is an Orkney beach!
Sea angling, bird watching or just enjoying the scenery?
Frosty morning on Boardhouse Loch
Beautiful walks, you never know what you will see round the next corner.
Kringla apartments sign
Surrounding countryside.
Crossroads in Dounby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dounby, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
David H
Keith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent ,comfortable and ideal base for touring island”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Had a really good break in No1 Kringla and everything we wanted and needed was there.Good shops locally and the daily bulletins were helpful. We had snow on the Monday which was unexpected but over our 5 days we really did have every kind of Scottish weather. Really had a great time and on our return would definitely book Kringla again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulinem1...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kringla 3, Fabulous Accomodation, Location, Comfort & Amenities,”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

From the initial booking, to leaving, Kay made our stay at Kringla 3 welcoming and so comfortable. Bright airy large rooms with views to Hoy in the distance this apartment has everything you could need inside from appliances & well stocked kitchen necessities and in the village a few minutes walk away, shops, post office, pub, craft shops....and more. Ideally situated for exploring Orkneys main attractions. No expense has been spared for comfort and providing everything needed for self catering. I have visited Orkney many times & wont be staying anywhere else. 5* all round.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapnDarcy
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great apartment”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The apartment is bright and airy. Kay is very welcoming and helpful as well as a fount of local knowledge The apartments at Kringla are great for small parties or, if you need larger accommodation, as I did for a large family visit, all three are ideal as it gives everyone their own space. Centrally located in the quiet village of Dounby, the apartments are a great base for visiting many of the tourist sites on the island.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Kringla is a very comfortable place to stay-everything we needed and more was provided. It is positioned well for visiting archaeological sites in Orkney. Kay gave us a warm welcome-thank you Kay.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay. We try to provide everything that a guest would require for a warm comfortable stay at Kringla. We hope you return to see us soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielJMa...
Kintore, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great accommodation, great location”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in Kringla apartment C in the first week of July as a family of four - children aged 5 and 7. This was our first trip to Orkney and we found Dounby to be an excellent central location on the island. The Kringla apartment was overall really excellent, well equipped and comfortable and we felt very well looked after across our stay. Plenty of on-site parking too. Overall, highly recommended location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Black out blinds
Liked least: Lack of DVD player
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Thank you for the great review! We hope to welcome you back very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenaw...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well-run apartment in an excellent situation for exploring the Orkneys.”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The apartment was comfortable, well appointed, and tastefully furnished. It was very handy to have the local amenities in the village of Dounby: Co-op, restaurant and petrol station. Dounby is well situated for exploring the main island and we were able to bike to both Scara Brae and Maes Howe. The islands themselves are very beautiful, especially the wild-flower meadows in the summer. There are also plenty of activities on offer and many interesting cultural sights. The guided tours at Maes Howe and the Tomb of the Eagles were particularly good. I would recommend Kringla as a well run self-catering apartment in an excellent situation for discovering the Orkneys.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
I am very pleased that you found Kringla met all your expectations and that it was so convenient for you. It is nice and central for visiting the sites of the West Mainland by bicycle.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment”
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a fantastic find this was! Kay was extremely welcoming and helpful and the welcome basket of goodies was perfect. Good central location as we were birdwatching and also visiting the archeological sites. Very comfortable and cosy, especially the day it rained. Extremely well equipped and spotlessly clean. Hope to visit again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
It was a pleasure to welcome you to Kringla. I look forward to your return visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing