We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
34
17
2
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
17
2
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm welcome peaceful location porridge main island first floor breakfast room books flapjack orkney conservatory hostess lounge loch
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Don't do what we did, which was believe their website. The place was tired and dirty and lacked any sense of customer service. Such a shame as the location is amazing and the house could be a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelleramk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazelwood-House, Owner at Woodwick House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

This was a very unfortunate incident for which we would like to apologise. We had problems with the Woodwick sign and there was only a temporary one at that time while it was being mended.
Somehow with the most recent change in managers there was no record of the booking.
Woodwick has been undergoing some considerable redecorating, which must have been underway at this point and would explain the untidiness of the hall. The very hard winter has made the driveway hazardous, however we are endeavouring to rectify this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We had booked two nights in April. Woodwick House confirmed the booking by e mail. We arrived early evening. The signpost mentioned in the confirmation was non existent and so it took us along time to find the house. On arriving at Woodwick House it was like the Marie Celeste. We rang the bell and no one answered. I went into the house to the reception area, rang that bell and still no one answered. The reception area was untidy and dirty. I went out to the car and telephoned Woodwick House to try and find someone that could show us to our room. When the phone was answered I was told very abruptly that they had no record of my booking and the hotel was closed. Phone cut off before I could say anything else. So we started to look for some accommodation and eventually found a bed and breakfast in Stromness after many phonecalls. The outside of the house was scruffy and very tired. Luckily we were in a four wheel drive as the pot holes in the drive would have damaged a smaller car. In all I think we had a lucky escape. On looking back at the reviews for this hotel I see this has happened before.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank druidhglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazelwood-House, Owner at Woodwick House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

Woodwick has been undergoing some considerable redecoration by Roger and Gill, however this would not have been completed at this point. Customer care and cleanliness is a high priority and so it is very unfortunate that this was found lacking as Roger and Gill do their utmost to welcome and take care of their guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Our tour operator made the reservation with the old owner (James), so the new one (Simon) did not know that we will arrive from the ferry from Shetland close to Midnight. So the welcome was a little bid odd. The Breakfast is good, but you can feel the lack of experience (one day the spoons were missing, the other the glasses etc.) nothing of great importance, but a clear sign that there is room for improvement. The same is valid for the big garden. Excellent basics but overgrown and bad maintained. Very quite place, remote and away from every attraction. No WiFi in our room. We did not test the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreas2523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

As you will see from the other reviews this is not a hotel for people used to staying in Holidays Inns. The bathrooms are not ensuite, some of the decor is homely rather than Boutique. But the overall atmosphere is warm and charming and the service is bright, friendly and efficient. The food is not Michelin but it is natural and well-cooked. I didn't go to Orkney to experience London or New York style hotels, and Woodwick House fits in perfectly with the slightly wild and historical feel of the Orkney Islands themselves.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Although Woodwick is under new management, it still feels like visiting old friends. James has left after 13 years and now Simon and Tamsin have taken over and they are doing an excellent job. The food continues to be very good and an excellent value. Some updating would improve the house. Our room was very large and spacious but would be that much better with some furniture upgrades (or even rearrangement). When we arrived, the 2 chairs in the room were lined up against a wall. We moved one to be able to sit near the windows and enjoy the views and the other near a small table to use a laptop (having wifi is a nice addition to the house).

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaynesvilleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews