We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“absolutely fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
 A decking area is accessed from the pation doors.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 A decking area is accessed from the pation doors.
The lodge provides uninterrupted views to the loch and moors. Lounge has seating for 4.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
A decking area is accessed from the pation doors.
The lodge provides uninterrupted views to the loch and moors.
Lounge has seating for 4.
A spacious lounge and bright lounge area. Games, TV, DVDs and selection of books are provided.
The kitchen is well stocked for all your needs.
Appliances include, gas hob, over and grill, microwave, washing machine and fridge/freezer.
King size bedroom with walk in wardrobe.
Master bedroom has ensuite shower facilities
A separate bathroom has a bath and over bath shower.
Twin bedroom.
BBQ and seating area.
Enjoy the BBQ area and firepit.
The loch is within walking distance and viewed from the lodge.
Winter bookings are also available
A Wildflower meadow is planted beside the lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Evie, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

robalexan...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We went for a quiet time, we certainly got that.
The cabin was excellent along with our hosts. They left us a starter pack which was great.
It was like a home from home,very comfortable with patio doors leading onto decking then to the barbecue area. A short drive to Stromness and Kirkwall. Ideally placed to get around easily.
If you book this cabin I can assure you that you will not be disappointed in any form.
I as a person do not like holidays but I must admit it was hard to leave.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thanks for your kind words Rob and we're delighted you both enjoyed your stay at our lodge. It's great to get feedback of any sort to assist us in continuing to provide the best experience that we can for our customers. Thanks again and we both hope to see you both again in the future
Marion and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twohappyp...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Trip”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Rymmon Lodge for Christmas 2015 and had the most lovely time. The quality of the accommodation was excellent and even though it was wild and windy outside the Lodge was snug and cosy. The owners could not have been more helpful and welcoming and the facilities were tremendous. We look forward to going back in the summer and enjoying the outside amenities.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the accommodation
Liked least: The wild weather but not much could be done about that.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
Thank you so much. We are pleased to know that even in Winter the lodge can be cosy. It was certainly quite stormy whilst you were here !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela M
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful welcome, comfortable stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed at Rymmon lodge for two weeks in April. The lodge is in a rural location, next to but separate from the owners house. Marion and John have worked hard to ensure this - it will feel even more separate when the landscaping matures but you are still apart anyway. Good views across the loch, particularly for sunsets and birdwatching. The lodge itself was equipped to a high standard and very comfortable. A welcome pack of essentials was provided on arrival which was really appreciated although shops aren't too far away (Dounby 20 min, Kirkwall 30 mins).
We had some changeable weather while we were there but did not get cold, it can get very cosy even though the lodge was quite roomy although I would say if you are over 6ft (my husband is 6ft 6"), you might struggle for space in the en-suite bathroom! The main bathroom is fine!
There is a space for sitting outside and a barbecue if you got the weather for it. On a sunny calm evening this would be lovely. Unfortunately we didn't quite get the opportunity!
Excellent location for the West Mainland attractions but still easy to visit everywhere else, we did plenty of exploring.
Overall we loved the place, great base to stay in and Marion and John could not have been more helpful. Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Comfy bed
Liked least: When the gas bottle would need changing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Thank you Angela and Tony for your kind words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our lodge and look forward to seeing you again if you both return to Orkney.
Marion & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shazgh
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent lodge, excellent location ”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed here with my partner and 2 children in the October break, lodge was lovely and so cosy. Had everything we needed and more, there has been great attention to detail. Welcome pack on arrival was a great start for us. Location is perfect for exploring and as it is such a quiet, peaceful location, the girls enjoyed our cycling on the roads nearby and going down to the Loch. A perfect holiday if you want to get away from the fast pace of life and be surrounded in natural beauty. The sunsets and sunrises are amazing. Below is the photos of the sunrise we wakened up to.

Date of stay: October 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Thanks Sharon...Hope to see you all back again soon

Marion & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.