We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
34
17
2
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
17
2
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm welcome kippers peaceful location main island lovely room first floor breakfast room books flapjack orkney conservatory hostess lounge loch
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Our tour operator made the reservation with the old owner (James), so the new one (Simon) did not know that we will arrive from the ferry from Shetland close to Midnight. So the welcome was a little bid odd. The Breakfast is good, but you can feel the lack of experience (one day the spoons were missing, the other the glasses etc.) nothing of great importance, but a clear sign that there is room for improvement. The same is valid for the big garden. Excellent basics but overgrown and bad maintained. Very quite place, remote and away from every attraction. No WiFi in our room. We did not test the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreas2523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

As you will see from the other reviews this is not a hotel for people used to staying in Holidays Inns. The bathrooms are not ensuite, some of the decor is homely rather than Boutique. But the overall atmosphere is warm and charming and the service is bright, friendly and efficient. The food is not Michelin but it is natural and well-cooked. I didn't go to Orkney to experience London or New York style hotels, and Woodwick House fits in perfectly with the slightly wild and historical feel of the Orkney Islands themselves.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Although Woodwick is under new management, it still feels like visiting old friends. James has left after 13 years and now Simon and Tamsin have taken over and they are doing an excellent job. The food continues to be very good and an excellent value. Some updating would improve the house. Our room was very large and spacious but would be that much better with some furniture upgrades (or even rearrangement). When we arrived, the 2 chairs in the room were lined up against a wall. We moved one to be able to sit near the windows and enjoy the views and the other near a small table to use a laptop (having wifi is a nice addition to the house).

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaynesvilleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

we arrived at woodwick late on a sunday night where we had pre-arranged a late meal even though it was 9.30 by the time we arrived. We relaxed in one of the lounges with a drink and then were shown to the dining room to eat. Dinner was good, not exceptional, but very tasty, good ingredients and ample portions - nice enough we chose to eat there on our last night too.
The room was large airy and clean, the onsuite was equal to this, being as big as many a hotel room we have stayed in itself! Decor was fine, but don't think this is going to be a boutique hotel, it has a quiet charm of its own if a little in need of a little TLC.
We were lucky enough to have great views of the garden and also the drive, not that we spent a lot of time in the room with the busy itinery we had for exploring Orkney! A walk down to the end of the garden to view the water was well worth it, a romantic spot with not a soul bar us (and the cat who had accompanied us) as far as the eye could see.
Breakfast was good, a choice of cerals or porridge, lovely organic wholemeal toast (extra requested every morning solely as we were being greedy as adequate was supplied!) then a choice of options for cooked breakfast, much walking was needed to make space for lunch...Staff were polite and helpful but not intrusive at all times.

In summary I travel a lot mainly in 5* accomodation with work and whilst this hotel does not match in facilites (but equally not competing in terms of price either), it is quiet, charming and relaxed. I would not only recommend it to friends, I would come back again myself if we are in Orkney again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Woodwick House may not offer cutting-edge decor but this is a wonderful place to stay. The big house has a fantastic setting within one of the very few wooded areas on the island. The semi-wild gardens are great for a stroll and there is a small river that tumbles down to a secluded beach with views out to a small island. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, although not all have en-suite facilities. There are 2 sitting rooms with comfy sofas and masses of books. There is also a music room with a baby grand piano. The dining room opens out to a wisteria-filled conservatory. The food in the evenings is very good, with the menu changing daily (all locally-sourced organic). James and his staff (including Thorfinn the cat!) provide a very friendly service. Woodwick House is a very relaxing place to stay and is highly recomended if you are visiting the Orkney Islands. It is located about 20 minutes drive from Stromness or Kirkwall and is easily accessible by car. We really felt 'at home' during our recent stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panjabigastronome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews