We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hideaway”
Review of Woodwick House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Evie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodwick House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Evie
Reviewed 20 May 2011

You'll be assured of a warm welcome from Roger and Jill - nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts are huge! The grounds are a riot of bluebells complete with waterfall leading down to the sea. Don't expect modernity - that's part of this hotel's charm.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianboru01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2011

Don't do what we did, which was believe their website. The place was tired and dirty and lacked any sense of customer service. Such a shame as the location is amazing and the house could be a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelleramk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazelwood-House, Owner at Woodwick House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

This was a very unfortunate incident for which we would like to apologise. We had problems with the Woodwick sign and there was only a temporary one at that time while it was being mended.
Somehow with the most recent change in managers there was no record of the booking.
Woodwick has been undergoing some considerable redecorating, which must have been underway at this point and would explain the untidiness of the hall. The very hard winter has made the driveway hazardous, however we are endeavouring to rectify this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We had booked two nights in April. Woodwick House confirmed the booking by e mail. We arrived early evening. The signpost mentioned in the confirmation was non existent and so it took us along time to find the house. On arriving at Woodwick House it was like the Marie Celeste. We rang the bell and no one answered. I went into the house to the reception area, rang that bell and still no one answered. The reception area was untidy and dirty. I went out to the car and telephoned Woodwick House to try and find someone that could show us to our room. When the phone was answered I was told very abruptly that they had no record of my booking and the hotel was closed. Phone cut off before I could say anything else. So we started to look for some accommodation and eventually found a bed and breakfast in Stromness after many phonecalls. The outside of the house was scruffy and very tired. Luckily we were in a four wheel drive as the pot holes in the drive would have damaged a smaller car. In all I think we had a lucky escape. On looking back at the reviews for this hotel I see this has happened before.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank druidhglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazelwood-House, Owner at Woodwick House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

Woodwick has been undergoing some considerable redecoration by Roger and Gill, however this would not have been completed at this point. Customer care and cleanliness is a high priority and so it is very unfortunate that this was found lacking as Roger and Gill do their utmost to welcome and take care of their guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Our tour operator made the reservation with the old owner (James), so the new one (Simon) did not know that we will arrive from the ferry from Shetland close to Midnight. So the welcome was a little bid odd. The Breakfast is good, but you can feel the lack of experience (one day the spoons were missing, the other the glasses etc.) nothing of great importance, but a clear sign that there is room for improvement. The same is valid for the big garden. Excellent basics but overgrown and bad maintained. Very quite place, remote and away from every attraction. No WiFi in our room. We did not test the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreas2523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

As you will see from the other reviews this is not a hotel for people used to staying in Holidays Inns. The bathrooms are not ensuite, some of the decor is homely rather than Boutique. But the overall atmosphere is warm and charming and the service is bright, friendly and efficient. The food is not Michelin but it is natural and well-cooked. I didn't go to Orkney to experience London or New York style hotels, and Woodwick House fits in perfectly with the slightly wild and historical feel of the Orkney Islands themselves.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Although Woodwick is under new management, it still feels like visiting old friends. James has left after 13 years and now Simon and Tamsin have taken over and they are doing an excellent job. The food continues to be very good and an excellent value. Some updating would improve the house. Our room was very large and spacious but would be that much better with some furniture upgrades (or even rearrangement). When we arrived, the 2 chairs in the room were lined up against a wall. We moved one to be able to sit near the windows and enjoy the views and the other near a small table to use a laptop (having wifi is a nice addition to the house).

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaynesvilleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

we arrived at woodwick late on a sunday night where we had pre-arranged a late meal even though it was 9.30 by the time we arrived. We relaxed in one of the lounges with a drink and then were shown to the dining room to eat. Dinner was good, not exceptional, but very tasty, good ingredients and ample portions - nice enough we chose to eat there on our last night too.
The room was large airy and clean, the onsuite was equal to this, being as big as many a hotel room we have stayed in itself! Decor was fine, but don't think this is going to be a boutique hotel, it has a quiet charm of its own if a little in need of a little TLC.
We were lucky enough to have great views of the garden and also the drive, not that we spent a lot of time in the room with the busy itinery we had for exploring Orkney! A walk down to the end of the garden to view the water was well worth it, a romantic spot with not a soul bar us (and the cat who had accompanied us) as far as the eye could see.
Breakfast was good, a choice of cerals or porridge, lovely organic wholemeal toast (extra requested every morning solely as we were being greedy as adequate was supplied!) then a choice of options for cooked breakfast, much walking was needed to make space for lunch...Staff were polite and helpful but not intrusive at all times.

In summary I travel a lot mainly in 5* accomodation with work and whilst this hotel does not match in facilites (but equally not competing in terms of price either), it is quiet, charming and relaxed. I would not only recommend it to friends, I would come back again myself if we are in Orkney again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evie
0.0 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
97 reviews
6.2 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
217 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
382 reviews
8.7 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodwick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodwick House

Address: Woodwick House Woodwick, Evie KW17 2PQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Evie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Evie
Price Range: £34 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodwick House is a warm & welcoming historic country house overlooking the island of Gairsay, offering comfortable accommodation and home cooked food. Set in an extraordinary, peaceful location with bluebell woodland, a cascading burn & a secluded bay on this sheltered part of Orkney, within easy reach of the main historic sites, bird reserves and sandy beaches. Step into a unique and special place and make yourself at home, We love Woodwick’s energy with its sea air and the flowing water with the wind in the trees and bird song. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodwick Hotel Evie
Woodwick House Orkney Islands/Evie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing