We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
£140
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
JAD_888
Leeds, United Kingdom
Fab location, excellent food, great hotel!!
Review of Merkister Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Oct 2020via mobile
Our 3rd visit to Orkney and wouldn’t stay anywhere else on the island. Great location for seeing the many sites or Orkney and/or fishing I’d that’s your thing. Fabulous breakfasts and dinners (lots of choice and changing menu on a regular basis). Residents bar is a nice touch with well stocked bookshelves. Comfy bed too! Hotel and restaurant very well organised in these strange Covid times. Family run business and a great friendly team. A big thank you to Jackie, Lorna, John, Kenny, Amanda and Chloe ... oh and the chef 😋.

Sorry I didn’t take many pictures of the food but have included some of Orkney.
Date of stay: October 2020
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.8 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    £140
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.0 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    £160
  • Hotels.com
1.1 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
33.3 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
13.9 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
King room in chalet
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.5 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
28.8 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.2 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.0 miles from Merkister Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Harray
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
348
93
20
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
348
93
20
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch harray loch view residents lounge dining room a family run hotel crab steak seafood cullen skink lovely meal lovely view main island local produce suite orkney banks john
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2020 via mobile

We went here for a birthday dinner for my father. First time eating here and I must say we were absolutely amazed at how lovely it was. The kids meal selection was spot on. The adults meals were cooked well and good sized. I had the steak pie and white choc mousse!! Delicious.

Even through all the covid restrictions the staff were very good, friendly and went above and beyond for my fathers birthday.

We have actually chosen the Merkister for our wedding in 2022 and im delighted with my choice!!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank ScotsTraveller85K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2020

We visited the hotel restaurant during a week’s visit to the mainland. As you would expect the restaurant was for hotel residents as well as non-residents. The restaurant has a pleasant, warm and friendly atmosphere. The staff were helpful and the service was nicely paced. The food was well cooked and tasty but lacked a little in presentation. . Cost for 3 courses with wine was £30 per head. Well worth a visit.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Harrythedog_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2020

Party of three had an excellent three course lunch here - we all chose differently and there wasn’t a bad option amongst nine dishes. The menu had so much choice, with an additional and fairly extensive daily specials menu, that it was difficult to choose. Service was very attentive and friendly and a fantastic view added to the experience. The best meal I have certainly had on Orkney and one of the best I’ve had anywhere in a long time. Very much recommended!

Date of stay: September 2020
3  Thank Ritchiesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2020

We booked a table for lunch on the recommendation of friends. We were not disappointed and felt at ease due to the respectful observation of Covid19 guide lines. Our table was in front of a window with great views over the loch and close to a real fire crackling away in the hearth. The menu was extensive and I chose some hand dived scallops sauteed in garlic and parsley butter accompanied by a basket of chips and I must say they were the best scallops I've ever eaten. The meal and friendly service have determined that we will stay at the Merkister on our next trip to Orkney.

Room tip: As we did not stay I cannot recommend a particular room but I would request one facing the loch.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hungryharold
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2020

Our first time on holiday in Orkney and we chose the Merkister, couldn’t have chosen a better hotel. The food was delicious, the room spacious and comfortable and couldn’t have asked for better service. The staff were warm and friendly and couldn’t have been more helpful. Would recommend this hotel and will definitely return one day

Room tip: Suite was quiet and private
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heatherfJ8165PX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews