We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hammersmith Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hammersmith Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Harray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a Bed & Breakfast not to be missed, in a fantastic location with easy access to all parts of the west island. The rooms are beautifully presented and very comfortable, the owners are very informative and the breakfast was outstanding. I will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
96
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

A very pleasant stay. Our hosts were welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. Their rooms clean and spacious. I would happily recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the Orkneys.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very clean and spacious ground floor room. Plentiful and great quality breakfast. Good location: central + close to Historic Scotland sites. One of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bosikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

It was comfortable, friendly, everything good quality - really a home from home - and great breakfast too with top quality food. If I return to Orkney I will definitely want to come back to Hammersmith.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Having decided on this side visit only days before, we were dubious about our accommodation. As it happened we got our room after a late cancellation and we were very pleased with the outcome. I don't recommend last minute planning however. The room was clean, spacious, airy but cosy. Our hosts were very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Elaine and Phil were excellent hosts, and the quality of the accommodation and breakfasts could not be faulted. Because the house is not in either of Mainland's two main towns, you really need a car for getting around. The location is excellent for the "pre-historic" attractions at Maeshowe, Skara Brae, and Ring of Brodnar, and only 20 minutes by car from Kirkwall or Stromness. I would happily stay at Hammersmith anytime I was in that part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Situated in 'land-locked' Harray, this B&B is first class. The hosts are friendly and welcoming, the breakfasts delicious - particularly the black pudding and the fresh eggs - and the location excellent. Not too near any major 'noise-generating settlements', yet never far from anywhere. Phil was both knowledgeable and helpful with excellent tips about accessing and visiting tourist sites. The rooms and facilities were spotless and parking ample. We even had free wifi so we could spend our evenings googling information on the Orkneyjar website, long into the night!
An extra treat were the flock of free-range hens and rooster and the adorable dog, Lottie. Phil and Lynn were charming, hospitable and generous with their time. I would recommend this B&B without hesitation and stay again when next I am in Orkney.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Renata R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harray
8.7 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.8 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
8.8 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
9.5 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
5.8 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 11 in Stromness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hammersmith Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammersmith Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hammersmith Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hammersmith Hammersmith Hammersmith, Harray KW17 2JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Harray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hammersmith Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynn and Phil welcome you to HammerSmith. We are situated in the heart of the west Mainland near to the lochs of Harray and Stenness, close to the World Heritage neolithic sites of Skara Brae, Ring of Brodgar, Standing Stones of Stenness and the Ness of Brodgar. We are on the main road from Birsay to Finstown conveniently close to both Kirkwall (12 miles) and Stromness (10 miles). With the Merkister Hotel only 2 miles and the Smithfield Arms 4 miles away you do not have to go far for a relaxing drink or a meal. Fishermen can take advantage of the hire boats available at the Merkister Hotel which is situated on the shore of Loch Harray. Phil is a registered tour guide so will be able to offer advice on the best areas to see in Orkney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hammersmith Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammersmith Bed And Breakfast Orkney Islands/Harray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing